We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Millennium
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed April 17, 2009

I cant complain, value for the money, loved the bathroom underfloor heating, room small but superb clean. Street noise??? No problem!!! Tasty breakfast, my better half loved the fresh fruit. Gorgeous receptionist. Location right in the centre just 5 min. walk from the main square, Parliament, Fortress or City Hall... no need for taxi.
Oslo is nice place to be, although a bit more expensive than any other european city, relaxing, clean, modern, plenty to see and do!!! By the way, we met Crispin Glover in the Viking Museum :-) Cool

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arr0ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 945 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed at this hotel once before in Jan 08, then I had other trips to Oslo staying at other hotels, then I had a trip in Aug 08 staying again at the First Millenium Hotel. The second I steped into the room on the second trip, I remembered why I had not stayed there since Jan.

First there's the location, yes it's very close to the main sights of Oslo, as well as a T-bane station. But Tollbugaten, is also the street which houses a lot of prostitution and drug dealing. Then the rooms are about the size of a shoebox and are steaming hot, even though the heat is turned all the way down. Only way to cool it off, is to open the window. Since the street not only houses some of the bad elements of Oslo, but also has several trains running by all the time, it sends lots of noise into your room. So leaving those open during the night, just won't work ...

The comfort of the bed below normal standards. The TV has about 12 channels, but during my stay, only two of them worked. This was the case, for all three out of my four nights.

The breakfast is ok, but the room is too small and not enough tables.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank SecretDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Booked through Fjord Tours and stayed here May 2008.
Quite good 3 star hotel with friendly staff. Nice room and comfortable beds but offset by outside noise from traffic, trams, and a loud town clock somewhere nearby. The room was hot and as the air con was not operating, we had to open the window for cooler air. After the trams stopped running, their noise was replaced by drunks serenading no one in particular. and of course, that damn clock.
Hotel has a good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

To conlude our 4-week holidays in beautiful Norway we stayed 4 nights in the Millennium hotel. We chose this hotel because is was, compared to other Oslo-hotels, reasonably priced and centrally situated.
To start with the last item: centally situated, indeed but in a somewhat gloomy street with officeblocks with a junk sleeping on a doorstep opposite the hotel. However, I suppose Oslo is not different from other cities.
The hotel is a typical average touristhotel with no luxury at all. A small receptionarea and no lounge to sit and have a drink. The restaurant is the most unpleasant I have ever seen in a hotel, cramped with tables, an open messy kitchen and with a rather limited choice of breakfast.
Having read the reviews, I explicitely reserved a room at the backside of the hotel. Our "nice quiet courtyard room", as stated in the confirmation of our reservation, appeared to be a room at a small inner yard between the hotel and some officeblocks were 5, 6 or 7 airconditioningunits were playing their tune all day and night long. The room was not really bad but nicely situated is another thing. We decided not to ask for another room however since the option of a room at the streetside was not attractive at all. Since we could not open our windows completely because of the noise, the room was hot during the night. However, we understood that airco is nowhere available in Oslo hotels apart from the Radisson SAS.
Now the roomrate. In our room an announcement was attached to the wall that First hotels celebrated their 15 year anniversary and that this summer you could sleep for NK 295 per person, children free. This would mean NK 590 for the room, wheras we had a reservation for NK 1140 with Fjord Pass discount.
Asking about this special offer, the reception told us that this offer did not apply when the hotel was fully booked and that we already had a very attractive offer, being the normal rate NK 1700 or so!! I did not accept this explanation since a guest never can check whether the hotel is fully booked or not, so when does the offer really apply. The assistant clearly felt the problem and in the end we got an extra discount of NK 200 per night, making the rate NK 940 per night.
This experience proves another time that one has to check carefully any special offers (Fjord Pass, RICA Holliday Pass and other hotelspecials) in order not to pay too much in this expensive country.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tureluur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Agree with the earlier reviews about the hotel being hot and noisy. We had a room on the 7th floor in the front of the hotel and had to open the windows for fresh air since the hotel had no air conditioning. But the noise from the street traffic and trams running right by the hotel until all hours of the night made it impossible to sleep. Cleanliness and location were good, but the beware the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pearl_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Good location was chosen due to the reports on Trip Advisor, clean and very friendly staff - I have to agree that the hotel is HOT without any air conditioning which was a downer and the noise at the front of the hotel makes it difficult to sleep with revellers and traps all hours of the night - my advise is to ask for a back room - hotel staff very friendly and obliging and breakfast is delicious - very good location for all amenties - good choice for price

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank margaret96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Just returned from our trip to this hotel and felt I needed to warn others that this hotel is "hot", as in airless and noisy in the summer. The temperature was in the high 20s, this past weekend and as there is no air conditioning or fans available within the hotel, only option was to shut curtains and open windows. Unfortunately this made it noisy as the hotel is on a one way street with 3 trams operating (12,13 &19) and numerous buses until after midnight which start in the early morning. I was glad to come home for a rest!

I would agree with a previous reviewer for the price of this hotel I was expecting more but everything in Norway is expensive so be warned. Make the most of the buffet breakfast! Also another reviewer said she got a free upgrade to the top floor, there are 7 floors we were on 4 and it was noisy so take the advice ask for a top floor room.

Would recommend checking out the info on Visit Oslo.com and getting an Oslo pass this lets you on all the buses and trams as well as the ferry to the island or the Oslo fjord prawn lunch cruise (free with the 72hr pass). It also allows you free entry to most of the museums, the open air swimming pool at Frogner Park, which we visited would recommed you visit if you are in Oslo in the summer (with or without kids) take the time out of the sight-seeing to go we had great fun.

Despite these comments we (husband, five year old son and I) had a great time as the weather was so unexpectantly warm.

We will go back only would reconsider the First Hotel Millennium if the weather was cooler as the location was excellent for the public transport network and access to the sights.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#44 of 102 in Oslo
715 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#30 of 102 in Oslo
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Millennium

Address: Tollbugata 25, Oslo 0157, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $115 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning First Hotel Millennium is 200 metres from the main shopping street, Karl Johans gate and 700 metres from Oslo Central Station. The hotel was completely renovated in 2011.Hotel Millennium is situated in a building from the 1930s, and offers warm and inviting guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and private bathrooms with a bathtub. The top-floor suites have large terraces.The in-house restaurant, Bocca, serves pizza, pasta and a variety of snacks and light dishes. A buffet breakfast is served every morning.One of Norway's best hotels, First Hotel Millennium won a World Travel Award in 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing