We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classical Scandic-hotel, disquised in a Boutique-outfit”
Review of Scandic Vulkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Vulkan
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classical Scandic-hotel, disquised in a Boutique-outfit”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you've ever spent a night at a Scandic Hotel before, you'll find yourself right at home here. In that, you'll know what to expect. This hotel may, with its modern exterior and boutique-inspired interior, deceive you into thinking that you ended up somewhere else. However, the over-crowded breakfast buffet, the lack of packaged beauty products, the questionable finish of the interior and the lack of a minibar will remind you of where you really are.

I advise you to stay away from the hotel restaurant as service is slow, selection is thin and atmosphere is non-existent. We had to wait 20 minutes to learn that the dish I ordered was out. Never happened to me before...usually the waiter should know straight away.

Locationwise the hotel is some distance from the central sights. The area around the Vulkan has not really evolved into the hip, youthful area that the hotel website brags about. I'm sure they will get there though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Starbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us. We appreciate your comments.
Scandic decided to remove the minibars due to become more environmental friendly but also to offer our guests a better service supply. In our SHOP and lobbybar, open 24/7, you can buy full-size products and fresh goods at all times.

We apologize for the unfortunately, not so positive experience at our restaurant. Of course, all dishes on the menu should be available.

It is correct that the area surrounding the hotel is still under somewhat construction, though the Food Court "Mathallen", Dansens Hus, Bar Vulkan, Døgnvill Restaurant, with many others, are already open.

We hope to see you back here another time.
Until then, have a nice weekend!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    257
    91
    23
    14
See reviews for
50
240
33
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stay here regularly for work. It tries very hard to be cool, so there was a weird steel object in my room, but nowhere to park my case flat (except by rearraging the sculpture and keeping case on the floor). My room was quite cold and the heating adjuster didn't work - important when it's -18 degrees celcius outside. The lamps are trendily dim, making it hard to work. On the plus side, staff are friendly, internet is free and the location is good (bus stops very close).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review after your stay at Scandic Vulkan.
I am happy to read your positive comments of our friendly staff, free internet and good location.

The temperature in the room should of course be able to regulate. We apologize for this not being the case.

We hope to see you back here in 2013. Until then, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Do not stay here on weekends if you have any desire for a restful stay! Am currently awake at 3am with the thumping music from the club next door and comings and goings of smoking club goers. Does not make a difference that the window is shut and I'm on an upper floor. It was like this last night as well, so my trip has been pretty much ruined for lack of sleep.
The rooms themselves are nicely decorated - although necessary maintenance is lacking. Unwashed stain on bed cover, burnt out light bulb, broken safe. Someone is definitely missing the details.
The breakfast buffet is great - great variety and plenty of food in a pleasant room. That was probably the best part of my stay. Unfortunately, though, it can't make up for the noisy, noisy location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo and thank you for the feedback provided. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the room design.

Regarding the issues you experienced in your room and the disturbing music from the restaurant next door, we extend our sincere apologies for this. Though, I am happy we have already established contact with you directly via email so that this issue can be solved.

We hope to see you back at Scandic Vulkan within the near future.
Until then, I wish you a nice weekend.

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stylish interior design, friendly and helpful staff, and nice amenities such as the gym and restaurant -- certainly a favorable first impression of Scandic hospitality.

My room was exceptionally clean and had a nice view towards the river. Wi-fi worked quite well in the room, although the access tended to require re-entering the login code on occasion. The only thing missing was a proper closet: there were two clothes hangers on a narrow bar beside the bathroom door, and it was fully exposed to the entry area -- not a great place to try to put a business suit.

The breakfast was very well prepared and I'm afraid I've now developed a taste for the mustard herring -- quite a treat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated the Scandic Hospitality!

Please come again soon and taste our mustard herring.

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First off, when I booked the room about two months prior to the stay, I sent a request for a early check-in. The request was not replied, and so I resent it a week prior to the stay. I told them that it was because of a wedding, and the reply I got was that I could show up and they would see if I could get a room. I understand that the check-in time is there for a reason, but I would have appriciated a yes or no answer. Considering that the request was sent two months in advance, they could have ensured that a room was made ready.
The room was nice and spacious, but somewhat cold. My room was located directly over the lobby facing a very buisy street. Considering that the "walls" facing the street were all glass, I would have appriciated better blinds and better lighting. Since "everybody" could look into the room (floor to ceiling) from outside, the need to have both blinds and curtains covering the windows to avoid feeling like I was in a storefront window, put a damper to the experience. Also, one of the windows were coverd in bird excrements. I could have asked to change rooms, but I was only staying for one night and was in a hurry to make it to the wedding, so I did not bother. Some of my familiy were staying at the hotel at the same time, and their rooms were located away from the buisy street and did not come with an audience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us.

As you write, it is difficult for us to promise an early check-in in advance since we do not know at what time other guests will be checking out. Though, we always try to meet our guests' request whenever possible.

Please, next time you visit us, ask for a room on a higher floor with.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I were here with the official England Fans trip for the Norway v England football match, though we kept ourselves to ourselves as much as possible.
Check in was very slow, because we were part of a large group.
Our room was perfectly good, though nothing exceptional. We wanted somewhere to rest and somewhere to store our stuff, and that's what we got.
The bar/restaurant downstairs was pretty good, and though expensive, it wasn't bad in Norwegian terms. Breakfast the next morning was perfectly good. I'm sorry that our stay in Oslo wasn't longer. We would consider staying here again, as it was good enough and reasonably central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay with us at Scandic Vulkan.
We are happy to read that you appreciated our rooms and ecological breakfast.

We hope to see you and your wife soon again!

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almhult, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a two day business trip. Arriving late in the evening, we were very pleased with a quick check in and a friendly recommendation for where to go to find food. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Great WiFi service as well. The location is walking distance to restaurants and shops. We had no trouble finding it and conveniently there is garage parking just across the street. This is a well decorated, hip hotel that isn't fancy, but has a good vibe. With a stylish breakfast room and great breakfast spread, it is easy to enjoy staying here. I will stay here again on my next visit to Oslo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyLifeAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after staying with us. I'm happy you like the vibe at Vulkan and appreciated both our staff, services and breakfast.

A warm welcome back soon again!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
776 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,489 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Vulkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vulkan

Property: Scandic Vulkan
Address: Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vulkan 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Vulkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing