We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best suited for young people who are food lovers”
Review of Scandic Vulkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Vulkan
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The rooms are spartan - except for the nice beds.

The restaurant is uncomfortable - but the food is excellent!

And then there is Nya Mathallen across the square ...

To see Oslo requires a bus to the centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R.Müller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, Leder  at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi!

Thank you for your nice feedback after your recent stay with us.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed our beds and food so much!

Hope to see you again!

Best regards

Monica Egeberg
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 701 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel offers everything I require in a hotel - stylish, well designed, comfortable rooms, reasonably clean, good staff and a good breakfast, and I would certainly book there again.

But I did have a couple of niggles - on weekend nights it is very noisy for rooms overlooking Mathallan, with bars staying open until 0300. Great if that is what you want, not so great if you are trying to sleep.

And on the first day we were there, a Saturday, the breakfast room was too small to accommodate the number of people who wanted to eat - we had to go away. Although the breakfast room was busy throughout our stay, this only happened once - perhaps too many non-residents - but perhaps the hotel should look out for this.

It is also worth mentioning that while breakfast is from 0800 to 1100 at weekends, it is from 0630 to 0930 during the week - obviously geared towards business customers, rather than people hoping for a leisurely holiday.

But overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, Leder  at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast with its fine selection of organic options and Norwegian specialties.

Looking forward to see you again!

Best regards

Monica Egeberg
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway to recieve the Norwegian grade of 'Energy class A'. They use geothermal energy, solar panels and have a bunch of other funky, modern solutions.

Fortunately, this progressive sustainable approach doesn't mean it's a granola crunchy hippie hideaway for Americans in Birkenstocks and organic wool sweaters chewing on raw beetroot.

It's a damn cool hotel with a cheeky and cheerful approach to design and modernity. Pure Scandinavia.

I don't normally think "vibrant" when I think "Oslo" but the Scandic Vulkan is located in as groovy an area as the city can offer. It's near the hip Grünerløkka district and is located next to Mathallen - The Food Hall - which is a gastro delight.

Great staff, cool rooms and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, Leder  at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi!

Thank you for your cool and vibrant feedback after your stay at Scandic Vulkan.

A delightful reading - thank you!

Looking forward to see you again!

Best regards

Monica Egeberg
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was clean and confortable. Not far from the central station (15 min walking or 3 bus stops). Just in front of a delicatessen market in a neighborhood which is being renewed in a trendy way.

Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo. We are glad you enjoyed the new hotel, and its superb location to Mathallen.

Thanks also for the nice feedback on our organic breakfast. We are very proud of our breakfast.

Best regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is an out-of-the-way hotel in Oslo, it's on the outskirts (15ish minute walk from the city centre), but for the price you cannot go wrong.

We were greeted with a smile at reception, we had booked a double room but were given a two single beds. Generally, hoteliers confirm our room booking (we book double) when we arrive, but on this occasion they didn't, we are a gay couple, and as such expect that this needs to be confirmed, after all, we could just be friends for all they know! But we ended up with two single beds. No deal breaker, and we didn't complain for the sake of one night, but I do think that this should be checked out of politeness. It doesn't hurt to confirm "Double room for (insert duration of stay)?" during the check-in process.

The hotel itself was spotless, the room was comfortable, but the air conditioning wasn't working. Again, we didn't complain for the sake of one night.

Breakfast was uncontrolled in it's entirety, some rates don't include it, but if you were going to chance getting it for free, you'd probably get away with it, we didn't have any interaction with any member of staff. We did pay extra. We did turn up quite late, so possibly the staff were just being more complacent, but that still doesn't excuse it. The offering was quite good, scrambled eggs, sausages and other hot items, amongst more continental food.

We had a couple of beers in the bar, a member of staff approached us around 20 minutes before closing time and said "Just to let you know, if you want anymore drinks, please get them now, I need to go home you know", whilst this was said in a joking kind of way, it was quite unprofessional and made us feel like we needed to rush to leave. I'd take that in pub/bar, but in a hotel... you don't do that.

Overall, great value for money, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdhurst380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi!

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo!

I can assure you that we are a gay friendly hotel, so next time you will be asked what kind of bed you want.

We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our other facilities.
Then I must apologize for the behavior of my colleague, I hope that they just wanted to be relaxed in their service style, trying to be funny.

We hope to see you soon again, maybe next summer.

Best regards
Monica Egeberg

General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nicely located in a trendy area, that is now undergoing redevelopment (although it surely cannot be described as city center, rather inner outskirts). Good, clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast selection and good quality. Staff helpful and polite. Surely a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobroszp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after visiting Scandic Vulkan.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Vulkan area, our ecological breakfast buffet, and our rooms

We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotels may be quite expensive in Oslo. This hotel was a cheaper one. The room is a bit smaller, which is not a problem, since the hotel invested in good beds!
The breakfast was really good! (I would rate it 9, on a scale 1 to 10).
In the bar/bistro you can enjoy your dinner/drinks and charge it toyour room. (prices here are pretty normal compared to the rest of Oslo we have seen so far).
Representative pictures have been posted by other users.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon_vd_Werf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi!

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our other facilities.
We often hear that our beds are very comfortable - which is important when staying in hotels.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Monica Egeberg

General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.5 mi away
Scandic St. Olavs plass
1.2 mi away
Scandic Solli
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
1,020 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Grensen
Scandic Grensen
#31 of 102 in Oslo
457 reviews
4.1 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
1.3 mi away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Vulkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vulkan

Address: Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $116 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vulkan 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Vulkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing