We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food But Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanami

Hanami
Ranked #11 of 1,428 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The vision of Hanami is to present Japanese fusion in the most outstanding way, both visually and with flavors. When it comes to sushi and robata grill we are among the experts of Oslo. In terms of gourmet food, high class beverage and atmosphere we have a desire to be a unique place for you and your company when you fancy a night out. We are proud to house a prestigious team of chefs from around the world. We are located at the celebrated Tjuvholmen of Oslo. The restaurant is inspired by nature where contemporary and rustic elements blend together in harmony.
melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food But Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We walked into Hanami without a reservation. We were lucky that there was a spot for 2. The restuarant had a open kitchen and tables indoors and outdoors. The menu was quite extensive with lots of sharing plates of varyng sizes. One could say that their menu was a modern take of Japanese cuisine. The sushi and sashimi were made to order. The restaurant was full of local and this was on a weeknite. Service was sporadic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fuzzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    132
    61
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lacked a lot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was here with 2 friends. The service was very friendly, but a little slow. They were out of a lot of things on the menu. I had smoked eel which was very good, but the maki was slightly disappointing. It was also very expensive.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sauce111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great first experience @ Hanami. Food, service, atmosphere all v good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have eaten at a lot of Oslo's better restaurants, 'better' being a relative term - there are many expensive, disappointing restaurants in Oslo that I don't consider 'good' by international standards.

BUT - the good ones here are definitely well worth it, and Hanami fits into that group easily.

We went on a Saturday night with no reservation. Hanami is always very popular, but front of house were kind enough to find a nice spot for us at their sushi bar, despite us just walking in off the street. It was a nice surprise.

Hanami's sushi was very good. I would call it an adaptation of the sushi you get at authentic Japanese restaurants. Not exactly the same, but a (very tasty) close relative. Fresh fish, great presentation, and some interesting combinations like the salmon with apple.

Our other dishes were skillfully crafted. Strong but never overpowering flavours, good produce and small enough portions that you can almost order tapas style. The spiced beef dish was very tasty.

My dessert was stock standard chocolate fondant, but one of the better ones I have had. Wine was expensive, but no more so than at other restaurants of similar ilk in Norway.

Hanami's atmosphere was young-ish west Oslo hip, but not too pretentious.
Pleasingly there was a good dedication to proper service (not always the case at hip places). If you like quiet, white table cloth old-world elegance, this is not the place. It has buzz, life and music to go with the food. It was expensive, but not excessive. Prices seemed in line with normal Oslo prices for top restaurant food.

It all added up to a great first impression for me. I will definitely head back to Hanami; after one meal there I already rate it as one of the best options in the Tjuvholmen area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_of_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food to share with good company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This restaurant has a great combined food menu that gives you the chance to taste many different dishes in company of friends or with your significant other (or both :-)

We came to the restaurant for a late lunch (at 2.30) and ended up there until 5 pm. We enjoyed the food very much. We asked for a set of dishes they could compose for us. The result was excellent.

The price is high, but you are guaranteed good food and service in a nice ambiance.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuso1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant in Oslo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

After several lunches and dinners and Hanami we went for a Saturday lunch. We had seating outdoors. Just close to the water. The staff is really service minded. The menu is impressive and the kitchen makes every dish a small masterpiece. It is a bit expensive, but I think it is worth it. Excellent drinks in the bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hskogvoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanami also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Hanami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing