We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough, but not quite first.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Millennium
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Kuopio, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good enough, but not quite first.”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here over a weekend (Fri to Sun) in January with my friends. I had quite high expectiations since it said on their website that the hotel has been refurbished last year.

The rooms are good enough and they were cleaned well. The beds are VERY comfortable, there is a large flat screen TV and the standard is otherwise good. We did had a few letdowns though: Our first room had a leaking bathroom sink and an air condition that one could not adjust as the button was broken. When we arrived, it was very warm but next morning I woke up freezing and with a sore throat. Luckily these were fixed when we got an other room the next day. They say the hotel is refurbished, but I am not so sure if that has included the bathrooms. Our first room had a piece of the toilet seat missing + rusty marks on the floor and the second room featured some broken bathroom tiles with holes.

What really made me annoyed during the stay was that I had some laundry that urgently needed cleaning and I was planning on using the hotel's laundry service. However, there was no laundry bag to be seen in the room and neither was laundry service mentioned in the hotel guide (which by the way had quite limited information about the hotel itself, but much more about the sights in the city.) so I assumed this service was not offered. I was quite unhappy to find a laundry bag and an information sheet in the new room we got on Saturday.

What also surprised me was the low level of service provided by some of the staff. At the end of our stay, when I requested a receipt, I was told that they could not possibly print one and that I should print my booking confirmation I got to my e-mail. I was also told that I would not be able to collect miles on my airline frequent flier program. The girl at the reception had never even heard about the program. I later checked this with my airline and they confirmed that I should have got the miles from the hotel.

To finish with something positive, I have to say that the bakfast was very good. Tere was a good selection of different items and even a possibility to make some fresh waffles yourself!

All in all, I would say First Hotel Millenium is an alright place to stay in Oslo with a good location. Would have given the hotel much better points had the service not been such a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the backyard to avoid the noise of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear LauriHei,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, our guests opinions are an essential part of our work to imrove.

I am pleased to see that you liked our rooms and our breakfast. It is true that except from new showers the bath rooms have not been refurbished since they are in general in good shape.

With regards to your bill, since you booked and paid through an online travel agency we cannot give you an receipt for the payment. In the future, if you for example book through our web site or directly at the hotel we can provide you a receipt.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    354
    250
    92
    48
See reviews for
164
269
83
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murrumbateman, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at the First Millenium Hotel Oslo and found that the room security did not prevent our computer being stolen while we were out for dinner despite the fact that the door was locked when we left. The hotel management took no responsibility for the theft and told us to claim on our insurence. We do not recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make certain that the in room telephone works should you decide to stay, ours didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Sir,

I am sorry this is the impression you got on your trip to Oslo. When it comes to hotel security, I guarantee you that this is something that is top of the list for us. That is why we have camera surveillance, and electronic locks that register every entry to our doors. As you are aware, in your case your own room key was the only one that had been used during your stay. Due to the lack of any evidence of a theft we had no possibility to compensate you with a new computer, and therefore we suggested your travel insurance.

If your feeling is that we did not take this seriously then I apologise, We always strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations, but clearly we have failed to do that this time.

Regards

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Walking distance to train station and there's a bus stop in front.

Close to shops and restaurants.

Allows 5 people in family room...rare in Europe!

Breakfast Buffet was included...take advantage of that. We've traveled all over yet were still surprised at Norway's fine dining prices for basic food.

Good clean place for your money (in Norway).

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expat_London_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind comments! I do hope we get to see you again at First Hotel Millennium!

Regards,

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

First Millennium hotel Oslo is centarlly lacated, about 10 minutes walking distance to Central Station. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful; the rooms are partly small, but clean and offer all amenities you need for a short stay. Reportedly they got some cozy and more spacious deluxe rooms.
Breakfast was included in our price and was excellent. Free coffe provided at the reception.
Oslo's to-sites can be reached by foot in few minutes (Akerhus, Castle, City Centre, Opera...)
If you wanna get around and visit museums and Holmekollen jump stadium, Oslo Pass is highly recommended and available at the reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, it pleases me to see that you enjoyed your stay!!

I hope to see you soon again at First Hotel Millennium!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Location is Good, many attractions are within walking distance. Staff was GREAT and Friendly and Helpful! Its not cheap, but this is Norway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay!

I appreciate the kind words about our staff, I will make sure to pass it on!

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY CITY, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in early September, and were well pleased.
The location is ideal - convenient to all transport and sites of interest.
The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the tall girl who gave us the loan of an umbrella on a a wet evening.

The room was perfectly adequate for our needs - clean, comfortable, quiet and very warm. We certainly did not experience any street noise. I would have liked tea-making facilities, but hey, there is complimentary tea and coffee in the reception area.

The breakfast is fabulous - caters to all tastes. But I do agree with a previous reviewer who had an early start. The lady on duty at the 6.30 shift is a real grump.

The WiFi was a real bonus. We were able to research must-see places in Oslo.

All in all I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslotraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. It pleases me to see that you enjoyed your stay! I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff members.

I do hope we get to welcome you back in the future!

Regards

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I booked a room here for the wireless wifi and booked a room with a queen size bed. The wifi was down and I got a room with two single beds put together as a queen sized bed. The restaurant, Bocca served a really nice Italian pizza, so a plus for that.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanApp, General Manager at First Hotel Millennium, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Mary,

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay. It is of course very unfortunate that our wifi was down that day, normally we experience very few issues with our wifi. Regarding the bedding, we do have several queen size beds, so clearly we have given you the wrong room. I do apologise for this.

It pleases me that you were happy with our restaurant, Bocca. Your kind comment will be passed on to chef Carlo and his team.

Regards

Johan Appelgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Scandic Victoria
#32 of 101 in Oslo
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#38 of 101 in Oslo
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Millennium

Property: First Hotel Millennium
Address: Tollbugata 25, Oslo 0157, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning First Hotel Millennium is 200 metres from the main shopping street, Karl Johans gate and 700 metres from Oslo Central Station. The hotel was completely renovated in 2011.Hotel Millennium is situated in a building from the 1930s, and offers warm and inviting guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and private bathrooms with a bathtub. The top-floor suites have large terraces.The in-house restaurant, Bocca, serves pizza, pasta and a variety of snacks and light dishes. A buffet breakfast is served every morning.One of Norway's best hotels, First Hotel Millennium won a World Travel Award in 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing