We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Typical norwegian in a positive sense - adds to the flair. A wooden historical building on top of Oslo looking over the fjords.
Walking distance from ski jump but fairly far from the centre - train station however close by.
Spacious room with nice views - however this room had certainly not been dusted for a while - only negative.
Service staff a bit slow - this could however be the norwegian pace of life.
Hotel has very good and modern amenities - fitness room, swimming pool, lounges etc etc
We would 100% stay here again and would recommend further.
Very good prices during summer holidays.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKNL2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    369
    182
    62
    19
See reviews for
186
325
42
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Our first trip to Norway to see family in 20 yrs and staying at the Holmenkollen Park Hotel was the icing on the cake. From the moment that we arrived the front desk staff did everything that they could do to make us feel special. A constant smile and warm greeting that made us feel like we were someone special. The breakfast buffet was a culinary adventure with endless opportunity to enjoy the very best of Norwegian cuisine. The luncheon buffet, while a bit pricey, was also a gourmet offering. Too many different types of food to mention but all selections were outstanding. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a special memory of a trip to Oslo. The view of the city from atop this hill is almost dreamlike, especially at night. A 5 out of 5 for my family!! Tusen Takk!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was the cheapest hotel we could find in Oslo. Beautiful building and stunning view. Quite far out from Oslo city centre, but was easy enough to get the bus in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejay150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This hotel is very good. The room was beautiful and confortable (with a spetacular view), the breakfast was marvelous, parking and internet were free and the staff very friendly. I recommend for everybody.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieBelluno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I was a little dubious about this hotel as it is only ranked 25th and I do trust tripadvisor reviews. However I took a gamble based on the location and the facilities (I specifically wanted to get out of town a bit) and I am very pleased indeed. The location is second to none - have a look at the photo below showing the view from my window.

Really nice modern bedroom with a huge bathroom. This is a superior room, which was £10 more than a standard and means I get a bath instead of a shower and a cracking view. Hotel facilities are good, a modern well equipped gym and a pool and spa (currently closed for refurb).

It is a bit of a trek to get here, but I got a #1B bus from town for £2.50 and then had a 5min walk up the hill. Taxis are reportedly expensive and I'm on a tight budget so happy with the bus. There should be a metro train but the line is closed for upgrading. There is a lot of upgrading and construction work going on in preparation for the 2011 nordic championships. Theyve ripped down the old ski jump and are currently building a new one which should look even more impressive.

I really like this place and would happily come back again.

Oh and free wifi throughout the hotel, which is not the case for all of the other hotels I looked at in Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneypointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Stayed in Feb 2009 having twice stayed at Soria Moria a couple of miles up the road!

Positive: Great location for access to Tryvann Ski area – only 5 mins drive up the hill. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Clean hotel and rooms – comfy beds.

Negative: Very expensive dining and no other real options close by (not great for kids). Slow service at check in/out desk.

Watch out: Parking is a rip off at the hotel. It has underground parking at £2 an hour or £15 for 24hrs. The alternative is to use the free car park for the Holmenkollen Museum at the bottom but this is a 5 min walk and not great in the snow.

Tip: As to be expected, food (like everything) is very expensive – it’s best to get the metro into Oslo. Holmenkollen Station is under 10 mins walk from the hotel and journey to central Oslo (National Theatre Station) takes 20 mins and costs £5 return as opposed to a Taxi being £30-40 each way! The Soria Moria is a good alternative – perhaps not quite as nice a hotel but a much better option if you have a car (free parking!)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzhappy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We loved this hotel but the restaurant is very expensive. Its not really their fault, Oslo generally is really expensive. We ate at the hotel for two nights, the first meal was £188 and the second £130 (that’s for two people, one round of drinks) - so as you can see its a bit on the high side. That being said though, the meals were absolutely excellent.

The Hotel is 'a bit 80's' but is in good condition and very clean. We got upgraded (which is always nice) but the room was still a bit on the small side and the beds were small and very uncomfortable.

We took a taxi from the centre of Oslo on arrival and were shocked by the £40 fare (its only about 3 or 4 miles), but on checking with reception that’s about right. So: DONT USE THE TAXI! We used the metro to get to and from town, which was £2.50 per person each way, which is £10 a day per couple, which beats £80 for the taxi. The Metro is a few minutes walk down the hill and is easy to use.

This hotel is great and we would recommend it but, because its Oslo - its pricey.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The prices
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank andybrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Soria Moria Hotel
#40 of 102 in Oslo
182 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#29 of 102 in Oslo
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing