We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple B&B in leafy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellingsens Pensjonat
Ranked #2 of 20 Oslo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed my one night stay at this simple but cosy B&B in the leafy Uranienborg area of Oslo.
It located in a lovely leafy street, behind the palace park, in one of the prettiest areas of Oslo. Loved the location - central but not right in the middle of things - it is about 10 mins walk to very centre, and about 20 mins walk to Central Station - but the walk is lovely.
I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom. The facilities were not amazing but perfectly fine, and I loved the view form my room over the garden. There were lots of lovely little touches, like cosy blankets, an arm chair, and flowers on the window sill. The service was the same - not amazing but simple and perfectly fine. Lots of lovely common areas to relax - an indoor sofa area and a garden deck. Breakfast and internet costs extra.

Room Tip: On the garden side, rather than the road side, where the trams trundle by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A_och_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ellingsens Pensjonat is in a great location in a lovely part of Oslo. A ten minute walk to the Frogner Park and lots of lovely cafes and shops within a five minute walk. Basically you get a room to stay the night and that's it - you have to pay extra for breakfast, internet etc though I didn't mind this given how cheap the single room with shared bathroom rate is. The bathrooms could definitely use a refurb so if you are the kind of person who needs a very modern, up-to-date shower and toilet then this is not the place for you. That being said my room was perfectly comfortable and the style of the Pensjonat is quite nice, Scandinavian in design. My tips to the owners and managers would be: update the bathrooms, offer an honesty bar or equivalent for after staff have left, and do not lock the door to the garden when people might want to sit outside after the staff have gone home!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank ClareMM2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The place is near the city center and easily accessible by tram. I booked thru booking.com for a double room with a private bathroom and when we got there we did not have the private bathroom. The staff was very apologetic and aside from this snafu everything was great. Staff was helpful and friendly and early departure was done with ease.

One suggestion to the hotel would be for them to provide bat rugs outside the shower so guests wouldn't be leaving trails of water in their wake after taking a shower.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kait1yn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Well organised & helpful staff who all went above & beyond their duty to make our stay great. Even a late arrival & early departure was well organised & went smoothly.
Location is quiet & easy to get to by public transport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a nice stay in Oslo, the 'Pensjonat' is superbly located... close to the center (it's actually a beautiful walk from the Central Trainstation to the Pensjonat - 20mins), right in the Embassy area and nice coffeestops around. Would certainly recommend it to future guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smitim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at Ellingsens Pensionat from April 3rd.-6th. It is ideal for people that just need a comfortable place to sleep. What you get for the prize in outrageously expensive Oslo gets 4 stars from me. The staff was very friendly, room very clean, quiet and comfortable. As I stayed out working most of the day, this was all what I needed and will definitely return to Ellingsens for my next visit.

Gudny Gudmundsdottir

Room Tip: There is very little difference in prize for a shared bathroom and a private one. This is not very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fidla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very nice small place ! ;0) and one of the cheaper place in Oslo. service is pretty good, only bad point are wifi and breakfeast not included in the price but no really important finally. Location is ok about 10 min with the tramway from downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Josserand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
861 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Scandic Solli
#36 of 102 in Oslo
993 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#20 of 102 in Oslo
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingsens Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingsens Pensjonat

Address: Holtegata 25, Oslo 0355, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range: $82 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellingsens Pensjonat 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elligsens Pensjonat, feel at home in the middle of the Norwegian capital of Oslo. Opened in 1963, our bed&breakfast has quickly gained a reputation as a place to relax and withdraw from the bustling city life, while offering its rooms at rates for every travelers budget. Our team is always available to help and works relentlessly to provide you with everything to accompany your stay in this beautiful city.The villa itself is located close to the center, only a few steps away from the public transportation and shopping opportunities, offering you a wide array of ways to spend your days.The rooms has been newly in 2014 and 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ellingsens Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingsens Pensjonat Hotel Oslo
Ellingsens Pensjonat Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing