We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a Business traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
436 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Good for a Business traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have stayed in Oslo several times before over the years but never here.

Previously I've stayed in the Radisson Blu opposite if I wanted to have a hotel next to the station but , as its been a disappoinment previously, I thought I'd try the Thon Opera.

Overall it was good with just a few niggles

On the positive

1 Its incredibly close to the station. Turn left off of the Airport express train and its 50m walk away to the entrance.
On a cold Oslo day in December that makes a difference !

2 Check-in was quick and friendly.They also gave me a decent recommendation for Dinner locally.

3 Although small, the bed was comfortable and I slept well .

4 Wifi was free and fast.

5 I had my room at 1130 - I was grateful for that having arrived on the train.


Slight niggles were no in-room safe - a must surely in any decent hotel.Its such an old-fashioned practice to put your valuables in the 'Hotel safe' in reception.
Also the decor has that dark brown standard 80's motel/hotel furniture - so don't expect modern Nordic design !
As a room it really was a "single" room and I would have not have wanted to stay in it for more than 2 days. It must be the smallest room I have stayed in all year.
The iron and boards are also in the Gym entrance - which is more akin to a hostel than a modern hotel imho.

Niggles aside I would use it again for short trips into Oslo. Any longer than two days though and I'd head into town for another Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    867
    152
    39
    18
See reviews for
243
659
230
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed there for 2 days, during a conference. I did not have any negative experiences or anything to point my finger at. The food (2 lunches, 1 dinner, one breakfast) was good, and there were no serious queuing. The conference rooms were also good, with no glitches during the two days and the air quality was OK.

My room was on the 7th floor, with a window to the east. Good bed, and Ok size of the room.

The location is very good for a conference, with just a short walking distance to the airport train. But for a good choice of restaurants, there is some distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great location for a hotel if you need to use public transport. Directly out of the station and into the hotel. The breakfast is also phenomenal. Outside of breakfast the food is good but tremendously expensive. The gym is a bit of a joke - be prepared to queue to use machines. The rooms are great - I stayed in the new part of the hotel which doesn't give you particularly good views but everything is brand new and there was no corridor noise. The surrounding area is awful though - everything is currently in the process of being dug up which doesn't look particularly nice - although I realise this isn't the hotels fault. The exteria is also very noisy - it overlooks a square and footbridge - so noise from people moving about and gathering is quite excessive. There's also a club or something near by and the bass - this was on a Friday night - was penetrating which stopped me from getting any sleep at all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is just across the main train station. So it is easily reached.
Rooms are renewed and modern designed.
Always people make the real difference. And unfortunately here I couldnt find this personal touch. The hotel is seem to mainly concentrated on conferences. The lobby is like the train station. If you want to go to toilet you need to take a key from the reception.
Everything is seemed to be modern and computerized. I am not against this, but if it is so, I would accept everything to go in a harmony. When we arrived it didnt take to long to get our key. But when we went upstairs to our room, there was a surprise waiting in our room. Our room was not empty. There were a lady sleeping in the room. This was very upsetting for both of us. We had to go down and wait in the queue and ask for a replacement. In a even 3 star hotel, in a situation like this requires a sorry. But here, as if it was our fault, we were punished with smaller room, looking to the busy and noisy train station instead of our first given room looking to the sea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Comfortable modern hotel with a great view towards the Opera and the sea. Nice breakfast, free wifi (annoyingly you have to re-login through a webpage every day). Umbrella was included with the room, which was very handy in November weather.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the Opera on higher floors! Breathtaking sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtemG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fantastic location next to the station, yet quiet. Across a footbridge from Oslo Opera. Very warm welcome for a chain hotel. Room was a bit small, but well furnished. Excellent breakfast with wide range at the buffet and decent quality, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZweMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Arrived in Oslo pretty tired after flying from Australia. This hotel is brilliantly located a short distance from where the airport express arrives. We were given early book in, and the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable- possibly a bit small for an extended stay- but to flop into a soft mattress after a long flight- mmmm. In the bar the fish dish was superb abd Alexander went to great trouble to explain every selection of seafood on it. The breakfast was sumptuos- everything possible available and all fresh.

Room Tip: The rooms looking away from the station would be best. No noise at all from the passenger trains tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry5365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Property: Thon Hotel Opera
Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.O. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing