We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotell Bondeheimen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotell Bondeheimen
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A bit off the shopping streets and bars, it is quiet yet still close to everything. The rooms was spacious and clean, and the bed was soft. Fast wifi! Good breakfast. I would stay here again if I ever come to Oslo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    323
    215
    54
    27
See reviews for
122
230
130
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel for over a week. Staff all very efficient and friendly. Resteraunt on lower level was sufficient for most meals.Only drawback was rooms on front face were exposed to loud street noise as Oslo in summer has long days and revelers are out 24hrs.Room was small but perfect for 2.Easy walking distance to everything. I would stay again.Next stop would be the city of Bergen, superlative describes it.

Room Tip: Ask for away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location in central Oslo, within an easy walk of everything, including the train station (15 minutes) and the Copenhagen ferry (20 minutes). Clean, spacious, and comfortable rooms. Good, but not great, breakfast. Staff was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. A very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt245_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Sleep was impossible due to the noise from both the street and adjacent rooms, walls were paper-thin.. Phone to reception did not work at all, and because of US jet lag, I couldn't drag myself down to complain.
There was no hot water. It didn't reach lukewarm after about 15 minutes of running the shower. When I checked out, the lady at Front desk seemed mildly amused, rather than apologetic, when I mentioned this. Fortunately, the water kettle worked, and I was able to use a small basin of water for a sponge bath of sorts, not quite what you'd expect from a hotel in the center of a Scandinavian capital city.

There was only instant coffee available in the room, with fruit tea bags, and, if I'd been able to have a shore, there was only shampoo and no conditioner.

I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the basic necessities for washing or peaceful sleep. No discount for the lack of hot water was offered, and no help/discount for parking either.

It has a good but noisy location.

Room Tip: At a different hotel, preferably!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel several times over the past 5 years, most recently for 2 nights in October. There are several hotels within a block of this one - about as close as you'll get to Karl Johann's gata, the Royal Palace, and a little further on, Aker Brygge - great location for tourists. The rates are therefore higher for these hotels, in addition to the increase that derives from being in Oslo, so don't book here if you're strictly interested in value per amenity. We've stayed at the other hotels next door, and they offer a little more luxury for a comparable price to Bondeheimen. But we switched to Bondeheimen because as tourists, we appreciate the more consciously Norwegian flavor of the hotel: a unique old building with history, a Norwegian-cuisine cafe, each room devoted to an important Norwegian, Norwegian craft shop, etc. The staff offer excellent personal service, and the breakfast buffet is very good. An example of personal service: on this last trip I left something as simple as a power adapter in the room, and when I rang back that afternoon they retrieved it for me so I could pick it up at the desk.

Room Tip: Street noise can sometimes make sleeping difficult on warm nights when you might open the window. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScannerGFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wrtiing this 3 months after I stayed here and to sum it up, I can't even clearly remember the facility although I have distinct memories of other hotels during this holiday trip. I think that sums it up, a perfectly middling hotel, neither very good or very bad. I do remember being happy about the location, just off the main pedestrian zone. My kids mention that the breakfast was not to their expectations and felt the staff was somewhat impersonal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pros:
- Each rooms has its own router for wireless internet access
- No carpet in the rooms
- Rooms facing indoor courtyard are quiet

Cons:
- Breakfast room is too small for the number of customers and items seemingly randomly placed (no milk next to the cereal, utensils located far away from where the plates are) which means a lot of walking back and forth (not easy because it's really crowded).
- On check-in, we were told we had to pay a 150NOK "deposit" for the room. We showed our credit card and had to enter the PIN. Upon checkout, when we asked how and when we would get our deposit back, we were told it wasn't a deposit, that the amount was just "blocked" (like it normally is in any other hotel). Why we then need to enter the PIN beats me. They should stick to the industry standard of just registering the card number. And stop calling it a deposit if it isn't one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
P-Hotels Oslo
#85 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Scandic Grensen
#45 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#43 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#39 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Bondeheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Bondeheimen

Property: Hotell Bondeheimen
Address: Rosenkrantz' gate 8, Oslo 0159, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Bondeheimen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ourselves understand why so many different people want to be our guests! They think it's smart to live comfortably - in the middle of town - at a hotel with reasonable prices! Oslo. We have all the facilities you might require in our immediate surroundings, and public transportation like the airport train, Flytoget, is only minutes away. The airportbus, Flybussen, actually stops right outside our building. If you are looking for an Oslo weekend, we also offer spacious rooms for the whole family. If you would like to book breakfast included in your stay, our restaurant serves a wholesome, Norwegian breakfast buffet and we can store the luggage for you if you arrive early or depart late. Hotell Bondeheimen also offers conference and meeting facilities up to 150 people. We have 8 conference rooms in different sizes located in different parts of the hotel, including a large theatre space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotell Bondeheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Bondeheimen Hotel Oslo
Best Western Hotel Oslo
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing