We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel in Great Oslo Location”
Review of Thon Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Cecil
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is comparable to Marriott Hotels in the US.
Very comfortable room, clean and very functional with free internet. Excellent breakfast included in price. Front desk staff is receptive to inquiries and helpful in getting around the city. Super location .. just a few blocks away from all of the noise in the harbor and very close to city hall and athe great national art museum.

No hestitation to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolasa03148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2011

Thank you very much for very positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thon Hotel Cecil is newly renovated and has a prime location in the heart of the city center. Breakfast with hotel and cold dishes and wireless internet are always includes in the room rate. We hope to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Cecil next time you are in Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

Let mé first say that i Stayed in a business superior room, which is a different standard vs the normal Thon. For 400 USD i could have Stayed at the Continental. Bit still i Got a very Nice spacious new clean room with a mini balconee. So if you smoke, here is Tour chance. Great location - right by stortå get station. room 701 is the way to go

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steenvagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Business rooms. These rooms are a hidden gem and everybody staying here loves them. We hope to welcome you back at 701.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Almost the perfect address for a short stay in a Capital city. It is located next to the Main street..so you can walk to almost any tourist site. Breakfast is great..though they never change the menu.
Room size is small as is usual in Norway but very efficiently designed.
Only drawback is no shower curtains ( Hygiene reasons) just a glass screen that does not really stop water from falling on the floor.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel2001in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome. The rooms at Thon Hotel Cecil is average size rooms compared to other business hotels in Scandinavia but hotel rooms are in general smaller in Scandinavia compared to North America, the Middle East and Asia. We provide superior and business rooms that are more spacious than our standard rooms. The hotel has a prime location with almost everything just around the corner from the hotel. We hope to welcome you back next time in Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel is in a good location, not far to walk from either the main station or National Theatre when using the express train from the airport. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the vicinity and you are very close to the townhall and harbour front. An easy spot to base yourself for touring the wonderful city of Oslo.

As with everything in Oslo, the hotel isn't the cheapest and is probably over priced if you are looking for value for money, but Oslo is an expensive place generally.

The hotel staff were very helpful on arrival and there is a tourist information office just around the corner.

The room was cleaned everyday to a good standard but little things got missed each time (Bin not emptied, pillows left on the floor). Nothing major and besides this, the room and shower room were clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location in the middle of the city center close to Karl Johan (main street), the Parliament and Aker Brygge. In weekends and during summer you are able to find special offers in the hotel if you plan ahead. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel next time you are in Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

As the company finds more ways to save money we start staying in hotels that I had never heard of previously. Had to be in Oslo for 2 days business and arrived late evening from Copenhagen. Hotel is about a 5 min walk from the National Theatre station if you know where you are going but I didn't and not many pedestrians either knew of the hotel. Eventually found it and receptionist was friendly and efficient although the reception area is a tiny area with absolutely no frills. The entrance to the hotel is actually down a side street off Stortingsgata which is probably why no one knew of it .....
Room was okay for size but decor was dated. I was too late for room service or the restaurant but a local pizza place will do deliveries to the hotel; the pizzas in Norway are the best I have had in the world by the way!
If you want a no-frills place and are budget-conscious in what is a very expensive city then this place is fine for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglishmaninJavea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Thon Hotel Cecil is right now renovation the rooms and are looking forward welcoming back our guests January 12th. Thon Hotel Cecil is a 3 star bed & breakfast hotel with a prime location in Oslo. We hope to welcome you back in our newly renovated hotel:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We spent four nights at the Cecil in late August and would gladly return at any time. The staff were all so friendly, each one speaking perfect English and doing their best to assist us. The location was just as good, only a block or two from the Grand Hotel, National Theatre, Aker Brygge, and other central landmarks, with tram lines just steps away. Our room was well-designed and, although not immense, suited us perfectly. We slept well as the hotel is on a quiet side street. The breakfast was superb, as was the striking dining area, and we also appreciated the free internet. A special bonus, entirely unexpected, was a free, packed breakfast, waiting for us when we left the hotel at 4:00 a.m. at the end of our stay. If only all hotels were as good as the Cecil...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooCowBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thanks a lot for your fantastic review. Mye team and I were very happy to make your stay at Thon Hotel Cecil and in Oslo as good as possible. We hope that we can welcome you back at the hotel some time:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I was delighted to find this place. The location is central close to the main street and also to the new sea side quarter. The breakfast included is huge :D, rooms are cleans, there is a free internet computer and the best : free good espresso :p.
The staff is really welcoming and helpful. I forgot my i pod in the room and they sent it back to me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jahoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thanks for staying with us at Thon Hotel Cecil. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and we are of course happy that we could help you with your ipod that you forgot in your room. We hope to wish you welcome back again at Thon Hotel Cecil:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Scandic Victoria
#37 of 102 in Oslo
945 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,296 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Cecil

Address: Stortingsgata 8 | Entrance Rosenkrantzgate, Oslo 0161, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $144 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre next to the Parliament you will find Thon Hotel Cecil. A few steps will bring you directly to Karl Johans Gate, Oslo's main street with a broad selection of stores. The hotel has a vast selection of restaurants and activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing