We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Terminus
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed 5 days in this hotel: 2 on my way in and 3 on my way back. After an 11 hours' flight from Bangkok, I first arrived at the hotel at 9:00AM. I was told I couldn't check in until 3:00PM! In most countries, check in time is 12 noon. The girl (with glasses) at the reception was not very helpful. I was able to leave my luggage in the store room. I came back to the hotel at 1:30PM. The same receptionist saw me but said nothing. At 2:00PM, I asked an information at the desk with the other receptionist. She told me I could check in already! I had quite a nice single room on the back at the 3rd floor. The room is large, with an armchair, a hot water kettle for tea or coffee, a mini bar, WiFi, a multi channel TV. The bathroom is tiny but all right. Breakfast is served from 7:00AM to 10:00AM on weekdays, and from 8:00AM to 11:00AM on weekends. So, how do you do if you have to catch a train or an airplane earlier. This hotel is conveniently located at a mere 10mns' walk from the Railway Station (Oslo S). It is called Terminus. So I think they should cater for travelers and offer breakfast at an earlier time in the morning. This being said, I was able to leave my luggage in the storage to go on my tour of Norway. On my way back, I had the same, nice room I had when I came in. It was late in the evening and again the same receptionist was not very friendly. She wanted my hotel voucher straight away! I had asked her to go to the room first, saying that I would come back with my voucher. On the 2nd day, I learnt that snacks were provided in the evening at the nice, glass dining-room on the 2nd floor. Nobody had told me this upon checking in! Anyway, this hotel is really nicely situated, near the main railway station and only at a 20mns' walk to City Hall, downtown Oslo.

Room Tip: My room at the back was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 873 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rick Steve's recommended this place, so we went for it. It was really close to the train station, which was really nice as we were arriving from a long flight from the States. We arrived before check in and they held our bags for us.

The room was clean and nice. Bed wasn't very comfortable, shower and bathroom was nice. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. During the week when we stayed here they had a small dinner. This was great, as Oslo is super expensive, so we essentially only ate at the hotel during our stay. We had a late train out of Oslo, so the hotel again held our bags for us.

Nice waitstaff, clean hotel, great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I usually stay at this hotel when on working trip in Oslo. It's well located, just behind Oslo City, a big shopping center. Also short distance to buses, tram & local train. Not too fancy, but very nice and comfortable - also pricewise.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are nice. Otherwise the traffic noise might distract those who don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

On arrival we were given a room, which on inspection had the smallest double bed ever! After speaking to the reception staff, who were very pleasant and helpful, we were given an alternative room which was better appointed and had a bigger bed. The shower room was tiny.
The hotel is within walking distance from the railway station, however, the directions - through a shopping centre- are most confusing and it is easier to walk outside (less than 5 minutes).
We stayed on a Friday night and were told that breakfast did not start until 8am - this is much too late for many travellers. We were catching a train which departed at 8.11 so we had to miss this meal. This was very annoying considering the cost of food in Norway. We went to look in the breakfast room at 7.30 and there were a number of guests all trying to find something to eat.
We ate at the Italian next to the hotel and it was excellent.
If you want to see the sights in Oslo, definitely get the Oslo pass as it covers all public transport and entrance into a large number of attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossy-Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I largely enjoyed my stay here, although the lack of any temperature control for the room was a real shame as it was far too hotel so I did not sleep very well. This was a shame as otherwise this is a good hotel with helpful staff and large, clean and well furnished rooms. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BredonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

First I have to tell about bad side - only one for few Thon's hotels I visited before- never take single standard room - it's too small ( only for hobbits maybe:) ). But this small room was very functional, free WiFi was fast. There wasn't normal shower cabin , but warm floors excused everything. Tea's set is quite nice after walk in around snowing Oslo. Breakfast area was very cosy, the breakfast tastey and for any taste. It's a pity that hotel doesn't offer vaffels during weekend.
Location is very good - just 5 minutes through shopping center from train-station ( so weather isn't so important when you come there). The biggest bus stop is very close - just 150 meters. You can buy here Olso pass for one day that's very comfortable: most of museums are free, transsport is free, some good offer in caffees and restaurants..there's only one problem how to find so much time to visit and see everything in Oslo for one weekend:-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

There a many different Hotel Thons in Oslo so please make sure that you book the right one. I actually didn't end up at the one I expected (Hotel Thon Opera which is the one that is visible from the Central train station), but fortunately I ended up at the Hotel Thon Terminus across the street.

Hotel Thon Terminus is a nice functional hotel that is well located in central Oslo. Free WiFi and buffet breakfast.

Rooms are small, but functional. Clean. Tiny bathroom for one (like on a ship), but the foor was heated - very nice in December when I was there. One twin bed that was a bit too soft for my liking. Not cheap, but most alternatives in Oslo are just as/more expensive, so it does offer decent relative value in this expensive city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#18 of 102 in Oslo
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Terminus

Address: Stenersgata 10, Oslo 0184, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainvow Terminus)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#30 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $165 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Thon Hotel Terminus occupies a central location close to Oslo City shopping center and Oslo Central Station. Oslo's main street Karl Johan and other attractions are also within short distance of the hotel. At Thon Hotel Terminus you get comfortable accommodation in in the middle of Oslo city center. The hotel offers 154 comfortable and modern rooms, all rooms recently renovated. Because of its central location and high standards the hotel is well-suited for both business travelers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing