We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff for sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Holberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Holberg
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice staff for sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good location, just across the last stop of SAS buss from the Airport. Great breakfast, especially the fruits and freshly squeezed juices. The staff at the lobby is great, very helpful and friendly. The only problem…bathroom is too small, (including toilet), very very small… very uncomfortable

So, maximum of stay 2 days

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to review Rica Holberg Hotel here on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is valuable for us.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel has different sized bathrooms and we recommend you to ask us on arrival if you would like a larger sized room. We also offer an upgrade for a small extra charge.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to your return on your next visit to Oslo.

Best Regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    191
    103
    34
    10
See reviews for
48
133
52
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked twice, but the first time they were overbooked, and we were directed to another hotel. This time they offered an upgrade to a bigger room for a small amount. Quite, clean room. Short walk to the train station with direct train to airport

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is valuable for us.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Centrally located - just where the airport bus stops and a short walk from the harbour/shops/museums. Excellent breakfasts, friendly service - it is the first time I've ever been asked whether I was content with a shower or would prefer a bath, and I appreciated that. My room was not large, but it was plenty big enough, everything seemed very modern. There was a 'pillow menu'. I did hear the trams, but never noticed them through the night so if they did run they were not loud. Plenty of places to eat around and about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of Rica Holberg Hotel and I am extremely happy that you had a nice stay with us. A good night sleep and a good start of the day with our "Good Morning" breakfast buffet.

Rica Hotels is committed to do our best to make you sleep well with us. We are now offering a pillow menu in all our rooms. With five different pillow options we want you to choose the pillow that fits you best.

We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Oslo and we are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights during the middle of the week. Not the largest room in the world nor the biggest bathroom but very comfortable, warm and quiet - the very thick door helps. I was offered a room at the front or the quieter back. In fact the only sounds you can hear from the front are the trams which aren't that noisy and the room had a small balcony. Breakfast is good with a good range of cold and hot food. Very welcoming and helpful front-desk staff. Good location for the city centre and close to a park. Walking distance to the Opera House railway station which serves the airport. It is, though, quicker to use the stairs than the lift!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of Rica Holberg Hotel and I am extremely happy that you had a nice stay with us. A good night sleep and a good start of the day with our "Good Morning" breakfast buffet.

I will forward your comments to my colleagues at the front desk, positive feedback is important for us to achieve even better.

We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Oslo and we are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean, comfortable room. On the small side, but adequate and functional room with a comfortable bed. Almost half the price of the hotel where others in my group were staying and I think I had just as good a night's rest! The breakfast is kind of reminiscent of a school cafeteria - not very charming - but the food was good. Short work or bus/tram ride from main train station. When you arrive you will first see the sister hostel - full of students - and then go around the corner to the hotel. Have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your great review of our property Rica Holberg Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The restaurant team strives to serve a breakfast of superb quality. "Good Morning" is the name of Rica Hotels' exciting focus on breakfast.

Our breakfast gives you energy for the rest of the day and includes freshly squeezed juice with exciting ingredients, nutritious cereals, our own fresh bread, and our popular hot smoked salmon with cocoa and chili. And yes, you are allowed to eat eggs and bacon too!

Looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

...is difficult, but the Rica Holberg is a good start. A comfortable mid-range hotel a few minutes walk from the centre of Oslo (or the tram stops right outside) with incredibly helpful staff and a great breakfast included in the rate.

Room Tip: Note that single rooms really are! i.e. you get a small room and a single bed (quite usual for Oslo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review of our property Rica Holberg Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will forward your comments to my colleagues as we all do appreciate feedback from our guests.

For you next visit to Oslo I would recommend you to upgrade to a double or a superior double if you would like more space.

Looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Comfortable hotel, large room luckily without carpet. Small bathroom but warm and well working.
Breakfast nice lika at all Rica hotels, but a lot of irritation from slow working elevator ( there is only one). Also the staff are using this to a large extend, you may wait for minutes for it.
Stayed 3 days, my keycard stopped working twice, reception staff blaming my mobile !
Never happend before.
Fix the elevator and I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stei-ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Rica Holberg Hotel. We do appreciate your comment which is important for us to achieve even better in the future.

We are sorry that the elevator service was unstable during your visit. The problem was fixed just after your visit. We have also taken measures to make sure that staff does not use the elevator in the most busy period in the morning.

We do hope to see you again and please make sure to contact med on your nest visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#32 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holberg

Property: Scandic Holberg
Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#27 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Holberg hotel is located in the centre of Oslo and is within walking distance of Karl Johans Gate and Aker Brygge as well as shops and museums. A hearty breakfast is served in our restaurant which also serves lunch and dinner on request. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 70 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing