We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, noisy streetside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Millennium
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location, noisy streetside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here during a 2 day stay in Oslo. The hotel is cozy and centrally located steps away from the pedestrian zone. Check in was smooth. Staff was very helpful and friendly with stellar English. We stayed in room 608. Wi-Fi was continuously being dropped by every electronic device I used. I did not hear either neighbor, the rooms were so quite. Our room was adequate with extra pillows and a coffee maker. Bathroom was well supplied. I was amazed at how fast hot water was made available, almost instantly. Unfortunately, the pipe under the shower leaks terribly nearly flooding the bathroom. The bedding was very comfortable as well. The hotel’s bar staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast buffet was adequate with fruit, bacon, cereals, fresh breads, and “powdered” scrambled eggs. However, it is so crowded we actually had to return at a later time as there was simply nowhere to sit.

There is no AC. The safety windows only crack open. With the windows open all night I heard the tram roll through routinely along with “open mic” night across the street. I was exhausted so I slept anyway; however if I had been on a casual trip I would have been annoyed or asked for a room not facing the street. Regardless, I would consider staying here again due to location, service, but would get a room not on the street or wait until it is cooler and do not need to open a window.

Room Tip: Stay away from the streetside if you need to open a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear mkennedy38,

Thank you for commenting on your stay,

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Johan Appelgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    340
    235
    86
    45
See reviews for
156
252
79
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Oslo is incredibly expensive so we were very pleased to find this hotel at at reasonable price (£210 for 3 nights on booking.com).
It is ideally located for exploring Oslo as it is right in the centre about 10 mins from the main train station.
We were a little concerned after reading other reviews as there seemed to be a big problem with the lifts, but on our 3 night stay we never experienced any problems at all.
Breakfast was the usual and good although rather crowded as the room was a strange layout.
Free coffee is available in the reception area all day.
The only issue we had was it was 2 single beds pushed together which kept separating during the night.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard which meant it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokangas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Gokangas09,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay! It is good to see that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

Hope to see you again!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location to everything, parks, city hall, train station 10 min walk, Johans Gate, etc. Good price. Room small and fairly non descript. Bathroom very nice, bathtub, big and even has electric towel bar/dryer.
It was very hot, and no air conditioning! Trying to sleep with window open was not good due to traffic noise right below, plus light coming in early in morning. Unfortunately price is irrelevant if you cannot get a good night's sleep. We travel a lot, generally sleep well, this was not possible. I used earplugs and face mask and made out far better than my husband did without them.
Breakfast was abundant & very good, check in quick, atmosphere of staff average. Coffee and water in lobby was a nice touch.
The Park Inn by Radisson across the street will be our choice for future stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear KFCCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, but it is sad that we did not meet your expectations in total.

Regards

Johan Appelgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and several parallel streets away from the route of Flybussen (airport bus). This made it quite convenient to get to by public transport.

I have a funny story. I had 1 objective when I arrived in Oslo - to see 'The Scream' at the National Gallery. My plane landed on Sunday at 3pm (museum would be closed on Monday, so Sunday was my only chance). I miraculously caught the 3:20pm Flybussen bus. We reached Oslo city centre by 4pm. The driver was kind enough to let me off before the actual bus-stop so that I was nearer to my hotel and could 'run' to it. Believe it or not, I reached the hotel, checked in, dumped my luggage and was out by 4:15pm. Prompt service at the check-in indeed. Bravo! (Thank goodness, I was not behind a tour group, if I may add.) I managed to reach the National Gallery by 4:30pm and had a grand total of 20 mins in the museum (free admission anyway) before it closes at 4:50pm. Yes, I met my objective!

Room was suitably sized, and I love the bed which was very comfortable. My bathroom was also immense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aycanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Aycanela,

Thank you for the review!

Glad to see that you hade a good time at our hotel and in Oslo.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel with my mother for our annual city break. We purposefully chose a budget hotel which wasn't so budget that we had no amenities, but would be a comfortable and clean place to come back to at the end of the day. With this in mind, my review is based on our expectations of such a hotel.

We stayed Monday through Thursday during July (peak time).

Positives:

- Excellent location; 2 streets from Oslo central train station (5 minute walk). No need for a taxi if you haven't too much luggage.
- Ideally located to explore the city by foot.
- Clean, basic room providing a comfortable bed, desk and chair.
- Good sized bathroom (clearly we didn't have the rooms other reviewers have described with tiny bathrooms, ours was a very good size)
- Price appropriate. Oslo is expensive as you would expect in a city, but this hotel is one of the more affordable and the price reflects the service.


Negatives:

- Breakfast. I can see others have commented on this and unfortunately what they say is true. Despite there being a good selection to choose from, the whole system doesn't work. Food is laid out all around the room with everyone pushing to get to the bits they want, and the table situation is ridiculous. Far too many people attempting to have breakfast at the same time resulting in mad table dashing and some people being forced to eat standing up. They need a basic seating system like any other restaurant: one in = one out.


Overall:

We had a lovely stay in Oslo and the hotel perfectly suited our requirements as somewhere to sleep and get changed, before spending the whole day out and about. We weren't seeking luxury in our accommodation and we didn't get it. But what we did get was a clean, and comfortable room in an excellent location to explore from. I don't know what the UK rating is meant to be but we would give this 2 - 3 stars. If you know this in advance then you won't be disappointed.

Would we stay again? Yes...... if they sort out the breakfast madness.

Room Tip: We were in room 208 which had a decent sized bathroom and twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear oceanangel26,

Thank you for this informative review, it is very valuable for us.

It is nice to see that you liked so many aspects of the hotel!

We are constantly trying to improve our breakfast, and hope to offer a whole new standard if you return to us in the future.

Regards

Johan Appelgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is centrally located to explore what Oslo has to offer. However, the staff are slow, the breakfast is awful and the rooms are pretty dull!
One thing that always sticks out in my mind, is the lack of room to actually sit down on the toilet... unless you're able to sit on a toilet with legs behind your head, this isn't the place for you! Very uncomfortable!

Room Tip: Get a room with space around the toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexytonyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sexytonyboy84,

Thank you for the review.

I am sorry that your stay did not reach expectations, and your comments will be looked into.

Regards

Johan Appelgren
First Hotel Millennium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not the greatest hotel you will ever stay in... but adequate in every way.
Rooms a decent size for a major city. Beds comfortable.
The gents on reception were very helpful. Wi Fi throughout the hotel.
It is in a great location for a stroll to the harbour and main shopping streets.
The only downside was the breakfast bunfight - literally!
Leave your seats and you join a Norweigan game of musical chairs. More guests than seats and food.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early and sharpen your elbows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan A, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Djelf,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

It is nice to see that you received good service from our staff!

True, at times our breakfast can be busy, and I am sorry for the inconvenience.

I hope we get to welcome you back!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Millennium

Property: First Hotel Millennium
Address: Tollbugata 25, Oslo 0157, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning First Hotel Millennium is 200 metres from the main shopping street, Karl Johans gate and 700 metres from Oslo Central Station. The hotel was completely renovated in 2011.Hotel Millennium is situated in a building from the 1930s, and offers warm and inviting guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and private bathrooms with a bathtub. The top-floor suites have large terraces.The in-house restaurant, Bocca, serves pizza, pasta and a variety of snacks and light dishes. A buffet breakfast is served every morning.One of Norway's best hotels, First Hotel Millennium won a World Travel Award in 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing