We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were in Oslo earlier on in the week staying in a different hotel and found the hotel for when we arrived back in Oslo to fly home, and first impressions from the outside were fantastic. We arrived late afternoon after a 4 hour train journey and from sleeping in a wooden hut the night before, so we weren't looking or feeling too fresh!! Hotel reception staff couldn't have been anymore helpful, really friendly and helpful! Rooms were amazing, really comfy beds, everything you could need in there, really homely feel! Breakfast was lovely, really good selection. Location is brilliant for exploring the whole city! Only downside....wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amstubbs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    342
    106
    42
    16
See reviews for
181
554
124
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel has a good location waking distance from national theatre station as well as shopping street and all the attraction. The rooms are nice well furnished also bathrooms are big. The stuff are nice and helpful we asked them to recommend a resturant as we arrived late at night and they did recommend a nice Chinese called Dinner which wa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
209 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend and received a suite at reguar room price. Large suite with nicely appointed bath. Staff was helpful and friendly with recommendations for transportation and restaurants. Excellent location to bus, tram and subway. Just a few blocks from harbor. Room decor was outdated but clean and beds were comfortable.

Breakfast offerings were diverse, Hot entrees, cold meats, fruit, pastries and bread. Gluten free bread available by request.

Room Tip: Check for weekends specials on suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbandjerronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Despite the fact that a hotel can be OLD and musty (some call it traditional) one of the important things (specially after over 12 hours of flying) is to find friendly staff. Well, here the people are not rude but simply careless and COLD AS ICE. It is like talking to your kindergarden teacher after missbehaving and you have to pay for it! They are as strict as a concentration camp and "their" rules are unbendable. Bar closes at 10 SHARP and if you need something go around the corner, room service after 10 is almost NON EXISTENT and if you arrive late DEAL WITH IT!! (3 cold sandwiches and limited beverages). Breakfast is simple but good (almost traditional from an inn at the village) bur BEWARE if you arrive at 11.01 they will shut the doors on your face (no matter what).
The Front desk people keep contradicting themselves regarding check in/out times goinfg to the extreme of offering you to charge by the hour. YES!! you read right!, "By the hour"! Not to mention that one night when we were arriving with friend HAPPY around 11 at night one of the women at the front desk dared to "Shut down" one of my friends!!! No more comments!
dear LEADING HOTELS OF THE WORL: Kindly review your list of hotels!!! I am not going back!

Room Tip: ONLY go for the newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solei15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here last year in the spring (2012) and had a lovely room with a balcony: view down street to harbour. The decor is grand, and is vaguely reminiscent of an ocean liner. Room was a good size, bathroom fine. Service very attentive. Breakfast excellent! Close to the shops and the harbour. Recommend if you want to pamper yourself.

Room Tip: Ours was top floor, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley_Peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Been in this Hotel four or five times, so I know that some of their rooms are old so every time my union booked me a room here I always ask them to give me a room with light interior, the last time I stayed here they gave me a huge room with veryyy old interior design and curtains that .. "I don`t know how to explain it".. Anyway, why I gave this hotel an excellent rate? it`s because the staff here are very friendly and they will do everything to satisfied their guests, so when I asked them to give me another room during my last stay here, they gave me the room that I can sleep well with a view of National Theathret..The Breakfast was excellent, lots of fruits and fresh Yogurts..Nothing to complain about this hotel, one of my fav. hotel in Oslo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAmor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed in the Continental Hotel. It has a great location near shops, restaurants etc and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The outside of the hotel looks like a 60s hotel and is rather disappointing when you first approach it. However, once inside the reception is fine and lobby/lobby bar are nice enough, not five star quality though - in our opinion.
We had a junior suite and it was lovely. The suite had a terrace overlooking the park which was very relaxing to sit outside and watch the world go by. The Molten Brown toiletries in the bathroom were great and the room was quite modern and very clean. I was rather pleased that the room was so modern as some areas of the hotel look a little dated. Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
245 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
776 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#8 of 100 in Oslo
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing