We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable low quality for a 4 stars”
Review of Scandic Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Victoria
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Seemed nice in the web.Once arrived immediately realized that it did not deserved to be a 4 stars but a 3 stars hotel. Was given only one medium sized towel and a small one. Room was very small, bed was very small. Minibar was poor and included and bottle a white wine that was already opened and refilled with something else. At least reception was professional and gentle. Unacceptable as a 3 stars, would have not minded if it was presented as a 3 stars and much lower price. Location is good. You are next door to ORO, a very nice bar grill and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romanoinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 945 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Situated in close vicinity to the Royal Palace, the Parliament, the National Theatre and the City Hall you would expect some disturbance, but the hotel turns out to be in a very quiet spot.

With regard to the hotel itself it offers nice rooms, an excellent breakfast and a friendly and efficient staff.

Stayed for a week and will not hesitate to recommend the services of the Rica Victoria Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A very nice breakfast to start the day, I would really recommend to improve the coffee. Variety of cold and hot food, fresh juice as well, fresh baked pastries too. They are famous for their breakfast in Oslo apparently.

Its a big hotel about 7 mins from National theator train station, so easy to get to and in the center. You can request any room preference and they are mostly gracious enough to oblige. The bar is also good and open till 11AM. There is no restaurant but they do have room service which I didn't use. This is not a problem as there are many options 2 mins walk away.

If you need to use an iron, you have to use a ironing room, strange they cant provide this simple thing in the room. Rooms have trouser presses but you have to go to the ironing room for a shirt. But based on experience in other hotels in the center, this is not unusual, but quite strange for me.

Would definitely stay here again though as overall it is a good place and good value too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quite big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

this is very pleasant experince to stay here in the heart of Oslo..........................
enjoyed

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bhim K C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great hotel, fantastic breakfast, slow elevators but hey, not everything can be peachy!
The staff are very nice, the reception welcomed us warmly. We got a nice room on the 9th floor. We had an outdoor "area", not a balcony yet it was nice to be able to stretch your legs a little more than just in the room. Breakfast was very good and the hotel clean and neat. I would stay there again!

I <3 Rica

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArneKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband has stayed at this hotel on business more than six times, and I went with him this time so I could visit Oslo. On the plus side, this was one of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever been in. Everything was clean. There was a bench large enough to place and open two suitcases. There is a mini-bar and a large flat panel screen TV that was mounted on an adjustable arm. It's an easy 4 block walk from the National Theater subway station, two blocks from the harbor (Oslofjorden) and two blocks from City Information where you can purchase an Oslo Pass which allows you to travel on any public transport and enter many museums without charge for 24 hrs. (a great deal!).
On the minus side, the hotel has an unusual front door. It is small, right on the corner of the building and is diagonal to the street. There is a sign up high on the side of the building, but it's not directly above the door. Keep your eyes open! Also, the closet is very small and had only 4 hangers. My husband had to hang all his dress shirts on one hanger because we needed the other ones for our winter coats and his pants. The large desk was not designed with a computer in mind because there is not an electrical outlet nearby. My husband had to sit on the bed to be near an outlet.
The hotel staff is cordial, friendly and professional. The delicious breakfast each morning had a huge array of breads, eggs, meats, yogurts, 4 different kinds of milk (skim, 1% 2% and full fat) fruit and cereal, make your own waffles and more, and it was all presented beautifully. I would especially recommend this hotel for a family coming to Oslo on vacation because of it's location and room size.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and really liked this hotel. I took the advice of other Trip Advisor reviews and asked for a high floor and a street view - I was on the 9th floor which was basically like an attic conversion which I actually liked as it was different to the norm. You'll see from my pictures what I mean. There is a clock nearby that rings every 15 mins or it could be every hour can't remember but it does stop at midnight so if you goto bed early you might want to consider this - ask for a room facing away from the clock - I felt I was right beside it! There was a huge array for breakfast which I liked alot. One poor thing was the lift service - it took forever to get up to the ninth floor at times plus only one lift services the 8,9,10th floors - the second lift services 1-7 floors so if your room is on any of these floors you have 2 lifts to choose from. One thing that's important that I didn't realise straight away is that your door to the room does not lock automatically on entering or leaving. On entering the room you need to lock the door manually and on leaving the room you need to use the other end of your key card to lock the door - the key card has 2 colour arrows at each end of the card (Green/Red).This hotel is also centrally located in the heart of Oslo and walking distance to many of the attractions too.

Room Tip: On entering the room you need to lock the door manually and on leaving the room you need to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
1,020 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Victoria

Address: Rosenkrantz' gate 13, Oslo 0160, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $109 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Victoria is a first-class business hotel in the heart of Oslo. Aker Brygge, the Parliament, Karl Johans gate are all within short walking distance. The hotel has 199 spacious, light and comfortable rooms, some of which are suites. The hotel has several meeting rooms and a large atrium ideal for mini-fairs and exhibitions, receptions, lunches and dinners. A large and varied buffet lunch is served daily in the atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Victoria Oslo
Oslo Rica Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing