We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Piece of Italy.”
Review of Roald & Umberto

Roald & Umberto
Ranked #346 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gamle Oslo
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small Piece of Italy.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A little piece of Italy in the center of Oslo. When you enter in the restaurant you can feel a realy comfortable. The food is very good, I took some delicious appetizers and and pasta with Gorgonzola. The taste of the food is really Italian. Dino and all the people work there are really nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zid79ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    11
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of Italy”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Somebody wrote: Nice, cozy restaurant in a weird part of the city, and ...it is actually true.
This restaurant brings a touch of Italy in a place forgotten by city planners.
The resaurant is small, but the food is good and the owner incredibly nice.
He is also very interested in wine, so it is a good idea to ask for his advice.
I

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stefcicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Its wortH to spend time there”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Its very special, unusual taverna. You have every thing what you need to feel comfortable and calmy. I came there by accident but ti was wortH it, nice candela aura, Great, smiling service,italian food ,drink s and design , i felt very cosìly What was un expected, that after my Great meal i was drinking the Great glass of Wine and i start to melt when the italian songs play but it was singing By the chief of restaurant so i felt like on concert just for me. It was very nice time there. Gracje

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jowo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Italian Trattoria”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A nice cozy little place with candles made ​​from bottles of wine, vintage radios and a beautiful red motorbike. What a strange restaurant! On the walls, pictures and articles which testify the history of Amundsen and Nobile and their adventurous exploits. I ordered tagliatelle and the filet with mushrooms.. really really delicious! I came home quite satisfied because i want to go back to try the other dishes and know the pretty girls that works there :) :) I recommend it, but only if you're in love with Italy and its history, as I am!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VYGGO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“- Please call me Dino.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love the place and they got great reviews on the largest Norwegian newspapers. Please check their Facebook: " Roald & Umberto " Caffé-Taverna italiana if you don't believe me ;)
I like it most when my friends and I book several tables, enjoy different dishes for hours and sing along with the owner in a kitsch way. It's much more fun then karaoke. If you manage to have a conversation with the proud owner you will be surprised with his savoir-faire and knowledge on different subjects. A citizen of the world, he will not forget you and he will welcome you back with his big laugh and say: - Please call me Dino. :D

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frogner_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roald & Umberto also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Roald & Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing