We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Punjabi Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Delhi

New Delhi
Ranked #451 of 1,428 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Delhi is run by the Singh family from Punjab in Northern India. Punjabi cuisine makes up a good portion of the menu, but New Delhi serves food from all parts of India. The Punjabi kitchen is characterised by its love of fresh herbs and vegetables.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic Punjabi Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I found this small and pleasant mainly run authentic restaurant a very pleasurable experience and would recommend it highly to all travellers looking for genuine taste of India in Oslo. I tried the basic Chicken madras and found it to be tasty rather that unbearably hot. The chicken was not your standard hard boiled cubes but tender and perfect. I also asked for the traditional aloo paratha and although not n the menu it was just just simply devine. The restaurant has white table cloth service but not that xpensive according to Norwegian standards. Go go go....and try it. Myou have my assurance you will enjoy the food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bettiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    141
    44
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Perfect authentic taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've enjoyed a delicious authentic tasting Indian dinner here. I've been in India, so I know the authentic taste and this comes really close to it. Service is friendly and fast. Food is served with just a short wait. They allow you to fine tune the spiciness of the food to your wishes. The sweet nan bred is delicious as a starter. The chicken curry mouth watering and the gulab jamuns with vanilla ice and coconut is the perfect end of a delicious dinner. Will come back here again for sure. Appetizer, main dish, desert and a beer all together for approximately 40 euro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some Indian fare amidst work!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Pretty decent place. Found it a bit expensive but taste was very good and found a good variety. The service was prompt and compared to many other places outside of India, it at least had a greater tilt towards authenticity. Visited multiple times during this travel and would sure recommend for people staying close to Oslo city center area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sravan_Mitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good curry - especially for Oslo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here twice now and I found the food to be very good on both occasions. Dishes are full of flavours and sufficiently spicey (having asked for spicey). I tried the three course non-veg, my wife the 3 course veg.: both very good. The desserts were nothing special. Large portions - so next time I'll just order a main course.

The restaurant is on two levels - I do find upstairs a little dark and had to use my home to light up the menu.

Recommend making a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent indian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Decent indian food. I ate here alone and could not sample too many items on the list. Found the prices a bit too much for the quality of the food. However, if you are from Norway, then ignore that last line. You are probably used to these prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mopy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Delhi also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing