We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel located in office area”
Review of Scandic Sjolyst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Sjolyst
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good hotel located within walking distance to offices in the area.
Some of the rooms have been upgraded to a modern standard (possibly only the ones facing towards the main street??). These have a modern bed, chairs, TV, desk, etc. The bathrooms however are the same in the modern and old rooms.
Note that shops and restaurants in the area close early, so be sure to check this before assuming that you can get a late night meal.

The bar is an excellent place to relax and get some work done with the free wi-fi which is offered at the hotel. Both alcohol and food at the bar are priced over the top (around 90 kr. for a half litre).

Breakfast is good and there is all the usual stuff like bacon, eggs, grilled tomatoes, juices, cereals, meats, sausages, breads and more.

Rooms are also quite pricey but nothing more than what you'd expect to pay in Norway

Room Tip: Remember to ask for one of the modern rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieabroad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about Scandic Sjølyst. We are happy to hear you found our lobby area to be a nice area to enjoy something to drink whilst doing some work. We also take pride in offering a good breakfast so happy to hear you found a good selection.

As for the rooms, not only the rooms facing the main street is refurbished, but all the floors apart from two. We have a totalt of eight floors. Bathrooms in the eight floor is refurbished to a newer standard. These are mainly our superior rooms that can be booked with additional services such as bathrobe, face products in the bathroom, tea and coffee at your disposal and a 50,- voucher to use in the shop or restaurant. These rooms can be booked if additional services is wanted.

Thank you and hope to see you back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Scandic Sjølyst
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Sjolyst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 471 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel looks quite fine and the rooms are decent (although the bathroom had a part of a tile missing...). But if you're unlucky, you get a room faced towards the E18 (highway). The trucks could easily be heard from my room due to bad window isolation, which made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanNL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your response here on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you liked our rooms.
I wish to applogise that you had troubles sleeping and please do not hesistate to contact our front desk team at any point if you wish to try to change the location of the rooms. We have many rooms that are allocated on the opposite side, which is peaceful.

Hope to be able to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Scandic Sjølyst
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Scandic Sjolyst is a short walk from the Skoyen train station, and caters for the many offices located around it. That role it fulfills well: you get a good night's sleep, there is a fast and free wifi, and breakfast is good. A nice extra is that you can get a free voucher for the SATS gym located close by.

Not everything is great, though. There aren't a lot of good eating options in the vicinity (select pizza / pasta / sushi), the showers remind of a two-star hotel in Rome (I've stayed in four different rooms and all were equally half-broken), and the breakfast gets crowded. If you are travelling alone (like most people on business trips), count yourself lucky if your place (or at least your newspaper) is not taken when you leave your table to get some more coffee. The staff is not particularly motivated; even though I stayed four times in four weeks, I was never recognised or welcomed back.

Room Tip: I would not stay on the top floors, as there is no view or noisy traffic; you only have to wait arou...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is valuable to us, in order to determine what areas we need to improve.
We are happy to hear you had an overall good stay with us with a good breakfast.
The neigbourhood has a new foodhall which offers a variety of quality dishes in addition to take away italian pizza made in a stone oven. There is also a sushi restaurant, an asian and two different pizza restaurants which do also offer burgers and smaller dishes. However we do recognise that the area has fewer eating options than the city centre hotels. From monday-thursday you can also enjoy dinner in our restaurant on the second floor where we serve the scandic classics in addition to a variety of dishes. The reception is also more than happy to recommend restaurants.

We do also recognise that our breakfast can be crowded on mid days due to a full hotel, and we are continously working on improving the service during peak times. As for your stay in you room we have two floors which are still not refurbished, please contact the reception at you next stay and dependent on availability we can try to accomdate you to a nicer room.

See you soon!

Best regards,

Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel is located 2 mins walk from Skoyen station and is a peaceful location. Good place to stay if you have your office in and around Skoyen. The staff were very courteous and extended help in providing additional adapters to me.

Breakfast was OK and they also provide vouchers for frequent vistors which can be used for buying food /alcohol in their restaurant.

They also provide SATS gym voucher which is just 200 meters away from the hotel. The SATS gym is one of the best in Oslo and they are very well equipped. Enjoyed going there.

Would recommend to anyone who are on business visit to this part of Oslo (Skoyen)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor regarding Scandic Sjølyst. We are happy to hear you experienced good service with us. The benefits of staying here at Sjølys is amongst others is the peaceful location and the SATS vouchers which gives you access to an external fitness centre where you can enjoy both excercise machines or classes. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed the Gym membership and our vouchers.

Hope to wish you back here with us!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen

Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not exactly in the center of Oslo, but conveniently situated near the Skøyen station, from where you get to Oslo center within 10 minutes. The hotel is a bit hidden. I would not have found it on first try, but my colleague showed me the way. The hotel seems to be focused on business travellers. Professional and quick check-in. Room small and worn, but acceptable for one night.The heating did not work properly, so I warmed my bed with my hairdryer and then it was OK. Breakfast was good, offfered a side variety of food for international guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_von-Speyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi,

I wish to thank you for making sure to leave such a detailed and good description of our hotel and services. We are conventiently located next to the Skøyen train station which can either take you directly to the city centre or the aiport. I am happy to hear you experienced an effecient check out.

I am sorry to hear you experienced problems with the heating in the room and any inconvenience it may have caused. Please do not hesistate to contact the reception at any point of your stay with any issues, as they are more than happy to help.

We are also very pleased that you found our breakfast to offer a variety of side dishes for international clientele.

Hope to wish you back here at Scandic Sjølyst!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took a tram from the city center and it took about 15 minutes. Then we walked with heavy luggage a few blocks to get to the entrance. So it is a bit out of the way, not really that close to the city center. Nevertheless, it is close to the bus that takes you to the museums. There are the Viking and Folk Museums about a ten 10-15 minute ride from the hotel. Those were the highlight of the trip. The Fjord boat ride was boring as this is not western Norway. The hotel had a decent breakfast and the beds are comfortable. There is a pizzeria around the corner and also a tiny newspaper stand, grocery shop. I don't think I would choose this hotel again next time because although it is a nice hotel, I would like to be staying in the city center next time. Everything closes early in Oslo, so your time in the city center is precious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and the tourist attractions around the area. Scand Sjølyst is as you say within closest reach of the Viking and Folk Museum (walking distance), and also just 10 min away with tram from the city centre. Even though we are not in the city centre, we have the benefit of offering a quiet location for a good night rest.
Im happy to hear you liked the breakfast!

We would be very happy to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

About 5 minutes metro ride from Central station Oslo, it is handily placed in a quiet suburb away from the noise of central. Not much to do locally but not a problem given proximity to center of town. Staff welcoming on arrival, room was clean, bed very comfy, underfloor heating in the bathroom, nice chair in the room to relax on, has everything you could need. Tv wasn't working properly but I wasn't there to watch TV so not bothered really. Breakfast is a great spread and was very enjoyable. Easy check in and check out. Its fine really and can't understand any criticism. Seemed quite nice to me without being anyhting overly special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about Scandic Sjølyst at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you had a good stay here with us. We take great pride in offering a good experience, and I will make sure to share your great response with the team. Our focus is satisfied customers and we strive to offer good service upon check in, our famous breakfast and a clean and nice room. I also have great news to share with our customers as we are planning to change all the tv's within 3-5 months. We are looking forward to offering an even better experience!
Hope to welcome you back again!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Solli
#29 of 102 in Oslo
948 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#56 of 102 in Oslo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#40 of 102 in Oslo
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sjolyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Address: Sjoelyst Plass 5, Oslo 0278, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oslo
#29 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $98 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Sjolyst is located in a trendy area in Skoyen with cafes, shops and restaurants. Popular attractions such as the museums at Bygdoy and the park Vigelandsparken are only a 15 minute walk from our hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities such as running and biking as well as the popular beaches at Bygdoy. Public transport to the city centre is very convinient and it only takes 4 minutes by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing