We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgraceful example of something with the word "museum" in its name.”

National Museum - Museum of Contemporary Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.88*
and up
Visit Oslo Pass
Ranked #83 of 393 things to do in Oslo
Attraction details
San Francisco
Level Contributor
436 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“A disgraceful example of something with the word "museum" in its name.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

First time in my life I encountered a National Museum with no permanent collection whatsoever. A beautiful old building with wonderful marble stair cases, art deco arches, decorated ceilings have a few rooms exhibiting absolute nonsense in the name of art as "temporary exhibit". I even asked if there is any room with permanent collection that I may have missed. No, I did not miss anything. It is a beautiful sunny day in Oslo and I have wasted half hour of it. If you really want to waste some time, try to go on Sunday when it is free. You will be very upset if you have to pay anything at all for this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    23
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited here on a Sunday after reading good things in a guide book. It may be what's on display when I visited, as I believe the installations change.

As I came on a Sunday it was free entry, which helped. I would be disappointed if I had paid the 50NOK they charge. It was mostly video art and had only two or three permanent installations. Some of the video art I liked, most I was indifferent to. But this is personal to the individual.

I thought the lay out was a little confused. In my opinion it wasn't worth the entry fee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Love the clash between the art and the building.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The museum is situated in an old bank building, massive stone structure. It is a nice contrast to the art work exhibited. Not to be compared with contemporary art exhibitions elsewhere, but still very nice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BorgeOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challans, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you like contemporary art this is worth a visit.. some interesting things to see. Note this museum is free entry on sundays

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum - Museum of Contemporary Art also viewed

 

Been to National Museum - Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing