We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place where you feel welcome”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Very nice hotel, with comfortable, organic rooms which are very nicely decorated. Superb staff who made us feel at home in the North!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    196
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
74
199
37
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2011

100% biological and organic, for people who appreciate and care about our Planet. Great hotel, very cosy and cool design. Best hotel breakfast I ever had, everything so natural and healthy. I really loved the design of the room and lobby, free wifi, and iMac in room. Bed was very comfortable and blankets soft and very warm.Walking distance from the city center, reception 24 hours. Hotel is in the quite area so good for relax. Helpful and kind staff. Free organic shampoo, conditioner and body lotion to use in your shower. Bathroom in your room for your use. Wooden floors. I enjoyed, thank you Guldsmeden!
Only one thing I was a little disappointed about : spa in the hotel, it's free to use, but seemed like they didn't really care about it, steam room was always without a steam, finish sauna was damn cold when we walked in, and than had to call a girl from reception to turn it on, but the same thing happened on the next day also. And they advertise they give you flip-flops to use, so I didn't bring mine, and there were no flip flops, so I had to walk from my room to the spa barefoot. So really hope this can be improved!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

They are obviously trying to make this place something out of the ordinary, and they succeed because it's certainly a strange hotel. You are stuck with the feeling that this hotel is a result of some womans second mid-life crisis, the first being opening a soap shop.

I could probably ignore the strangeness of the hotell if I felt comfortable, but I really did not. Our room was really tiny with poor ventilation. The walls must seriously be paper thin because you could probably whisper through them. The bathroom probably had some issues with ventilation too, and the ecologic towells are probably made of the same material as the walls. Like drying of with a newspaper.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IllTellYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel for two Nights and it offers everything needed for a business traveler with a moderate budget. Great organic breakfast, clean and nice rooms, excellent service and of course the Mac just on the wall, waiting to be used. I can really recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Me and my boyfriend visited Oslo for a long weekend and we were so happy with the hotel choice. The hotel is located around a 20-30 minute walk from Oslo Central Station and is in a residential area. The Royal Palace and its surrounding gardens and the beautiful harbor of Aker Brygge (full of shops, bars and restaurants) is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel itself is one the nicest I have ever stayed in, its welcoming and cosy - the perfect retreat for a relaxing weekend away! The interior is beautifully designed throughout and the spa was an extra bonus (comprises of two saunas, a steam room, relaxation area and turkish bath).

Before I booked the hotel I read quite a lot of reviews saying that the rooms size was very small - I completely disagree. My boyfriend and I shared a standard double room and it was perfect in size. The bed was so comfortable too and was great to have the imac in the room.

The only negative feedback was that it was slightly noisy. The first night we could hear the people talking in the room above and the next night, there was shouting and music coming from the surrounding apartments. This was slightly annoying but it certainly wouldn't put me off visiting again as everything else was so perfect.

To top it off the service was excellent, very friendly staff always going out of their way to ensure you have everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola86London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travelled to Oslo for the weekend with my 2 year old son, to stay with my husband at this hotel as he was there already for work. He had stayed many times at a Guldsmeden hotel in Copenhagen, so chose to stay at this hotel in Oslo as he had always appreciated what you get for the money with them, and that they weren't your standard, no character, business hotel. And I couldn't agree more.

Oslo is not a cheap city, and I think this hotel offers excellent value for money. It has lots of nice design features. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's in a great location - very easy to get the airport express train to a stop 5 mins walk away, and easy walking distance to downtown Oslo. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. The area in the lobby by the fire is really comfortable and cosy.

The downsides I found were that the rooms are small (although for the price fair enough), the bathroom was very small, and the shower was badly designed so the bathroom floor gets very wet when you shower.

The hotel doesn't have a bar or restaurant, although you can buy soft drinks (organic naturally) and snacks and sit by the fire in the lobby. I didn't use the spa area, so can't comment on that.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors at the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had such a good time there. The place is cosy, well organized, service is perfect, very "boutique" hotel. breakfast is excellent. Rooms are small but cute and well decorated... perfect place for a oslo short trip !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#10 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Priceline so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing