We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room and breakfast”
Review of Thon Hotel Munch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Munch
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed with 2 firends last weekend to visit the city. It was definitely the best place we could get to stay as it wasn't expensive at all. First of all, the hotel have friendly staff which it's really grateful and makes one feel comfortable during his stay. Secondly the room we've got was on the 9th floor with an average terrace where we found a table and 3 chairs to sit and drink a cup of tea whilst watching the city. Furthermore we've got the breakfast included and as it was a buffet, you could find any sort of food to choose with and get ready for the day. Nevertheless the location of the hotel is excellent, only 5 mins walk to Karl Johans Gate and 15mins walk to the Train Station. Also there's an underground close to it, which makes it easy to move through the city. My friends and I are really pleased to say we've got an excellent experience visiting Oslo, also we'll certainly stay in the same hotel if we come back some time.

Room Tip: 9th floor got nice terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and easily reachable by foot from the National Theatre station (if coming from the airport). Staff is very nice and helpful, we bought the Oslo pass from there and would have purchased wine as well if had noticed on time that it was possible. The room was simple, compact and clean, and there was a nice view over the rooftops. No noise from the corridor or streets. Breakfast is plentiful and good. There's also a coffee machine in the lobby where you can get coffee, tea or hot chocolate 24/7 for free. Possibility to leave luggage at the luggage room. Definitely good value for your money, I'd recommend if you're looking for something simple where to recharge yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I look for "relatively" inexpensive hotels a bit off the beaten path from which to explore new cities. The Thon Hotel Munch fit the bill. The hotel was located within walking distance from both the city center and (even more so) public transportation. The room was clean and big enough for two. We really enjoyed the enclosed shower as many of our stops through Norway had a simple curtain (or nothing) separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious with a very good range of options. The staff was helpful with information and fixed a "to go" breakfast as we had to depart early on our last day. Overall, a very good experience!

1  Thank GMBPtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is in 5 min walk from the main street of the city, all of the attractions are very close. The rooms are very clean, everything is new. Very helpful staff, very good rich breakfast. The shop 7/11 is just next to the hotel, also there are few supermarkets and restaurants around. Really, no complaints!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84Felice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

10 min walk to main street Karl Johan. Restaurants and food-store very near. Top staff, they are very helpful and clever, and they speak several languages. Much more than adequate breakfast for a budget-hotel. After having "googled" the hotel before arrival, I asked for a room with a view at check-in. I had seen pictures from such a room. They gave me room 901, which has a large balcony and a very nice view over Oslo. I loved it.

Room Tip: Room 901 has a nice balcony and a excellent view over rooftops and to Trefoldighetskirken
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel.. crowded and limited breakfast ... coffee was sad. hotel had bad internet wifi.. located quite centrally... next to a expensive car park that costs 240 NOK per day.. parked car in any many public parking that is free from 20-8 in the morning. best option when you dont want ot pay an arm and a leg. THIS means that this hotel has no parking of their own. but they give 20 % discount for using the expensive car park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goutam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel is 5 minutes walk to Karl Johan street - very central but quiet . The rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfasts had plenty of choice and set you up for the day!!! Would recommend it to visitors to Oslo as a good central base. The staff were courteous and polite and always willing to help.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#58 of 102 in Oslo
1,033 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Munch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Munch

Address: Munchs gate 5, Oslo 0165, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow Munch)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oslo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $100 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Munch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Munch is an attractive bed and breakfast style hotel conveniently located in central Oslo. The hotel is hidden away on a peaceful, quiet side street, but is just a stone’s throw away from the district courthouse and Hotel Bristol. Steps away from everything you need – from shops and restaurants to theatres and public transport. Sentrum parking garage is right next door to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Munch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing