We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like open air museums, it's OK”

The Norwegian Museum of Cultural History
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.75*
and up
Oslo City Card
Ranked #5 of 387 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is Norway's largest and oldest folk museum. It includes an open-air collection of more than 150 houses taken from various regions of Norway, as well as an indoor museum with various exhibitions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“If you like open air museums, it's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is basically a collection of old buildings with the type of old farm implements and such that you'd expect. I was there in September, and it may be better in the summer, but I wasn't too impressed. There's not much explanation of what you're looking at, and the buildings themselves are not remarkable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,418
    771
    203
    39
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better in good weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I would suggest that you check the opening times before you visit as the inside displays closed at 3pm when I visited in October. The outside is good to see and was open until 6pm. Having said that I enjoyed the visit and thought that it was interesting and informative.

Helpful?
Thank CeeLiggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

we loved exploring here - there was even a woman baking traditional bread on a hearth in one of the cottages! the staff were lovely and the grounds are gorgeous. would be nice with little ones too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngieFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
247 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Craftsmanship for the ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a great museum to see examples of Norwegian clothing, weaving, and woodwork. This is best seen on a sunny day where you can enjoy the mock village and outer buildings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank awfountain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surrounded by history...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

we enjoyed seeing all the different types of buildings that have been brought to one site but I especially liked the Stavekirk. The guide at the church was good enough that I could picture the congregation standing listening to the pastor in the raised pulpit, all by candlelight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Norwegian Museum of Cultural History also viewed

 

Been to The Norwegian Museum of Cultural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing