We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't come here by yourself....”

Proseccheria Resturant & Vinbar
Ranked #183 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't come here by yourself....”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is my first tripadvisor review where i watned to provide a totally negative review of a restaurant. i went here based on the reviews and the proximity to my hotel.

When I arrived the restaurant was half full and it was 7:30 which is prime time in Scandinavia. Half full = not busy. I often dine alone as I travel a lot for work and you are often greeted with mixed feelings. This, however, was by far the rudest reception I have ever received on a trip - ever. I was first ignored and then was told very dismissively that if I wanted to eat there I would need sit at the bar even though there were a large number of tables open. After being offered a scowling look only to move away again, this guy went back to what he was doing and couldn't be bothered. I was so surprised at how rude he was I didn't no what to do so I walked out. Conveniently, I walked over to Cafe Skansken where I had a terrifc meal and warm, friendly service from beginning to end. Why give money to people who treat solo diners like dirt?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingtrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    58
    21
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little place”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely food, especially the crab tagliatelle. Delicious prosecco! Will definitely return:-) Will definitely recommend to others who like good but simple Italian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Norwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
306 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, excellent service, acceptable price for Oslo”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a set dinner of a starter with fish, a main course with meat and a desert. All three were very very good. The place is cosy and the service was very friendly and attentive. Of course it is not cheap (what do you expect in Oslo) especially if you want to drink some wine with the meal, but the value compared to other restaurants in Oslo is excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Oslo”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Tastefully yet unobtrusively decorated, excellent food, adequate choice of wines, impeccable and friendly service in a warm and pleasant atmosphere.

Proseccheria stands a span above all other Italian restaurants in Oslo.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianlcoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very, very good food”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

An excellent meal in a small but well designed and pleasant restaurant atmosphere. Nice view onto the local square. Outside tables, but we were seated inside as they were full.

Very good italian food, bread and olives brought to you at the start of the meal and a good selection on a varied menu. Wine list good, but as it's Norway, expensive.

Service excellent, not too fussy and just right.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScruffyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proseccheria Resturant & Vinbar also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Proseccheria Resturant & Vinbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing