We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No parking spaces left”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Slottsparken
Ranked #51 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the outside this hotel seems to be an office instead of a hotel. We booked this hotel for an overnight stay in the city of Oslo for three reasons: have our two children in the same room, near the centre and because of the parking facilities. When we arrived the parking spaces were all occupied... The (not so friendly) receptionist told us to park in the nearby Q-Parking garage. This looked like a fairly unsafe and open parking garage. I expressed my worries to the recptionist but he could not care less. The large room was okay and clean and the breakfast was pretty good. Think twice if you really need parking...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tredelijkheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 412 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

First glimpse into the receptionarea gave some doubts if this hotel was the right choice. But very friendly reception personell made up for that. The room was newly renovated and very Clean ,large and wellcomming.
Breakfast was among the best I have seen . There was nothing missing .This hotel seemed to make a notable extra effort to accomodate children

Room Tip: Not all in my Group were happy,possibly ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagullStraengnaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel, I had a great time! The people in the reception was so friendly, i felt just like coming home. The hotel doesnt have a fancy fasade, so its a bit hidden from the environment, but once your inside, you can feel the warm atmosphere. Brakfastis smile, but very good. Its close to everything you want to see or experience in Oslo.

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom floors are a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank killemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently paid 2 visits to this hotel in one week on business. On both occasions the check-in was seamless and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a must - excellent selection of food and very fresh. Accommodation on my first visit was a bit left to be desired, although clean; my second visit of the week saw a totally different side to the hotel - excellent room, very spacious and welcoming. I understand the hotel is undergoing reburbishment and once complete I feel would alter a rating to very good. Central for business and pleasure alike, with the Palace just across the road where you can wander through his garden!

Room Tip: Request a ready refurbished room if staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightEyes1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful building from the 30's located by the Royal Park - fantastic location. Modest receptionarea, but very helpful and pleasant staff. I had a newly and beautifully renovated Superior room - one of the best in Oslo. Very good bed, beautiful breakfast. As a frequent businesstraveller this will be the hotel I'll return to next time in Oslo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a very pleasant place to stay with a good breakfast and friendly staff. The rooms were a good size - though ours was a bit of a hike through several now-joined buildings. Gym a bit basic with two pieces of equipment not working. Internet worked OK. Would stay again for it's proximity to some pretty areas and cafes/shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just stayed here for one night. After reading some of the reviews we were sceptical to this hotel, but no need for that. When we arrived we were welcomed by 2 nice receptionists. We were upgraded to a business-room, and the room was great. There were even a smal kitchen. The bed was super!! And the pillow even better!!! Breakfast was nice. Even if we were late, it still looked good. The location of the hotel is perfect. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirkeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Quality Hotel 33
#47 of 102 in Oslo
527 reviews
Thon Hotel Gyldenlove
#61 of 102 in Oslo
424 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#43 of 102 in Oslo
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#44 of 102 in Oslo
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Slottsparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Slottsparken

Address: Wergelandsveien 5, Oslo 0167, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $134 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Slottsparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Slottsparken is an apartment hotel in the heart of Oslo. The hotel is in a central yet quiet location by the Royal Palace, close to the major shopping streets, restaurants and museums, and the lovely harbour is just minutes away. The hotel provides apartments and suites furnished and equipped to suit both daily and monthly stays. All rooms have private bathrooms, kitchenettes, cable-tv, telephone and wireless internet access. A large breakfast buffet is available, and there is a fitness room. Slottsparken's nine well-equipped conference rooms have room for up to 90 persons. Note: The hotel is currently renovating its rooms and common areas. Some construction noise may occur. The hotel apologises for any the inconvenience this may cause. The renovation will be completed during the spring of 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Slottsparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing