We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Munch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Munch
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend had planned a wonderfull weekend in oslo to see Russel Peters the 27.04.2013.
All in all the weekend went as planned, it was awesome.
The only thing bringing it down was the poor service provided by Thon Hotel Munch.

The first issue came up when we entered the hotel room , there was a used raggedy sock left from previuos habitants of the room which i found the first 2 min when entering the room but somehow the cleaning crew missed.... Needless to say it was disqusting.
I went down to the lobby just to inform the reception of this where i said;

* excuse me sir? The room we just got (409) had an old leftover sock in it.

The guy behind the counter responded;

* Did YOU take care of it?


Off course i said no and he said he will send someone up to clean it up.

After that me and my girlfriend went out shopping, when we came back to the hotel room the sock had been removed.
We went on with getting ready for a night out and went to the bathroom were we tried the sink for the first time.
It was clottered up!

So i went down to the reception and retold the whole story from start about the sock and the clottered sink.
Lady behind the counter was kind and offered a new room since she was alone and couldnt help with plumbing.

We quickly changed room , and off course in this room there was missing showersoap!

So i went down AGAIN and retold the whole story AGAIN and the lady behind the counter gave me a refill bottle for the showersoap.

Is it my job to refill that since it was given directly to me?
Is it to much to expect that i as a paying customer dont have to worry about these kind of things?

We know what we paid for, it is a budget hotel but to be honest i thought things like:

Clean room ( no leftovers from previuos habitants)
Working bathroom sink
Soap for showering

Was pretty standard




Regard

Faiz Malik

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Faizmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Munch, General Manager at Thon Hotel Munch, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Malik,

Thank you for your review about your last stay. We are sorry that we could not satisfy your needs this time. We had a fully booked hotel for several days due major happenings in Oslo, therefor there have been some human errors in the housekeeping department. This we will bring up within our department and go through our routines before we sell our rooms again.

I appreciated our phone conversation earlier this week and I am looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best regards

Tamas Csorba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    418
    178
    21
    8
See reviews for
124
291
127
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

For me a good choice when coming to Oslo. The price is low - for Norway - and the hotel is centrally located, clean and recently renovated. The breakfast is ample. You would go out for other meals, anyway. Rooms are small and basic, but all have wireless, free internet connection as well as a flat-screen TV. A coffee machine in the lobby is for free use. To access the lifts one must use the room card - a security measure. On exiting the room the door must be locked with the key card also. There is not too much traffic in the adjoining streets. Oslo city centre is five minutes' walk from the hotel. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stranats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Munch, General Manager at Thon Hotel Munch, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at Thon Hotel Munch again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Thon Munch Hotel in Oslo, Norway for 4 nights in mid April 2013. I selected the hotel mainly due to cost and location. The Thon Munch Hotel, as described by others, is a budget hotel There no frills and no extras here.

The Pros: Hotel inside is clean; the rooms are decent size; tasty and filling breakfast; easy walk to most attractions in the center of Oslo (only took me 10 minutes to walk from the hotel to city hall and the harbor area); comfortable beds, and my favorite was the large LCD HD TV in the room.

The Cons: Slow wi-fi connection (but it is free); no drawers for cloths or at desk for storage; the area right in front of the hotel looks very shabby and run down (as mentioned in other ratings).

I realize the Hotel cannot do anything about the property across the street from them, so the appearance may put people off from staying here. It looks ugly and if I was a single woman I might have worried about venturing out of the hotel at night. But I did not see anything going on across the street (crime related).

It is an easy walk to almost everywhere. There is a Tram stop diagonally from the hotel and up and down a flight of stairs (2-4 min walk). There is a convenience store on the route halfway to the tram. There is a 7-11 to the left of the hotel and at the end of the road. There is a Chinese Restaurant on the side of the hotel (did not try it so can't say if it is good). There are a few other restaurants in the immediate area and the main street "Karl Johans Gate" is a matter of a 5-10 minute walk where you can find Irish Pubs, the Hard Rock Cafe and TGiFriday's as well as many others.

The staff were friendly and helpful during my 4 night stay.

If you are looking for a budget hotel close to the center attractions of Oslo, and are not put off by the immediate view across from the hotel...then this is the place for you. I would have no questions or concerns about staying here again.

Enjoy Oslo!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 506. It was quiet and some what away from what I would consider the main road by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Munch, General Manager at Thon Hotel Munch, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your review for your last stay at Thon Hotel Munch.

We are thankful for your positive remarks and these are our key values. Clean rooms, good breakfast and top service.

When it comes to WIFI Connection, we are working on an Upgrade together With our partner Telenor so the Wi-Fi will be more stabile and a bit faster. However you can upgrade the Wi-Fi as well for a smaller amount so you can easily download or stream movies.
The looks of the houses across the street are not the best, and unfortunately it is not in our hands to improve it either. However this area is one of the safest areas in Oslo since it is in a quiet street and the Courthouses and the new headquarter for Ministry of Health and Care Services are just across the streets With guards and 24/7 tv monitoring. This is definitely one of the safest Places to be when you stay in Oslo.

We would like to thank you again for your review and hope we can welcome you once again at Thon Hotel Munch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

It is worth noting that this is a Budget Thon Hotel. The block of flats opposite the entrance is shabby, with some graffiti which is rather off-putting. Other than that, the location is good - only a short walk to the main sights and quiet at night. When we arrived there was no-one in Reception and it took several minutes and some dancing in front of the CCTV camera before someone arrived. Our first room was a problem as the radiator was stuck on full. The next room was fine; the bed was very comfortable. Most of the rooms seem to have been refurbished; they are clean and bright but small, with no storage. There is one small open-front wardrobe and a short pole for hanging coats on, but no drawers or shelves other than the top and bottom of the wardrobe. The shower room was clean with wall-mounted soap dispensers and a tiny basin. The wood laminate flooring fits with the modern decor and is easy to keep clean, but the lack of carpet means that noise is not muffled, so you can hear items being dropped and chairs being dragged across the floor in surrounding rooms; these noises echo and the walls do not seem to be too thick, as we could hear the man in the next room coughing. I would imagine that when the hotel is full, it will get noisy - bring ear plugs! The breakfast room is large and airy and the buffet is pretty good. The only problem was that there were a number of workmen employed in the refurbishment who were having breakfast in the hotel. Consequently, some of the hot food, especially the scrambled eggs, disappeared at a great rate, leaving none for hotel guests by the time it got to about 08:30. As breakfast did not end until 10:00, I would have expected them to replenish these items, but that was not the case. There was free Wi-fi in the hotel and free tea and coffee in reception. Overall and compared to other hotels in the area, relatively good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A very cute hotel.
When we were there (January 19th 2013) the place was in renovation which caused some nusance but nothing serious.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with all the requests we had.
The new dinning room just opened and it is very large. Breakfast was very good and diverse.
The rooms are small and quite basic but clean and comfortable.
All around good value hotel with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linis_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been so well treated in our stay. The staff was very, very kind and helpful. The room was nice, very clean and with a huge flat screen tv. The breakfast was excelent, great variety.
The hotel is very well located, near the centre, in a quiet street. Everything was perfect.
If you come from Oslo S (central station) you can walk to hotel (about 15min.) just following the main street (Karl Johans Gate) and then turning right at Rosenkrantz gate.
Great value for money in Oslo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heimdal, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The price was very low in therms of Norgwegian standard. Very nice personal and great service. The rooms are very fresh and even the small rooms got nice flat screen tv's. It was hard to find the first time, I think the address is showing wrong street, but when you know where it is its okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#21 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#59 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Munch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Munch

Property: Thon Hotel Munch
Address: Munchs gate 5, Oslo 0165, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow Munch)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oslo
#10 Business Hotel in Oslo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Munch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Munch is a bed and breakfast hotel, located in a calm side street in the middle of Oslo city centre. The immediate vicinity offers everything you need, such as shopping, restaurants, theatres and public transport. Food and drink at the hotel In our newly renovated breakfast area we serve a healthy and varied breakfast buffet every day. The buffet contains fresh fruit, organic products and a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but you can buy beer, wine and snacks in the reception. There are several restaurants nearby the hotel, and our receptionists can help recommend a restaurant for you. Internet Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel. Activities and other things to do at the hotel: The hotel's central location in Oslo city centre makes it a perfect starting point for shopping, restaurant visits and nightlife in Oslo. Famous attractions such as the Royal Palace, the National Theatre, the Norwegian Opera, Aker Brygge and Akershus Fort are within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel's vicinity to public transport makes it easy to travel to all parts of Oslo City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Munch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing