We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and a sink besides the bed....”
Review of Thon Hotel Linne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Linne
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Godvik - Norway
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and a sink besides the bed....”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is 20 minutes off the center of Oslo, the bus stops right outside the hotel - the underground gives you about 5 - 10 minutes walk to the hotel.
The area around the hotel is nice, appartments and private house makes the area quiete. The hotel gives breakfast - a good norwegian breakfast. It gives you a great start of the day.
Now; the room. For the first time in my life, travelling all over Europe and in USA/Canada I got the pleasure of experiencing at sink in the room. Yes, a sink in the room. Not in the bathroom that had a shower and a toilet (you had to almost go backward to the closet...yeah!!) but besides the bed.
The beds where to soft for my parts, then again thats a personal opinion. Nice price for the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sah06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
28
17
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A hotel outside the city center, aprox 30 min with walk and underground. I het a new room, small but nice for one person. Informal and very gentle staff. To warm in the rooms, it should atleast been five degrees down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Looking at the location of the hotel and at the reviews here I was a bit nervous when I found our travel agent had booked us in here. I needn't have worried - it was great.
Firstly, location. Easily reached by the FlyBus Express from the airport. The bus stops at the bottom of the road and there is a three minute walk to the hotel. On the way you pass the metro stop which is dead convenient - regular service gets you to the very centre of the city in about ten minutes. Actually more convenient than many 'City Centre' hotels. Being in a mixed residential and commercial district means that the area immediately around the hotel doesn't have a lot to offer - but it is so easy to get into the city.

Secondly the hotel itself. It is now the 'Thon Hotel Linne' and they have invested a lot of money in refurbishing the hotel, including putting in extra floors. Our room was superb - good size and very comfortable. And Thon hotels give you a kettle a and drinks in the room! Anyone who has paid a ridiculous amount for a cup of appalling tea in Norway knows how important that is. The staff were very helpful and well trained. On their advice we bought, from the, a 24 hour Oslo Pass which gave us all our metro and ferries and admission to nearly all of the museums etc. This worked out very well for us.

Unreservedly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms in the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After reading several reviews about this hotel I was worried when work sent me here. But I was proven wrong. They have recently opened 3 brand spanking new floors with rooms. I got 913 which on good days has an ocean view:D

Amazing bed, modern and welcoming room. Excelent breakfast.

Staff at the front desk was service minded and did an excelent job helping me with restaurants in the city and things to do. Oslo is a beautifull city for a Queenslander and Thon Hotel Linne is perfectly situated for one that enjoys the outdoors and the city. Only a 10 min metro ride to the city centre,

Room Tip: Ask for a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viking76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here because couldn’t get last minute accommodations elsewhere and needed to be here for a conference. Would rather have paid to sleep in another city and drive in. Room was beyond filthy, things growing in the bathroom, staff were never around to assist with anything, hotel is very dark and food gave me an upset stomach. Sleep in your car if you need to instead of sleeping here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I had a last-minute business trip to Oslo and due to some conventions in town I had difficulties finding any accommodations in Oslo until I was able to secure a reservation at this hotel.
I arrived very late in Oslo after a delay with my flight from Amsterdam and took the bus to Oslo as it stopped close to the hotel. After feeling a bit nervous going through this dreary part of the city I made it to the hotel, only to find the lobby full of disgruntled people and a very sour front desk (night) clerk. What I gathered was that these people were being told that there were no rooms for them. When I was finally helped, I greeted the clerk and showed her my reservation confirmation. She took the paper checked her system and then looked up and me and said "sorry, we have no room or mention of you." I told her that I had prepaid my stay and she said it was not her problem and that there were no other hotels in the area! I persisted with her and she then found a room for me in Lillestrom, about 25 mins away. I kept asking what was wrong, but I kept getting a response of "I am only the night clerk."
The following day I contacted the hotel manager. I asked her what had happened and how the hotel could have given my room away to someone else and she just said that the reservations crew had neglected to close the reservations system when the hotel was in fact full. Furthermore I got a simple "we're sorry for this" and that was it. Very, very frustrating. But what was most distrubing was that even after the hotel admitted to their fault and found me another hotel, they did not offer to cover my additional taxi costs, which is already very expensive in Norway.
In the end I didn't stay at this property, but I think that it was an omen in the end. What I saw looked ever so bleak and the personnel looked rather disgruntled. And the area was not very nice either.
Will I return? No way!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dp_visser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I was stying in this hotel on business trip fortunately just 2 nights. In my opinion this place is awful, from the new pictures I can see it was renovated, but when I was there in 2006 it was not so...
The rooms are dark and claustrophobic, area depressive (especially if you are there in the middle of winter), breakfast so far I remember nothng special. So if you can avoid this place and even if you want to be close to business area, i.e. Siemens, stay in the city - Majorstuen and take the metro to Linden.

  • Liked — Probably nothing
  • Disliked — Rooms, breakfast, location, atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Quality Hotel 33
#46 of 102 in Oslo
456 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#55 of 102 in Oslo
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Soria Moria Hotel
#40 of 102 in Oslo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Linne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Linne

Property: Thon Hotel Linne
Address: Statsraad Mathiesens v. 12, Oslo 0598, Norway (Formerly Linne Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Linne 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Linne is a business hotel situated in Groruddalen, Oslo North. Last renovated in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Thon Hotel Linne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linne Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing