We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It smelled with stale fish”

Fiskeriet Youngstorget
Ranked #63 of 1,676 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We came here for lunch inspired by Tripadvisor reviews. We didn't stay unfortunately because it smelled very bad with stale fish there. The place has both restaurant/bar zone and fish counter to buy fish food. We don't know what caused the smell but even to have a table outside didn't feel nice. There were a few people eating there but we preferred to leave.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 376 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2016

We ordered a sampler plate of different fish (if i remember correctly it is called 'taste of norway'), Bacalao and Fish & Chips. Not a fan of the Bacalao (a little too salty but Bacalao is salty to start with) but the Fish & Chips is the best!

This is our first meal in our 13-days Norway trip and we can safely say that it is the best we have tried - the fish used is very very fresh and my mum was in love with the batter. You will see many many delivery orders for the fish-&-chips (and i assume they are mostly ordered by local? this is how popular they are)

The place smell of fish as it is a combine area with fish market right next to the eating area. If you dont like fishy smell i suggest you sit at the outdoor area (if it is not too cold). Service was quick and it was not hard to locate the place with the help of google map.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank imexcited
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

Really good fish and chips and mussels. Casual place, popular with the locals too. Ate here twice and both meals were consistently good.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duwannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Oslo is extortionate but this place did fish and chips for NOK99 takeaway. Not quite bargainous but being from London I was actually really impressed by it. Great fish and batter. Piping hot. Definitely a posh version complete with tartar sauce. Some regrets it took awhile to be cooked which meant we decided against rushing back to order another one straight away.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank SucroseObsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

I do end up here more than once during my stay in Oslo and it never disappoints. Service is great and the food is impeccable.
Love the fish and chips

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank H1224XMjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Fiskeriet Youngstorget also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Fiskeriet Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.