We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on top of the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is a historical piece of magic. Very traditional main building, with add-on rooms dating more recently. Otherworldly really. Very romantic setting, the room was beautiful and well appointed- it was a double delux i think. Must have room with a view! Overlooks to the whole area of Oslo and wonderful hiking trails into the woods around the hotel. Staff were very helpful and always delightful- and upgraded our room, sauna and pool/jacuzzi were a big bonus and very nice to indulge in. Beds were divine. Best meal in Norway at the fancy resturant- go for the Salmon dish, Duck Salad was good too. They make their own lemon butter, out of this world! Ask for a big helping!!!
Breakfast was an event in itself- make sure you take the time to really savor it- caring friendly staff in the dining hall for breakfast- easy to get to by train from the main city stops...well worth it all around. Thanks for a great experience!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the city in the main building close to the spa and lobby areas--
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinnamonGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I arrived on Friday night by car, parking was available in the indoor hotel parking with a fee(150 NOK/24h). The room was old but clean and the beds were comfortable. Tv,bathtub and "minibar". We decided to try out "Oscarstuen" restaurant, they offered a small a la carte menu with two starters three main dishes and two desserts. My wife had the salmon and I had the Steak. The vegetables were a bit on the salt side but all in all a good meal, with a very nice view even though we were seated on the "wrong" side of the restaurant. Saturday morning we started in the gym, which is very well equipped for a hotel gym. So for the main event, Breakfast. This is by far the best breakfast we`ve ever had in any hotel. they had an omeletchef, juicemaker, an overwhelming amount of local produce and very good service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Positive: Perfect breakfast - free wifi - quiet rooms - nice staff - swimming pool - nice fitness room - nice view over Oslo (highest point in Oslo) ...
Negative: pay parking - pizza restaurant rather expensive/not very good

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu_borgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed as a couple for 4 days, got an Oslo pass for transport, excellent. Breakfast was fantastic, you can fill your boots. The hotel is beside the ski jump with gret views of Oslo. The local train is 5 minute walk from the hotel. Note avoid the underground parking and park in front of the modern wing.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bananaman057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pulled into the hotel (very) late at night and was pleasantly surprised. Despite their being a conference in town, it was reasonably priced. There is a beautiful view of Oslo as the hotel is located high above Oslo. Really like the architecture of the hotel. Rooms are of a nice size, some are quite large with interesting decor, mostly of skiing. Breakfasts are good and staff helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have nice views, others not at all. May want to ask in advance if this matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

One of the worst staff I ever meet! When we check in they offer us another room then way we ask for! After they give us a very nice room, with great view, but the cleaning was awful! The bath was prepared just for one visitor and we were two! Nothing change in 4 days, evan if we ask for! The restaurant have two starter (one is a soup) and three main course....and is call a la carte! When we ask for fruits at room service they offer us just pizza! The cleaning in the room during our stay was invisible....dust everywhere....price for this services....HUGE......WORST PERSONAL A EVER MEET!!! GREAT position, but far away from everything! We traveled by car and it was not a big problem, but even with the car, there are 9 km to the centre!

Room Tip: Try another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel outside Oslo. It is different looking and best part is its location. It is near Oslo but far from the crowd. It is very close to train station and very convenient to take a train to Oslo, spend the day there and come back in the evening. It has really good restaurants though costly. The view is excellent. Overall a very nice hotel and great choice if you are planning to visit Oslo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.9 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#29 of 102 in Oslo
212 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Hotel 33
Quality Hotel 33
#48 of 102 in Oslo
520 reviews
4.3 mi away
THE THIEF
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#57 of 102 in Oslo
182 reviews
4.1 mi away
Scandic St. Olavs plass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $121 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing