We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed two nights. Location was perfect. Walking distance to the train and downtown. Room was clean but small. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Wifi worked great. Only problem was the bathroom door is made of etched glass just like the bathroom window which had no blackout curtains. Our stay was June 23-25 meaning no real night at that time of the year so the room could never be made dark as the whole bathroom door was like an upcurtained window.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    356
    319
    110
    41
See reviews for
114
214
213
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Thon Hotel Astoria, and I had a good stay overall. I booked a standard single room which was surprisingly large compared to other single rooms I stayed in during my trip. The bathroom, while not large, is clean and updated and doesn't splash water all over the place like some do in budget hotel bathrooms. The bed itself is a little soft, but otherwise, the room is comfortable for one person. One negative for me was the fact that housekeeping forgot to clean my room the first day. I had planned to reuse my towels anyway, so it wasn't a huge issue, but it did bug me a bit. Also, the window doesn't open very far, so the room tends to get stuffy, especially in summer when it's warmer and there's no AC. And I was randomly woken up by some very loud construction/drilling on my first morning, at around 6am (kind of early?!?). Fortunately, it was just the first night.

Breakfast is very good and included in the price; it's a traditional Scandinavian continental breakfast (meats, cheeses, cereal, etc). It has a really great location - steps from Oslo central station, trams, T-bana, buses, Karl Johans gate, the Oslo Cathedral, etc. The staff was very helpful and friendly, too. I would definitely recommend this hotel. You're not in Oslo to hang out in your hotel room, so it's plenty big enough to sleep in and get ready in the morning, especially for one person.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank katherine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Oslo near the main railway station and close to the main street King Johans gate.The hotel is a budget hotel so whilst the room was small it was clean and adequate as I wasn't expecting a luxurious room.It was good to have free wifi and a plus point is a very good breakfast which in a nice sunny day you could have outside in a courtyard in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank owlsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostoles, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great price and great location to visit the Oslo City Center. Just have a nice walk to get the most important monuments and buildings. Near central station.

The breakfast is nice, complete and included at the room price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank FernandoTallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The Thon Astoria, Oslo, is within easy walking distance of the train station, which is a big plus, and the rooms are clean and functional. It is a budget hotel, so we weren't expecting luxury, or a room with a view, however, we arrived in a bit of a heat wave and there was no air conditioning in the room, which was definitely required where we were situated.

Our first night we had to keep both windows closed, as we were faced into a small quadrangle with noisy air conditioning units (not for the rooms!) going on and off constantly, and other bedrooms on all sides, from which you could hear TVs, conversations and people going to the toilet. One of our windows was unusable as a result of a neighbouring room having theirs open fully, which effectively meant it couldn't be opened at all.

Other rooms also faced away from the streets and into a larger quad, which housed the outside seating area for the breakfast room. At the time of our stay, these rooms wouldn't have been much better for noise, as there was a lot of construction work going on on the building.

The best thing about this hotel was definitely the breakfast. There was so much choice, it was hard to know where to begin. This definitely made up some way for the poor room situation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a very conveniently located hotel if you are travelling to and from Oslo central station. It is in the heart of Oslo with restaurants and bars nearby, but rooms are quiet. For a stay of several days, we used the Thon budget hotel, but this one was very nice for a one day stop between train rides. It has the wonderful breakfast, included in the price, of all Thon hotels and rooms are clean, comfortable but basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velserbroek
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were not very satisfied during our visit. The receptionist was busy and didn't pay a lot of attention, we had the same with a womana at the reception. The rooms were okay, but small. Because of the good starting point for excursions we booked here. Unfortunately we will not come back here, although breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#34 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#20 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Property: Thon Hotel Astoria
Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing