We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has always been the finest hotel in Norway, and still is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Farsund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has always been the finest hotel in Norway, and still is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Classic family owned city centre hotel vis a vis the National Theatre. Undoubtedly the finest hotel experience in Norway with fantastic service.
At other five star hotels we sometimes feel the staff are diverted to serve socalled celebrities or arab princes or whatever, but not at Continental. You have their attention 110 per cent at all times, never any waiting.
Your desires are satisfied almost before you become aware of them yourself :-)
This is the Ritz of Oslo, but even better service and much more charming and friendly. And enormously less expensive. Only at Shangi La Valley Wing I have experienced similar attention and service.

Dont forget to dine at Theatercafeen, a wonderful Belle Epoque Viennese style cafe full of poets, actors and interesting people and mercifully free of noisy loudtalking tourists ;-)

Room Tip: All roms are fine, but rooms facing Klingenberggaten may have some noise from a nearby nightclub at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    332
    103
    42
    16
See reviews for
172
536
120
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with the best location in Oslo. The hotel is going through a refurbishment which will improve a lot of the facilities which only add to the bow. It is a charming hotel with a great bar. The rooms are fresh and modern and the staff is always there to help. Would recommend over any other Oslo hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank L82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Frequently travelling in Norway, I can say that there is simply no other hotel that compares to Hotel Continental! I have stayed in many of the hotel's rooms during the last few years and I have never been let down by the quality - even in the older classic rooms (that are now all being updated). This time I had a Jr Suite and all the amenities were excellent, furniture comfortable for both work and relaxing and a very comfortable bed, you will definitely have a great night's sleep. As classically beautiful as the hotel is, the real stars are the staff. The service is impeccable, from doormen, front desk, bell men and housekeeping. Don't miss having good time for the breakfast which is absolutely topclass - and in the afternoon/evening a drink at the downstairs bar, Dagligstuen, very classy and historic with the Munch collection! To me this Continental is like a Rolls Royce - there may be more flashy options out there in Oslo and Norway, but Continental sets the standard they're all trying to catch up with.

Room Tip: In Summer, try to get one of the Jr Suites with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrascfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here on the 5th to 7th April 2014, to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary. We were met on arrival by the most helpful doorman, had a very pleasant greeting from the Guest Relations Manager and Receptionist, who congratulated us on our anniversary and told us that we had been given a room upgrade to a Junior Suite. The room was just perfect.
Breakfast in the Caroline Restaurant was very good, both hot and cold buffets are well stocked with high quality food and freshly squeezed juices (the pastries are to die for).

Our celebration dinner in the Theatrecaféen restaurant was superb. Excellent professional service, delicious menus and fine wines served in a truly amazing and stylish room with live piano and opera singing in the background; a terrific atmosphere for such an occasion.

We could not find fault with this hotel or its friendly, efficient and helpful staff.

This hotel is perfectly position in the centre of Oslo, with easy access to the many sights being close to the underground, bus and tram stops. The high speed "Flytoget" train from the airport stops just a block away which is a bonus.

Just perfect for us and much appreciated. 10/10 and a Gold Star for the Hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopsPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear PopsPeter, Again - Happy Anniversary to both of you! I am so happy to hear that we were able to create a good atmosphere for your very special occasion. I have just shared your wounderful comments with our employees, and this really inspires us in our daily work! Thank you so much and welcome back for your next anniversary! Best regards, Karin Holme, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The location of this hotel couldn't be more central and the level of service is excellent. The rooms are comfortable, the beds and linens are among the best I have experienced in a hotel, it's almost as good as sleeping at home. Very nice and varied breakfast. It is expencive, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunn Iren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with comfortable rooms, restaurant, buffet breakfast and nice location. But if you are expecting to sleep, don't stay here on a weekend. The band started playing just as I was getting into bed and the volume and crowd noise continued to escalate until after 1 am. It was so loud I couldn't believe that it wasn't closer to my room.
Since my primary reason for staying at a hotel is to get a good night's sleep, I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelContinentalOslo, Leder  at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Steve K, First I would like to say thank you for choosing Hotel Continental. I am very happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and that you enjoyed our restaurants. However, I am sorry to read about the noise that disturbed you. We had an event that spesific night and unfortuntately the music was too loud. My sincerest apologies. I hope you will consider coming back to Hotel Continental, and please don`t hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything else I can be of assistance with. Best regards, Karin Holme ( karin.holme@hotelcontinental.no), General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Really nice location in the center of Oslo. Close to major attractions and the subway (about 50 m away). The subway stop is also a stop for the train from Oslo airport. Really friendly staff. I had a standard room with breakfast. The room was amazing! The bed, the pillow and even the blanket was so incredible. I have never been in a nicer standard room in Norway! I can not understand how this can just be a standard room. The breakfast was excellent. Super happy with the stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Helene M., Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, and I really do appreciate that you will recommend us to others! It was also very nice for me to read that you commented on our pillows and blankets. In the end of February this year, we changed all the hotels pillows and blankets and we have bought allergy-friendly down of high quality to all our rooms. Glad you enjoyed it! Welcome back to Hotel Continental! Best regards, Karin Holme, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#10 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing