We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Gyldenlove
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had the unpleasent experience at staying two nights at the hotel. The room had less that 1 m2 of free space. Sink was placed beside the bed. No aircon, so room was like 30 C during nights. Could not regulate heat in bathroom, so full heat here. But the total area was like a phonebox. Will never stay in this hotel again if I can avoid this!!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve! We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, due to the room size, bathroom solution and temperature. That is a pity.
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve has three types of single rooms - small single room, standard single room and standard queen room. From your description it seems that you stayed in a “small single room”. We suggest for a possible next stay to choose a standard room type or an upgraded room type for your personal convenience.
Concerning the room interior so has Thon Hotel Gyldenløve chosen a solution were the sink is parted from the bathroom by a frosted glass wall to create a modern atmosphere as well as light in the room. It is a pity that you did not like this solution.
Regarding the room temperature so was last week especially warm for Oslo, with temperatures up to 30 degrees in the shadow. We understand that this was uncomfortable but hope for your understanding as Oslo normally does not have this kind of climate. However, our hotel has had the ventilation running 24hours on 18 to 19 degrees warmth into the rooms and the heating of each bathroom can be adjusted as well as turned off by each guest individually. We are sorry that you felt that those means were not enough, just last week.
We hope you reevaluate your opinion about Thon Hotel Gyldenløve and would be happy to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 424 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a good choice of a fairly basic business hotel, situated in a central part of Oslo. It is located on a busy shopping street, and there is a street car that runs frequently out front. I stayed here for 4 nights and had no complaints. I was given a room at the back of the buildlng with a view of other buildings. The room was not huge, but completely adequate. Bathroom was small and basically a combined toilet and shower area. The staff were friendly and helpful when it came to ordering taxis or making restaurant reservations. The best part of the stay was the breakfasts, which were quite impressive in terms of offering almost anything that you might want to eat. Although it was clear when you went to breakfast that the hotel was catering to a fairly sizeable number of business travelers, the floors were quiet and peaceful. Would recommend as a basic hotel for business travelers whose work necessitated them being in this part of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve with us and others! We are very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed especially the breakfast buffet "offering almost anything that you might want to eat". The whole team thanks for your review and wishes you welcome back at a new occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is situated in the middle of the best shopping street i Oslo. The hotel it self is ok, but the rooms are quite small and we could hear every time some opened a door and when people walked in the hallway. The breakfast is good. Would use the hotel again if going to oslo for shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kailarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Hei Kai, thank you for taking the time to share your evaluation of Thon Hotel Gyldenløve with us and others! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again for a new shopping tour in Bogstadveien!
Our tipp: remember Saturday 13th September 2012 - than it is again "Bilfri Markedsdag i Bogstadveien" (traffic free Shopping day in Bogstadveien) with a lot of very good offers for cloth from almost every store in the street! Welcome to Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

But not much more. Rooms were small, streetcar just outside, otherwise OK

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at Thon Hotel Glydenløve. We are happy to see that you had a nice wekkend at our hotel. Regarding your preference for a bigger room that may not face towards the shopping street "Bogstadveien" so is that perfecly possible. Our hotel does have two types of upgraded rooms facing a quiet side street and almost all our 64 standard double rooms are facing towards a quiet back yard. We hope those choices may be of your convenience and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The rooms are small, but not bad considering the price of rooms in Oslo. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and the breakfast was good. I was able to walk everywhere I needed to go.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments. We hope you will find time to stay with us again! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Hotel Gyldenløve is part of the Thon Hotels that vary quite a lot. This particular one is good if you have business in this part of town (not many hotels in that area). However, very small rooms with an akward decoration (the wash-fosset is located outside of the bathroom....?).

Thon has tried to make a basic Business Light hotel with no frills - this is fair enough if the basics were ok and were in mint condition and clean - they are not. Secondly then the rates should reflect this - which they don't! You can find much nicer hotels at the same price all over the city.

Biggest minus for me personally are the single beds, which are very small and very uncomfortable - my back is not build for this kind of discount bed.

Breakfast is ok - above par.
Service is ok - efficient.

Other than that not much to highlight for this hotel - very basic, very standard. Much better choices elsewhere at same rates.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steenvagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve! We are happy to see that the location of our hotel in the west of Oslo suited your purposes. However, it is a pity that you felt the facilities were "very basic, very standard" and did not meet your expectations. Thon Hotel Gyldenløve is ment to be a urban hotel decorated in minimalistic, Skandinavian design that offers a comfortable stay in Oslo. We are pleased that both the breakfast and the service of our staff did meet your expectations and would be happy to be able to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you like living very closeby the citycenter this is'nt the hotel for you. But, it's only a 10-15 minutes walk downtown, abit stressfull when you've been out.

Its a designhotel and its very sweet! I reccomend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a silent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stein J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne P, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Stein, thank you for taking the time to share your review on Thon Hotel Gyldenløve with us and other travellers! We are happy to see that you had a nice stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
877 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#40 of 102 in Oslo
538 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Munch
#24 of 102 in Oslo
1,040 reviews
Quality Hotel 33
#47 of 102 in Oslo
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Gyldenlove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Gyldenlove

Address: Bogstadveien 20, Oslo 0355, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $127 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Gyldenlove 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve is a modern design hotel, located in one of Oslo’s best shopping streets “Bogstadveien”. The 164 rooms are furnished in Scandinavian, minimalistic stile and comfortably quipped with a modern bathroom solution. With short distance to tourist sights like the Vigelands Sculpture Park, the Royal Palace or Karl Johans gate and business centers like „Majorstuen“, „Forskningsparken“ and „Blindern“ the hotel suites business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary w-lan is available throughout the whole hotel. A rich breakfast buffet is served in the mornings, every week-end until 12:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Gyldenlove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing