We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Service apartment/ Hotel to stay on a short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Slottsparken
Ranked #57 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Service apartment/ Hotel to stay on a short trip”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I was on a business trip for 2 weeks to Oslo in September 2010 and this is one of the best place to stay as it offers Service Apartment kind of facility with kitchen and is in City Center. You have Oslo station at walking distance and National Theatre which ahs connectivity by bus and train and tram to major parts of the city. If you are in Oslo for a short trip over a month or two then you can stay in discounted price and for 2 weeks it is a cost high compared to other cheap hotels but you get 1MBPS unlimited internet, kitche and its location.. Breakfast has good options and very good.
You would see lot of Indians on short term trip staying in Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nileshbaldwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    137
    92
    57
    19
See reviews for
71
80
46
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The hotel is big. In our opinion there are two kinds of rooms, Expensive and very expensive.
We had an expensive room. Price 1595 NoK (=ca. 200 euro) per night for a double room. What we got was a small room with a small bed. A single room. When I made a complain at the reception, the guy said this was a normal room with a king size bed and he had no other rooms. In other words "take it or leave it". Why do we think it was a single room? There was a small bed with one deck and in the old fashion bathroom were towels for one person. Later in the evening they brought a second deck and second towels. For that price is that hotel a nightmare.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Do not under any circumstances stay in the apartment-style rooms at the front of this hotel (these are the rooms ending in "01" or "02" -- 201, 202, 301,302 etc. etc. -- without getting a guarantee from the hotel staff that the bar on the first floor is not planning to have any events during your stay.
I stayed at the Thon Slottsparken for a conference, and brought my family (husband, 2 children) along, since they wanted to sightsee. We were in Room 502. This is comfortable enough for a family, since it is basically an apartment, with a living room, bedroom, and two separate bedrooms. The problem is that these apartment-style rooms are located above a bar. The bar is in the hotel but the hotel disclaims all responsibility for it. Our first night, the bar hosted a big birthday party with hugely ampified rock music. At 11 we complained. At 12 we complained again. At about 12:30 we called the police (there are noise ordinances in Norway, but the police declined to enforce them). At 1 am I went down to the bar to ask when they were going to stop. The bar owner or bouncer told me they would close at 3am. He also said that, THE HOTEL IS INFORMED OF EVERY EVENT THEY HOLD, and that they would be having similar events on Tuesday and Wednesday. Although there were multiple complaints, including one poor Italian woman essentially having hysterics in the lobby, the hotel professed itself unable to make the bar be quiet. The noise (which was deafening) ended at about 3:15 a.m.
In response to our complaints, the hotel moved us to a cramped room at the back of the hotel, where the children had to sleep on fold-up cots. The hotel continued to book all those front rooms, despite the noise, after we were moved.
This is the most irresponsible and just plain cruel behaviour I've ever encountered in a mid-price hotel chain. Thon Hotels is knowingly booking customers into rooms on nights where they KNOW, AND HAVE BEEN INFORMED IN ADVANCE, that the customers will be unable to sleep.
I not only would not recommend this hotel to a friend, I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. This chain deserves to go out of business immediately.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Intrepid_historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks during last June. The hotel has an excellent location. 5-minutes walk from the metro station, at the city center, very close to the Parliament and other attractions. Oslo is a quite and peaceful city and therefore, you should not worry for being at the city center.
The breakfast is decent: Different kinds of cheese and ham, breads, a tasty jam, honey, eggs, sausages, bacon, fruits, fresh milk and orange juice. If it had some sweets, it would have been perfect for me.
The staff is friendly and they help as much as they can. The rooms are clean, they change towels every day and even more frequently if you ask them to do so. There is a kitchen as well with utensils and a small fridge. Wi-Fi is working fine as well.
On the negative side: The hotel is dated. I think some modernization is necessary. For example, the corridors have a yellow color (not bright at all) and an old, green carpet. The very first time I walked there, the feeling was not very pleasant at all. I think they could change both color and the carpets! Moreover, the breakfast hall is ok, but in the busy hours you will find yourself having trouble finding a place to sit. The room's bed is not very big. There are actually 2 small beds one next to the other, but you can feel it when you lie in-between. It is not very comfortable to be in the middle and hence, you have to choose 1 out of the 2 to sleep. But, it is quite small. The furniture in the rooms is quite dated as well.
Overall, it is a central hotel, very close to the metro and in an excellent location in general. If you do not mind the dated furniture, you will enjoy your staying there. If you mind these details however, you should try another place. For me it worked fine. But, if I visit Oslo another time, I think I will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntsaousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My checkin experience wasn't so great, I arrived in a packed and small lobby on a Sunday morning and was told the rooms aren't ready till 2 or 3pm.
One thing that you soon realise is this is a very family friendly hotel, and there is a large side room near the lobby with a kids play centre, couches, dining table and tourist brochure.

There is also a very handy free internet terminal in the lobby with a printer, as well as a great little coffee machine so you can brew a cup to take with you as you head out.
The corridors and carpet are definitely dated, and the rooms are a bit mixed.
Modern floors and decor, but a very boring but functional white bathroom.

Each room had small oil heaters which are needed for winter, but in mid-July, the room was definitely stuffy and none of them have air conditioning. Opening the windows was a good solution.

The small kitchenette is fully equipped with everything, and is handy to cook a few meals instead of paying ridiculous Oslo restaurant prices. There are 3 supermarkets within 10 minutes walk, a Kiwi, a BunnPris and Rema. Having free wi-fi throughout the hotel was really handy - just search for Telenor and username/password is Thon/guest.

The buffet breakfast served till 11am each morning is great, but you'll get sick of it after a week. Excellent breads, but a broken toaster, and not much dairy or fruit, means you'll be having scrambled eggs and cheeses every morning. Free newspapers are a nice touch too.

The location is very good, only 5 minutes walk across Slottsparken with views of the Royal Palace to get to National Theatre station. And another 3 minutes further to get to Akker Brygge and the waterfront.

The basement has an washing machine that can be used for 30kr, which does a great job, and a free clothes dryer. There is also a small fitness room, which is a bit drab, but has a good range of equipment.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jono_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honefoss, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed here just for 1 night, when I went to Oslo to work.
The hotel is good to very good... yes, it is very good, only there are a few stranges things, like coming out of the elevator (which by the way is super slow) I had to walk a loooot to my room. I dont know, maybe the joined together 2 buildings or something, because I walked like past 20 rooms, crossed a door, turned, continue walking for many other tooms, turned, another door... finally my room. LOL! Maybe it is not that important, it is just somethig I noted... the long corridor, too warm and smelling funky.
My room was actually very nice, with a comfortable bed, a small very old TV, a small table with 2 little sofas, and actually a snall kitchen !?!? I didnt looked much around the kitchen, I wonder who would go to this kind of hotel and want a kitchen... but, well.... something more. The kitchen smelled a little, I must say, like hm.... dirty pipes? Im not sure, that kind of smell taht comes from not leting water run in a long time.
The bathroom was OK, very 70s, but at least clean, and great towels.
Service was good, I guess, I didnt relate much to them.
Breakfast was allright,
Location is great. I like that area of Oslo, you can walk to Karl Johans, with many attractions and also from there you are connected to everywhere you need.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed here because the hotel I had booked at had overbooked. They paid for the Thon, so it turned out to be excellent value for money (for my employer), but if I had been paying I would have been very disappointed. The recption staff were great, and the location fine, but otherwise the place has little to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAWELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#38 of 102 in Oslo
509 reviews
Scandic Holberg
#49 of 102 in Oslo
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#29 of 102 in Oslo
922 reviews
Hotell Bondeheimen
#44 of 102 in Oslo
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Slottsparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Slottsparken

Property: Thon Hotel Slottsparken
Address: Wergelandsveien 5, Oslo 0167, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Slottsparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Slottsparken is an apartment hotel in the heart of Oslo. The hotel is in a central yet quiet location by the Royal Palace, close to the major shopping streets, restaurants and museums, and the lovely harbour is just minutes away. The hotel provides apartments and suites furnished and equipped to suit both daily and monthly stays. All rooms have private bathrooms, kitchenettes, cable-tv, telephone and wireless internet access. A large breakfast buffet is available, and there is a fitness room. Slottsparken's nine well-equipped conference rooms have room for up to 90 persons. Note: The hotel is currently renovating its rooms and common areas. Some construction noise may occur. The hotel apologises for any the inconvenience this may cause. The renovation will be completed during the spring of 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Slottsparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing