We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW! Stay here!”
Review of Scandic Vulkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Vulkan
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a brand new hotel in Oslo I think. My first stay, and it is "WoW"! Really liked the atmosphere, really cool and friendly at the same time.
The hotel is not located "downtown", but if you really want a chance to experience Oslo as the locals this should be your pick! The hotel is in a area with lots of nice cafes, restaurants and bars mainly visited by the locals. (I´ve noticed that one of the other reviews said that there wash´t much to see close by, but I beg the difference: you are within walking distance to Grünerløkka, one of the most popular bar/restaurant areas in Oslo - but then again for the locals).

Just next to the hotel is the brand new "food hall" Vulkan; mainly selling local produced food and groceries.

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant "V"; excellent! A 3-course dinner menue based on locally Norwegian produced specialties. Best meal I have had in å long time. And not pricy either. I paid less than NOK 400,- for 3-courses incl. a glass of wine (in Norwegian standard this is not bad - and worth every penny if you want to try really good Scandinavian cooking).

I stayed here on business, but would imagine that it is also a good alternative coming with the family. Spotted a children playroom on my way to the reception. And the neighborhood area is very child friendly with parks and playgrounds nearby.

My new favorite hotel in Oslo!

Tip: if you are sensitive to traffic, ask for a room not overlooking the passing street. I didn´t mind, but too bad to spoil a great stay if you are bothered by the passing traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the "riverside"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hsorvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Wow back to you and a big thank you for kind words! What a fantastic review and it is pure happiness to read that you liked our "cool and friendly atmosphere", which we like to call "a different hotel for different minds".

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Scandic Vulkan and do agree with you that there are lots of things to do in the nearby area. Grunerløkka with its many cafes and restaurants is only a short walk away and Karl-Johan is 10-15min by walking.

As you say, we offer a from scratch homemade 3-course dinner with locally Norwegian produced specialties. Did you know that we change our menu every second week?

A warm welcome back to your new favorite hotel in Oslo when Mathallen opens its doors in October, or even earlier.

Happy Easter!

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 707 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Scandic Vulcan hotel has a modern decor, that I liked.
Rooms are small but ok for 1 or 2 and for a limited time. The bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows.
one negative thing is that it is located in a quite sad area. It's not extremely far from the city center, but you have to either take a taxi or walk a good 20 minutes. it's not a down-town hotel.

The structure is a bit strange since reception is actually at the 4th floor... The restaurant where they serve breakfast is nice and carefully furbished. Colored chairs, tables of wood, nice lamps. The food was also nice and with a good choice of alternatives.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albrig71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay at Scandic Vulkan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our modern decor, comfy bed with nice pillows and tasteful breakfast which indeed gives you a great start of the day!

Grunerløkka is just 5 minutes away, a trendy area in Oslo. Next time you stay with us, kindly contact Front Desk and we will give to our best suggestions on what to do in this area.

A warm welcome back, we wish to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Man the bed is soft, comfy, plenty of pillows and heavy comforter, my favorite! Very modern look, bar was busy, cute girl at counter super friendly, not much to walk too within a couple blocks except a big gym. Dinner in the restraunt was a bit upscale for my tates. ya know where that thin slices of 4 pieces of chicken with some sauce around it and a couple of green balls of something is suppose to look pretty but never fill you up. Taste just fair. Bar has no energy drinks? huh? over all good stay as I didn't need to be anywhere today, just an airport tomorrow. Rooms are kind of funny as im in 623 wich is on the 2nd floor and you have to swipe your card for elevator to work.Rooms not huge, but plenty for 1 or 2. Don't know about the noise others talked about but I'm on the backside not facing street and it's really quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HUSA4342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank your for your feedback. We are happy you decided to stay with us at Scandic Vulkan.
Many of our guests comment on our comfortable beds, nice to hear you enjoyed them too!
Our restaurang and bar V serves a variety of Norwegian and tasty dishes. We focus on ecological and locally cultivated food.
Our building is 10 storeys high and as we care about the securiy of our guests, you need to use your key card in the elevator.

We hope to see you back at Scandic Vulkan soon again!

With my best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel is quite new and construction is still going on at the outside of the building. First the positive. The hotel looks fresh. The decor is "Scandinavian modern" with some nice elements.

The reason I stayed at this hotel was due to an even in the large venue in the same building as the hotel. I cannot see many other reasons why to pick this location. It's not VERY far from down-town, but too far to call it a down-town hotel. There is not very much to do right around the hotel and you would need to walk a bit to get anywhere. The rooms are small, but somewhat below average for scandinavian hotels. The fact that is was new also resulted in some problems paying for the room and I used almost 15 minutes just waiting for them to figure out how to charge my credit card. Construction on the outside started early and can be annoying.

Not terribly bad, but there are many other hotels in Oslo that give you much more value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerfectStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for taking your time and providing us with your valuable feedback.
Scandic Vulkan is located in a new and creative area where we allow space for different minds. Grünerløkka and St. Hanshaugen are two areas just a few minutes away where you find lots of boutiques, restaurants and cafés.
We apologize for the delay in check-out and hope we will be able to show ourselves from our best side next time you visit Oslo.

A warm welcome back!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed for 3 Nights .The room are exceptionally small .Decor is good but there in nothing in the room,No glasses to drink bottle(There was no bottle to drink first!!!!).I asked thrice for the glasses but nothing came!!Bathroom were clean but nothing fancy.The view was great from my room but too noisy.
On the last day water ran out from taps.Had a hard time doing brush and taking bath.It took them 3hrs to restore it.

Overall experience not that great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumit627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, which we take seriously and appreciate, and our apologies for a late reply.

We are sorry to hear about your experiences when staying with us. All rooms should be equipped with glasses and we apologize that this was not arranged for you.
Our rooms have many differens sizes. Please send me an email next time you visit Oslo and we will arrange a nice room for you.

We hope to see you back at Scandic Vulkan soon!

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Had a lovely stay at this new hotel in Oslo. Good location for getting about. Room was good, clean, and quiet. (we requested a quiet room having read previous reviews) Excellent shower/bath room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was really nice too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasaMuriloFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of Scandic Vulkan. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

A warm welcome back within the near future.

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend with my partner. The hotel itself is brand new, with a modern, urban/industrial look. It is located approx. 15 minutes walk from oslo city center (Karl Johan / Stortorvet), and only 2-3 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants at Grünerløkka. The rooms were slightly less than average size, but had sufficient space for two. However, there was only a small window in the left corner of the room, so combined with the dark grey wall paint, it was rather dark in the room. Also, I was slightly surprised that the room was not cleaned until late in the afternooen. I specifically requested a quiet room on check in, knowing that there is a nearby night club. The room was, however, as I requested, very quiet. Buffet breakfast was a typical, scandinavian hotel breakfast. Staff was very friendly. All in all a decent hotel, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Rooms facing the back yard were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback after staying with us at Scandic Vulkan.
We are happy to hear that you did get a quiet room as this was requested. Though, these rooms have a somewhat smaller window than the rooms facing the Vulkanarea.

A warm welcome back soon!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Grensen
#33 of 103 in Oslo
479 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 103 in Oslo
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Vulkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vulkan

Address: Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $128 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vulkan 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Vulkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing