We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
kmn727
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for a stay in Oslo; although check-in was a bit slow, the room was comfortable and clean. Excellent attention to detail; I had emailed requesting a quiet room, and was allocated one at the back of the hotel, and had also asked for a kettle to be in my room, which it was. There is a phone in the room, but you have to look for it; mine was on the wall next to the television. Internet access was exactly how I like it; good and free of charge.

Room Tip: Travel from the airport using the high-speed train; the hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmn727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    318
    171
    58
    37
See reviews for
142
224
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Absolutely perfect location in downtown Oslo.Located on Karl Johan Gate close to the Royal Palace, Central Station and Stortinget and the National Theatre .Nicely appointed rooms. Great breakfast buffet. No parking on site, but you will get percentage off at the Europark, which is very close to the hotel. Very helpfull , English speaking staff.There plenty of restaurants with sidewalk cafes nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_CanadaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel (as others say) is well positioned for all the attractions you'd want to see. The staff are friendly and overall the hotel is OK. The rooms are indeed small and a little dated (esp the bathrooms), though definitely clean and tidy. The biggest problem for me was noise. Given its location you get a lot of traffic noise. I was fine due to getting up early for business, but wouldn't want to re-visit for a weekend. Toiletries aren't great; glad I packed some from home as only the large squeezy soap dispensers.

The breakfast as well was only average, esp compared to other hotels in Oslo; not much choice of fresh or hot food, nor any sweet treats.

No ym also which I missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putney_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the arrival to the check out, people from the front desk were excellent. Very helpful and always smiling.
Excellent location: restaurants, shopping and attraction within walking distance.
Only the room where breakfast is served is too small. Depending on the time, there are no tables available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the place for a person that is looking for a hotel near everything that is needed to see in Olso, like a 4-days trip.

Besides the location, the hotel is a little bit old fashioned, with tiny rooms and it smells like an old place.

There is no highlights, everything is "äverage".

Be careful about the neighborhood at night, there are many people offering drugs and some prostitutes as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Let's start with the good stuff...
+ Excellent location near everything you need or want.
+ Very nice reception of staff
+ Clean room and nice bathroom with shower only (which is what I prefer).

- tiiiiiiiiny room, simply the smallest I ever stayed in !
-No resturant or bar to relax or contemplate after meetings
-A maze to conquer to get to the room.

I havent been to Oslo for a few years but must admit that I expected a bit more from the hotel considering the price.
There is a lot of places around the corner to eat or drink but personally I sometimes likes to chill a bit after all meetings in a hotel bar.

My room faced the Karl Johann street but that was no problem at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here one night, and was relatively pleased with this hotel. First, you can't beat the location, right in the center of Oslo - and within walking distance of the airport train at National Theater Station. Second, everything that I needed for my brief stay was available with one exception that I'll note later. Finally, the staff was very helpful offering good suggestion for dining and were very competent in their English Speaking skills.

As stated in other reviews, the standard rooms are small - but, they're Spartan - not Lilliputian. I thought they were roomy enough since my room accommodated my luggage, had adequate desk space for my electronics, and everything else I needed was there.

The only potential negatives I noted were that the interior is going from old style charm to just plain tired. Additionally, there was a breakdown in communication between the staff that prevented me from getting a promised box breakfast to take with me for my early flight (with the price of dining in Norway, this is a big deal to me).

I recommend this hotel for brief stays when going to, or coming from other parts of Norway when traveling solo on business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWODaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#43 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotell Bondeheimen
#42 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#39 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Property: Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Address: Karl Johans gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing