We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Nice, clean hotel with good location in Oslo, Norway. Very close to new opera building. Walk to Karl Johannes Gate, Parliament Building, theater, and other main attractions. Across the street from major bus and train hub. Free wifi for guests. Free access to Internet but only one computer available. Room had comfortable blanket and pillows with 2 single beds that could be pushed together or apart. Bathroom provided small hand soap and small shampoo bottles, which is unusual for European hotels and welcome. I ate breakfast and dinner for 3 days in this hotel (buffet style each meal). Ample choices and very tasty. For breakfast, they even offer a chef to make custom made eggs as you like it. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocklandMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Thon Hotel Opera only partially meets my demands on a business hotel. Room sizes were ok, however, I book only double rooms for single use. The bed is fine, cleaning is as frequently in Norway a bit sub-standard (although, to be fair, better than in Radisson Plaza Oslo).

The one but major weak point are the curtains: they are not lightproof. I visited end of June, and in Oslo, this means sunset at 23:00 and sunrise at 3.45 in the night, and it never gets dark in the city. Without lightproof curtains, one needs to try finding sleep in daylight conditions. Reception should at least offer sleeping masks as they do in airplanes – but did not. So I had to start my business day utterly tired.

The hotel is still fairly new, rooms with modern and comfortable furniture. The location is a problem, it is true that the train station is just a one minute walk away, however, this is quite far from all of Oslo’s tourist attractions. More disturbingly, to enter the city, one is forced to pass the railway station and the dozens, sometimes hundreds of drug addicts in and around the train station. This is surely bad at day time, but outright frightening at night, and there is no police around at all.

Breakfast in Thon Hotel Opera has improved during the past years; it’s nowadays more continental style and rich. I prolonged my stay until the weekend and noticed that, though room prices did not change, the breakfast did: the cook for omelettes vanished from the breakfast room, the Nespresso machine was closed, fresh fruits removed from the reception area, some dishes removed from the buffet. Conclusion: weekend tourists are less welcome than business travellers.

Summary: not a bad hotel in Norwegian standards, but a sleepless night due to the impossibility of getting the room dark is a sure deal breaker. Thus, I recommend the hotel for business travellers in winter time only.

I do not recommend it for tourists because of the distance to city centre and because of the unsafe surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Thon Hotel Opera two weeks prior to the bombing and shooting disaster in the City. The Hotel overlooks the train station and the Opera House. We stayed here two nights prior to our cruise on RCI. This summer the train station is closed for the airport train. So, you take the airport train part way, and then a bus. The bus drops you off right outside of the hotel. You buy just one ticket at the airport that covers the train and bus.

The hotel is located within walking distance of all of Oslo's main tourist areas and is a great "walking city".

Rooms were comfortable but not very large. Be sure to get a rate that includes breakfast. They have a very large breakfast buffet that is included in most of their rates. Dining prices in Oslo are unbelievably high (a bottled water at McDonalds costs $4 US - so, use that as a comparison). So, the free breakfast saved us many $$$'s. The room rate, with breakfast, was probably our best "deal" we found in Olso. Very expensive city.

There is no concierge, so the front desk folks answer your questions and give you city maps. Staff all seemed very nice and could speak English. We took a cab to the cruise ship on the last morning but we walked everywhere else.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to Thon web-site and get a room with breakfast included.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and I do not regret it. Its location is perfect, mere yards from the station (great when you want to go on day trips to other Norwegian cities like Fredrikstad), trams, busses and ferries. It is also within walking distance of most attractions in Oslo.
The room (standard double) was big enough - bearing in mind that this is Scandinavia - with everything you'd expect from a no-nonsense 4-star hotel. Everything was squeaky clean, and it looked pretty new to me (some corridors still smelt like paint). Despite the very short nights in July in Oslo, it was very easy to sleep, the area is quiet at night, and the rooms are definitely soundproofed.
The breakfast buffet was amongst the best I've ever had, both in terms of quality or choice. They even make little smoothies - a different taste every morning! It also offers a really nice view of the opera house and the fjord.
I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiekid28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very convenient for Oslo's new Opera House, the shopping centre and for the station (even tho the trains were not running in July!) Good view of the Opera House, bay and islands from the lift lobby at each floor - makes you happy to get up in the morning. A bit of a building site around the hotel as so much investment is taking place but it will all be worth while in a few years. The staff were very helpful, and the hotel buffets [inclusive - which can save a lot of cash] were really great. Nice to have a breakfast chef available to poach an egg or whatever you fancy.

Room Tip: as for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soxandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arriving in Oslo so soon after the shooting felt odd but the hotel staff in a quiet and dignified way made us feel very welcome. Our room though not large was well appointed and the bath the biggest we have encountered in Sweden & Norway. The food was excellent and we were impressed by the attitude of the staff when we woke the next morning to find the station next door surrounded by police, fire service, ambulances and the army. They were very calm and had obviously concidered the risk, we were asked not to return to our rooms until the suspect package was dealt with but served breakfast on the otherside of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Opera, as its name suggests, is across the street from the new opera house in Oslo. The view from the front of the hotel is of the harbor. More importantly you will be at the transportation hub of the city. Airport express train arrives next door, and city trams, buses, and T-Bann originate nearby. The neighborhood is more ethnic ( and poorer ) behind the station, but it also is a better source of reasonable restaurants. The hotel itself was beautiful, the breakfast buffet was good, and the staff was friendly and professional. Buy the Oslo Card and explore the less touristed areas of the city as well as the museums.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksCountyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 102 in Oslo
856 reviews
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
339 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $177 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing