We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Thon Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Cecil
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Perfect location in the middle of "Spikersuppa", only a few meters off Karl Johan & the Parliament.
My room was facing the atrium and I had no issues with neighbours looking in or the soundproofing. The room was, as in all budget hotels in major cities in Europe, small but yet big enough and the bed was comfortable. Nice and clean hotel, breakfast was good and the staff were very welcoming. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wikander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Wikander!
Thank very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil and for your positive feedback. We appreciate it very much. Despite our prime location in the city center our rooms are very quiet as most rooms are facing towards the hotels atrium. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Cecil
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 519 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business travel. Rooms are small, but typical and in need of some updating. Many rooms overlook the atrium so you can stare at or be stared at by your neighbors. The soundproofig is not very good(someone else reviewed that it was fine, this is not the case). The night I stayed there was some construction in the building that gave me an unrequested 7am wake up. The hair dryer would only work intermittently (10 secs on then 45 secs off), they must have some electrical issues. While the location is excellent, there are plenty of other places to stay in the area.

Thank DreManning
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear DreManning!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. Most rooms are facing towards two sides of the hotels atrium and the other two sides are offices. All rooms have curtains and black out curtains for full privacy. I am sorry to read that you were woken up by construction work. We have not had any construction work at the hotel lately so my guess is that it is coming from outside or from the offices as Thon Hotel Cecil only cover 1/3 of the building. Unfortunately we were not informed about construction work in the area. It is very rare this occurs and most guests are impressed how quiet it is despite the prime location the city center. We hope to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in Oslo. Perfect location right in the city center, yet still quiet. Short walking distance to all major attractions. The room was modern, clean, and spacious by European standards. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent and the eating area in the atrium is lovely. We inquired about purchasing 24 hr Oslo passes at the front desk. They were out of them, but they took the initiative to call their sister hotel (Hotel Bristol) and reserved passes for us there. Also, on our last day we had to check out before breakfast started for an early flight and they provided us with breakfast bags (cream cheese sandwich, yogurt, apple, orange juice). Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Daniel S!
Thank you very much for you fantastic review. We truly appreciate your feedback and I will bring it on to our wonderful staff that does their outermost to give our guest a pleasant stay. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Cecil someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is very well located near everything a tourist will want to see in Oslo, and also well-placed for the business traveller. The beds are great, the room was spotless, and everythign was there that needed to be there. The breakfasts are good: plenty of choice, with gluten-free breads, and a coffee machine giving a range of specialist blends. The breakfast room is in the atrium, so seems a bit echoy and not warm, but is in fact fine. Front desk is friendly and helpful. I was there on business, but there were plenty of tourists, and I think this hotel is great for both.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carocgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil and for your wonderful feedback. The hotel is very suitable both for people travelling on business and on pleasure. The location is prime and attractions, restaurants, shops and public transportation is just outside our door. I am very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to welcome you back next time you are travelling to Oslo if it is on business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent location, you wont need any trasnportation to get around the city. Can walk anywhere. The room was very clean and the staff very helpful. Their umbrellas to borrow which became very useful. Breakfast is huge, excellent selection. Free internet in hotel computer. Comfortable bed and enough space.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeroma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic and wonderful review. As you said, Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location and everything is at our doorstep or within a short walking distance. The umbrellas are necessary now when the autumn finally reached us. We hope to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel before and also this time, everything was fine. Breakfast is delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only downside are the small bathrooms. We have stayed in several rooms on several floors and never disliked any of the rooms. We certainly go again and stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rietje175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing Thon Hotel Cecil again! We truly appreciate your fantastic review and your loyalty. All the rooms at Thon Hotel Cecil have the same standard as they were renovated at the same time. We have a super team at Thon Hotel Cecil that does their outermost to give our guest a pleasant stay with at Thon Hotel Cecil. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time you are going to Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is very nice and it's location is excellent. We got a room at the 3rd floor and were skeptical at first when we saw that the room was facing inwards towards the dining area (breakfast), but it was sound proof and we didn't hear a thing. The bed was excellent as well. Really comfy! The room itself was decent enough, but the bathroom had more of a "conference hotel" feeling to it. It was very cold both with regards to the temperature and the interior.

I got one big complaint and that is the breakfast. The food itself is nice, but we had to wait for clean bowls and plates both mornings we stayed there. We also had to move dirty plates away from empty tables in order to find somewhere to sit and no one came to remove them as long as we sat there.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but only because of it's location. I'd imagine you'll find nicer hotels elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsRuneHjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil and for your wonderful review! Many of our guests are impressed by the silence in the hotel despite the prime location in the middle of the city center. We advise our guest to eat earlier than the last opening hour of the breakfast in the weekends. The weekend you stayed with us where fully booked and unfortunately one of our employees got. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Thon Hotel Cecil:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Victoria
#28 of 102 in Oslo
885 reviews
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 102 in Oslo
859 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#37 of 102 in Oslo
405 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Cecil

Address: Stortingsgata 8 | Entrance Rosenkrantzgate, Oslo 0161, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $126 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre next to the Parliament you will find Thon Hotel Cecil. A few steps will bring you directly to Karl Johans Gate, Oslo's main street with a broad selection of stores. The hotel has a vast selection of restaurants and activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing