We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance in Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegance in Oslo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is a venerable way to begin to enjoy Oslo. Our request to change rooms to a different bed arrangment was met enthusiastically and promptly. The rooms are charming and comfortable.Breakfast is served in their high class restaurant and provided a good range of choices. One of the best things about this hotel is its location: walking distance to a huge variety of sights, museums, the palace, restaurants and waterfront (where the ferry stops).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpjSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    332
    103
    42
    16
See reviews for
172
536
120
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose Continental Hotel due to it to its old charms. We found the service a little cold and aloof, not fitting the building old charms. We were upgraded to a huge corner room/suite with comfy couches and a balcony with an outdoor sitting. The room was decked out beautiful and the bathroom had beautiful amenities. The only downside was that the room was quite noisy from the trams which ran past the hotel day and late into the evening. Having said that, the location of the hotel was within easy distance to the trams and trains. A short walk from the hotel will take you to Aker Brygge where you can find the Nobel Peace Centre, lots of restaurant and ferries. A short walk will take you to the CBD area where the main shopping strips were located. At the time of our visit, there were renovations. Breakfast was served in the Theatercafeen and there was a huge spread and varieties.

Room Tip: Corner suits with balcony will be ideal for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We came to the hotel thinking it is old and outdated, however we got a great newly renovated room and we understand that the whole hotel is gradually changing its face with great renovation.
The services was great and the concierge was very helpful.
Location location location - by all means you can think about it is the best location in town for a hotel including being across the street from the national theater train station where the airport express take you from and to the airport in just 26 min.
We will defiantly come back next time in Oslo

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AM3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in a triple room for 3 nights in June 2012. The hotel is being renovated but our room had not been touched. It was huge with crumbling wallpaper, old brocaded curtains, and outdated furniture/decor. It was pretty charming nonetheless. Housekeeping and turndown service were impeccable. The room was very quiet. We called for a fan and one was delivered within 5 minutes. Excellent customer service at the front desk - when I asked for recommendations for a massage, the very nice gentleman called several places for me to make a reservation and picked a wonderful spot near the hotel that was reasonably priced and delightful (the name escapes me but unlike everything else in Norway, the prices here are actually the same as in the US!)

The breakfast buffet was excellent with waitresses who were sweet. Wonderful soy lattes. The only complaint is that there is no tea or coffee provided in the guest rooms but with a million Norweigan-7-11's within a block of the hotel, this was not a big deal to us. Overall, this was a very charming place to stay and we were happy with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ate at the Theatrekaffen, which was a blast from the past: a wonderful old bistro-style restaurant with a lot of genuine local specialities: I had the best club sandwich ever! Loved the atmosphere and inetersting crowd and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were really happy with the size of our room and its facilities, but agree with other reviewers that the hotel could be even better if the decor was updated. Breakfast offered plenty of choice. The location was great - lots of attractions nearby and right opposite a station. Although courteous, we did get the feeling that the staff at the hotel were really not that bothered about working there; the vibe in the hotel would definitely improve if they were a little more interested in their guests and enthusiastic about the wonderful city they live in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISLE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

LIKED - I liked the Theatercafeen restaurant and the evening meal staff. Very nice and helpful.

DISLIKED - All services at the hotel was average and below average (porter and doorman). Bathroom was very very poor, definately not 5 star as they claimed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJfromLA0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing