We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful but expensive Tapas”
Review of Escalon

Escalon
Order Online
Ranked #280 of 1,788 Restaurants in Oslo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tapas restaurant located in the best area of Oslo. Escalón opened their first restaurant in Bergen, right next to Fløybanen in 1998. In Escalón our goal is to give you the best tapas in town, within a reasonable price range and friendly service.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

The party menu offers a variety of tastes. All cheeses, fresh salad, tasteful serrano ham, olives and the green peppers worked very fine for starters. As for the main dish mussels and the meat fillet is what I enjoyed most. Big portions of mussels - perfect on a hot summer day!

Free coffee included when ordering the dessert menu - chocolate cake was yummy.

However the prices does not make it worth coming back for me. Too high prices for just 0,3L beers as well - but this is Tjuvholmen.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank FyFazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine S, Leder  at Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hi FyFazan and thank you so much for taking your time to write a review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and that you specified your favourites.

Despite the prices we still hope you will be coming back to us and try something else from our big menu.

Best regards,
Escalón Tjuvholmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018

I can recommend this restaurant to have a classic Spanish tapas. The food was good the the tapas' size big enough. The staff was nice and attentive. I was there in the afternoon before the rush, so I got a table outside as I wanted.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Voyagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine S, Leder  at Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hi Voyagian, and thank you so much for your nice feedback.

We hope to see you again soon at our restaurant.

Best regards,
Escalón Tjuvholmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

I can only recommend that place. Service is definitely above Norwegian average and the food was excellent.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Unknown1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine S, Leder  at Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Hei Unknown1505 and thank you so much for your nice feedback.
We appreciate hearing that our service is at a higher level then the Norwegian average and we will continue to keep that level.
The Escalón team wishes you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Warm, cozy atmosphere.
Outstandingly professional staff! Great service!
We had the combination platters of tapas, wich turned into a series of ahh's and ohh's for taste, and textures!
We ended this dream of a meal with a cremè catalàn for dessert. We're already planning our next trip to this place.., just for another taste of this dessert! Stunning!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine S, Leder  at Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Hei William J and thank you so much for a very nice feedback.
We hope to see you again soon and we wish you a great summer.
Best regards from the Escalón team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Delicious food (we had spicy mussels, hot potatoes witch cheese and a mini burger - everything was perfect) and great, helpful service. The food was served in less than ten minutes. Prices are ok taken into account you're in the Akker Brygge area. Definitely deserves to give it a try if you're looking for afternoon food and drinks.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 797rafa_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine S, Leder  at Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Hei Rafal S and thank you so much for the nice feedback on the food and service.
We wish you a great summer.
Best regards the Escalón team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escalon also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Escalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing