We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great place. The best hotel in Oslo.
A true " feelgood" place. The receptionist Einar is a Star.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTBnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear guest!

Many thanks for your most positive feedback and kind words about the hotel and Einar in the reception. I believe many guests would agree with you regarding Einar since many of them call him a "legend"...:-).

Hope to see you at Hotel Gabelshus nest time you are in Oslo.
In the meanwhile I wish you a very nice autumn.

Best regards,

Naira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 849 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

The gabelshus is a nice hotel in and old building in a very quiet residential area of Oslo, although its only a few minutes from the tram stop into town (literally 2-3 stops to centre and also walkable) the entrance and breakfast rooms are very nice, the check in staff were extremely helpful and told us places to go nearby for a drink and also where to explore in town (Head over to Grunerloka for night-life and nice bars) ur room was at the back and in the old servants quarters, and was quite a nice attic room. it was quite large and had a large bathroom with bath and natural light. the bathroom could be a bit more up to date but it was OK (note there were electric wall heaters and no radiators which might not be enough during the winter?) the room was very comfortable with a nice bed and wardrobe space, a comfy chair and two big windows looking out onto gardens and residential properties. It was very quiet and we had 3 very relaxing nights sleep there. The evening buffet was great, some people have commented that it was not enough for dinner but we found it a very good selection of hot and cold food (salads, cold meats and cheeses, fish, nice bread, cakes etc.) and it saves you a lot of money as eating out in Oslo is very pricey. Also its really nice that you can make tea, coffee, hot chocolate and waffles to have at any time or take back to your room (the cinnamon buns were excellent after a long days walking!) the breakfast room is large and in two sections, one part is more of a formal dining conservatory. Overall the hotel is very relaxing, comfortable and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: not a room tip but get an Oslo pass, great value for museums, take the boat trip thats free with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thanks for the detailed and nice review. It is great to hear that you had a relaxing and nice stay at our charming hotel very central, yet very quiet like a little oasis in a big city:-).
I can ensure you and all our future and potential guests that the heating and warm enough rooms is not a problem, since we have central oil heating in addition to electrical ovens. If there is one think we know best in Norway it is how to handle the cold winter... :-).

Have a great autumn and welcome back for another occasion.

Best regards,

Naira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Comfortable hotel, good service and friendly staff. The hotel has own free parking which is a big plus in the city though it is limited in capacity, but there is free parking in the surrounding street too. Our room was reasonably large and comfortable (2nd floor towards the back). The only minus was the weather was torrential rain for much of the 2 days we were there and the air in in the room felt quite damp.

Overall, I recommend the hotel and will use it again if we visit West Oslo in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John-A-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear guest,

Thanks for the positive review.

Looking forward to see you a at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus in the future and
hope Oslo will be hospitable enough to give us some sun and nice weather next time.

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice hotel in a quite neighborhood. 15 min walk to the center. there is a tram near the hotel. breakfast is fine. light dinner mostly cold room and service are ok. free parking!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shmuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear guest,

Thanks for the positive review.

The light evening meal that we offer to your guests without an extra charge is not a dinner and is something light in the evening between 6-9 pm every day. It is mostly cold buffet, while there is always a warm home made soup and one light warm dish in addition.

I wish you a nice autumn and hope to see you at Hotel Gabelshus in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We enjoyed the Gabelhus, and would stay here again. It's close enough to the center - can walk or take tram / bus - but in a quiet residential neighborhood. Our room was comfortable, with a bathtub. The service was fine - though only one person was at the front desk, he or she was always available to help - tested in our case when my mobile phone would not work, and I got quite a bit of help with it. The afternoon waffles were a hit, and the breakfast was probably the best of all the hotels we stayed at in Norway. As a runner, it was nice to be near Frogner Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PS06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thanks a lot for the nice and positive review.
Hope to host you at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus again in the future.

I wish you a nice autumn and a very pleasant day.


Naira Lalayan
General Manager

Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

although the road outside the hotel is still torn up, presumably it will be finished eventually; otherwise the hotel is is in a nice residential neighborhood, about 10 min. walk away from the sights in the city center. It's a very pretty space, but be sure to ask for a room below the top floor-we were given a room in the rafters, so small that it was impossible to avoid cracking your head on the roof beam that angled through the room. The beds were quite soft; since we need something firmer, we pulled the pads onto the floor (which had the added benefit of avoiding that beam). The bathroom was modern and very clean. The day was fairly warm, and since there was no air conditioning the room was pretty stuffy, but we opened the windows and went for a walk, and by the time we returned it was quite comfortable. The evening dinner was quite light and nothing special; breakfast was better, and since both were included in the price of the room, the overall value was a good one. We had drinks on the terrace in the evening, and it was very pleasant. We'd stay here again, most likely--but we'd be sure to specify a room on a lower floor!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ModdeyCloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear Alan.
Thank you for the review.

The road construction is finally closing to the end, expected totally finished in a day or two. The rooms on the top floor are relatively smaller namely because of the ceilings, otherwise feminine and charming rooms.
Nice to hear that the breakfast and light evening food was appreciated.

Have a nice summer and welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Perfect service in a small nice hotel.
Perfect location 5 min outside Oslo centrum.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTBnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Have a nice summer and welcome back for another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
848 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Address: Gabels gate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#14 Business Hotel in Oslo
#20 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $146 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing