We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, well-appointed & maintained resort hotel; superb hillside location; views; helpful staff; extensive breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soria Moria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soria Moria Hotel
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well-appointed & maintained resort hotel; superb hillside location; views; helpful staff; extensive breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful, well-appointed and well-maintained hotel over a weekend in September during a quiet period when the it had few other guests and no major social functions. This situation made for a very enjoyable visit.

The hotel has a spectacular location with beautiful views towards the city, suburbs, hills and forests. The extensive buffet breakfast till 10 a.m. included hot and cold, cooked and uncooked foods plus a variety of beverages available in the restaurant with beautiful views over forested hills and valleys.

We found hotel staff pleasant and room service prompt and responsive in attending to our requests. Theodor at reception was particularly pleasant, cooperative, congenial, knowledgeable, helpful, sociable and a credit to the hotel. In front of the lobby elevators-lifts, there was an alcove with two computers providing free Internet access for guests without their own portable computer.

On an upper floor in the annex building, we had a spacious, well-appointed room facing a broad panorama of wooded valleys and hills stretching off towards the horizon in the far distance. The room was quiet, without air conditioning, so one could hear other guests when they moved around but nothing we found particularly bothersome.

It is worthwhile to buy a one-day travel pass from the hotel reception desk. At the time of my writing this review, Frognerseteren metro station (which one can conveniently walk to from the hotel) was closed because of construction farther down the line for the Nordic World Ski Championships. To get to town, take bus 1B which leaves from a stop on the main street and to the right of the hotel entrance drive. Buses pass every 15 minutes and take about 10 minutes to Besserud metro station. Cross the street and take a train (generally every 12, 27, 42 and 57 minutes past the hour) to Majorstuen at the edge of central Oslo. From the same platform you can take any of the other trains passing through to take you the two or three stops into the central area. With frequent services and good connections, this travel takes about 35-40 minutes total — part of which passes through scenic panoramas and leafy, hillside residential areas.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
32
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Spent one night at Soria Moria and thought the hotel wasn't that bad. The location is amazing, the view from the restaurant is to die for! The rooms are ok, but as we went for breakfast in the morning our bed was made and the towels removed, even though we were checking out the same day. I thought this was quite strange as it creates double work for the housekeeping department, but also because we had no chance to take a shower.

The scenery in the winter time is even more amazing when there is snow there. The hotel also has a separate building connected with a tunnel where there are several original Theodor Kittelsen paintings, definitely worth a look if you are staying there!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is a hidden gem of Oslo. Perched amongst the woods atop Holmenkollen, the setting is stunning with views across Oslo and the bay. Close enough to the city (the metro stops half a mile away after curling up the mountain from the city centre) to enjoy the delights of Oslo yet far enough away to revel in the natural beauty of Norway, perhaps one minus point is getting from the station (Voksenkollen) to the hotel as there did not appear to be a taxi rank there. Those with heavy bags might be advised to arrange a pick up with hotel or use a cab from Oslo itself.
Though ostensibly a conference hotel, the Soria Maria manages to avoid the santised feel these sort of hotels usually suffer from. Rooms are spacious, beds soft and relaxing, there is a lounge with huge roaring fire in winter and leather chairs to sink into after a hard day exploring. Breakfast is buffet but with an excellent selection, catering to all tastes and enough to sustain one through the day.
My only minus point was the TV with the pay channels, including a number one might usually get chucked in, at almost £20 a night! Still by the time I returned each evening was usually to exhausted to worry!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

It took ages to get to the hotel - 500 NOK in a taxi from the Oslo sentral station. Recommend getting off at Skøyen instead. Still 300 NOK to there though. Would recommend avoiding taxis if possible in Oslo, they're a complete rip-off. Didn't have time to find the tram station that was supposed to be 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. Didn't see it on my way there or when leaving. Huge place, nice location with great view of Oslo from quite a distance. Rooms/furnishings are dated. Bathroom was of a nice size. TV channels available were good. Breakfast doesn't start til 7 AM, which is too late if you're not staying at the hotel/don't have a meeting at 08:30 (took me 1 1/2 hrs to get from the hotel to the office (30-40 minutes away by car), thanks to slow taxi response and train disruptions/technical difficulties).

Had dinner at the hotel since there is really no other option nearby. Opted for the three-course daily special (375 NOK). Service was good, as was the wine (71 NOK per glass). Appreciated the pitcher of water set on the table. The food itself (scampi, lamb, lemon tart) wasn't great. The scampi were tasteless, they and the salad on the plate were drowing in a very sharp sauce that didn't do much to improve the dish. The lamb looked nice, but was quite chewy - everything else on the plate was good. The lemon tart was good. The bread was excellent.

Cleaning could have been better, but was average.

Didn't have a chance to try breakfast, as I had to leave at 7 AM...

Didn't have a chance to try the pool - it's closed til October 2009.

This hotel is really only a place to stay if you're on holiday/not pressed for time/there for a conference. It is NOT necessarily worth the price per night (paid somewhere around 1600 NOK per night), as there are nicer hotels in a more central location for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniahenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

Beautiful, ambient, tranquil, peaceful environment. The hotel is located in the midst of a forest up on a hill. Browsing the internet websites on accomodations in "Ushlu" this hotel was described as being a 3,5 star quality one. Actually it does definitely deserve the 4* rating.

The hotel is really spacious in all terms. Not just the double-bed rooms, but all interior common usage areas, as well. I liked this feature as opposed to downtown hotels with those squeezed tiny spaces.

The exterior appearance of the hotel building is not something attractive, pretty much moderate, but the interior design and applied materials do appeal to me by contrast .

Cleanliness and neatness is immaculate from the lobby through the corridors to the rooms. My rooms was on the 3rd floor. When I woke up in the morning the scenery was fabulous. Only green woods near and far in the distance. The room is cosy, the bathroom spacious, with long bath tub, and shower. The tap water is of strange brownish colour, same as I just read it here in another review. The receptionist relaxed me about it. Anyway if you insist on drinking clear water you will find sparkling water freely available in front of the conference rooms in the lobby.

The scandinavian breakfast, frokost is abundant and of wide assortment. Try and get there early enough to avoid the herds of "corporate citizens" participating in team -building programs and conferences.

One thing you should be aware of when taking your decision: If you do not use a car during your stay in Ushlu, so want to use the public transportation to access the hotel remember, that you will want to take a 15 minutes walk from the station of the Trikken (something like S-Bahn in Berlin, HEV in Budapest, etc.)

It is a really nice walk on a deserted asphalt road in the woods, but not everybody likes walking in the dark even if the street is illuminated. The Trikken commutes every 15 minutes until 22 h, and you need another 30-35 minutes to get to the downtown. The route of the Trikken is also nice as it descends/climbs amidst the trees. If you drive the trip takes some 20 minutes down to the city.

Be aware of taxi fares ! I went crazy when I had no other option on a Saturday morning at 5 A.M. to get to the main train station. I paid not less than 530 NOK. There is night extra fee and additional substantial extra fee charged for pre-order for the next day.

You can come across quite neat room prices for 50 % of rack price if you use the internet. As I did.

  • Liked — quite and peace
  • Disliked — distance from city
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Atyilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

I stayed at the Soria Moria for 1 night in September with my boyfriend - it was our first night in Norway on our 9-day holiday. We really enjoyed our stay, however this is very obviously a conference centre! The general look of the place and it's size (and labyrinthine layout) are consistent with a business destination rather than a cosy hotel out of town.

THE ROOM:
It was neat and clean, with a small kettle and fridge (stuffed with minibar treats of course... resist! Resist!). The colour scheme is not my ideal style, all red and green - a bit festive! However the room was adequate and the bathroom was very nice (underfloor heating, shower-over-bath, large and well lit). We had a bit of a view, but only because we were on the end of the corridor and could see past the opposite building - anyone else on our corridor would have had a view of a brick wall! We were on the fourth floor of the annexed building (over the "skywalk").

Problems with the room: apart from the questionable view, there were strange noises all day/night - I think it was the plumbing system? Very frequent noises that were especially loud in the bathroom in the morning, when everyone is flushing their loos I guess!
The beds were two singles - we can't say we weren't warned about this! We just pushed them together.
Also, we assumed the tap water was drinkable, but it was a weird colour - sort of yellowish. It tasted fine and smelled of nothing at all so I doubt it was chemicals, however it looked pretty nasty!

BREAKFAST:
Very generous buffet as you expect in Norway:
croissants,
sausages and eggs,
jams,
several types of bread,
several types of cheese,
several types of meat (including something like parma ham covered in ground cloves...!)
pate,
tea/coffee/juices.

RESTAURANT:
We didn't go into the main restaurant in the evening because we only wanted a small supper, and there was a huge wedding party celebrating in there! We decided to act on the advice of many reviewers here, and try the "10 quid burger". See photo. This was a part of the light bites menu...! It was a great burger, simple patty hamburger with gherkins, sauces, a nice bun, big pile of chips.... actually this is better than you would get in a UK pub and costs about the same. Also I recommend the hot chocolate (varm sjokolade), which was served in a huge silver pot with a whole bowl of freshly-whipped cream and cranberries and mint leaves! Yum! We ate in the section outside the main restaurant, by a roaring fire - lovely.

STAFF:
All seemed very friendly and drew us a map to help us find our room...! The waiters were very attentive despite having such a large party waiting in the next dining room.

VIEWS:
Excellent, especially out of the back of the building (in the businessy area).

LOCATION:
Out of town, we really could not have found this without a map. Luckily it is marked on the tourist information centre's map of Oslo - top left, near the enormous ski jump. It was quite a drive, I would not recommend using a taxi for this! On the other hand, there was practically no passing traffic and we felt on top of the world looking out over Oslo and the countryside.

Conclusion:
I would recommend this hotel, but be warned it is a bit out of the way! And be careful which room you are in, as one whole branch of the annex block will have no view at all over three floors. We were very lucky on that one.
The burger and hot chocolate are recommended; the pre-dining room is very cosy indeed!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ZannahDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

I stayed at the Soria Moria hotel for 3 nights when vacationing in Oslo. It's nice, clean and quiet. It has a nice swimming pool and a sauna. If you don't have a car however you will be forced to eat at the pricey hotel restaurant (I believe the dinner buffet is 225 NOK). The closest other restaurant is also somewhat pricey (but nice) about 15 min walking distance. The closest train station is about 15-20 min walk down a steep hill or you'll have to take a cab to take you to town. Having a car made the stay so much easier: you can get close to Oslo Center (the Frogen Park) in 10 minutes, there's a camping site with a little store and a pizzeria 10 min driving distance. Finding the hotel is easier than I thought: you just follow the signs to Hollmenkollen (the ski jump) and then drive past it following the white signs to Soria Moria. There's also a bike rental 15 min walk past the hotel (about 200 NOK per day). The Oslo view from the little terrace 5 min downhill from the hotel is spectacular.

  • Liked — The view on Oslo
  • Disliked — The need to have a car to go anywhere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JackieSnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.3 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#54 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
0.2 mi away
Lysebu
Lysebu
#27 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
6.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 33
Quality Hotel 33
#38 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Hotel
Address: Voksenkollveien 60, Oslo 0790, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soria Moria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Oslo you will find Soria Moria Hotel looking over the city, fjord and the forest. You can relax, rest near the forest and still be comfortably close central Oslo. We can offer 156 overnight rooms, divided into single, double and twin rooms - as well as two attractive suites. All rooms were renovated in summer 2013 and holds today a modern atmosphere and comfortable Jensen beds. The hotel also offers a lobbybar, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, conference facilities and banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Soria Moria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soria Moria Oslo
Hotel Soria Moria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing