We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very good for the Flybussen from the airport as it stops outside. Acceptable bedroom - like all norwegian hotels no extras like tissues - breakfast was good but although paid for they did not serve early enough for us to have it on the day we departed. THey did have coffee and tea in teh recpetion area wihvc was something. Can walk most places. from this destiantion. Limited information - you cannot buy the Oslo Pass anywhere but the visitor centre (everyone tried to sell us travel cards but as we knew the price we declined) However Oslo and Norway generally seems to close at Easter so perhaps the more informed people were not available.
WE turned the heating off and were comfortable although there was snow on the ground as it was warm enough.
Although we had a doulbe room there was only one single duvet and had to ask for a second the following morning - our fault we did not notice ! But that should not happen. The doors opened outwards which was different !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne9837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    786
    522
    221
    114
See reviews for
301
583
142
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This used to be one of the better hotels in Oslo where you always expected high class service and experience. Not so anymore... Ok with that, it is starting to get old and I expect that they will do some refurbishing sooner or later. If you don't smoke, you chose to get a non smoker room, but... it is still there, even if someone haven't smoked there for a while. Spoke to at least 4 or 5 persons this evening who complained abouth the same thing. What really anoyes me is the constant queue in the reception and th level of the people working there. It seems that most of them were apprentices and the people that could help them were most of the time hiding in the back office. When there are a queue of more then 4-5 persons in line, you get more staff. They could do a trip to same owners hotel Plaza where the reception is always handled ok and learn something.

No, we prefer the Plaza

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlteEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My third choice in hotels in Oslo. One block from the Palace, and good proximity to the tourist areas lining Karl Johan's Gate, the main tourist avenue going from Parliament to the Palace. If you arrive as Oslo Airport, save cab or other fare and take the Flytoget, the airport express train to Nationaltheatret. The hotel,is two blocks' walk from there. With a one week Oslo municipal transit pass you can get almost anywhere,you need to go without paying the exorbitant cab fares.

Hotel is very basic by US or UK standards, but like everything in Oslo is luxury priced. Get an upgrade to a business class room if you can, as some of the things we take for granted in US/UK hotels (iron, minibar, slippers, etc.) are only in business class rooms. Breakfast is included and is decent buffet with Scandanavian and other breakfast items available. The hotel restaurant is terrible.

Room Tip: Get a high room with a view toward the harbor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is fine and did the trick for a long weekend over Easter. Check in was efficient and the ladies at reception all nice and polite.

Our room was directly opposite the elevators so we were concerned about noise but it was surprisingly quiet. The room had nice views overlooking the city and all the usual amenities. However it did look very tired and could do with some TLC. There were exposed wires next to the bed, loads of markings and dents on the walls, loose tiles in the bathroom and it was all a little dusty. The bed only came with one single duvet but there was an extra one in the cupboard.

The gym and pool was functional and we made use of both of them. The breakfast was amazing with a massive selection of just about anything you could ask for.

The location was very convenient and walking distance to most places. The bus stop to the airport is right outside the hotel and the train isn't far away at all.

However, I wouldn’t recommend going to Oslo over Easter. Shops were closed Thursday, Friday, most of Saturday and Sunday – the city was a ghost town. Even the Summit Bar in the hotel was closed all weekend which was a massive disappointment and only one sign in Norwegian was put up to tell us that. When we asked if something was open we were literally laughed at (hotel staff inclusive) and told “it’s Easter”... Like it’s a given everything would be closed for 4 days. I would have expected something like a hotel bar to be open!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiki_Touring_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is one of three Raddisson Blu hotels in Oslo. It's close. To the harbour and and tourist attractions but not close to the train station which has the silver fast train to the airport. It's old and the rooms are clean but in need of an upgrade. Ok but tired. It has two big advantages over the other hotels. It's got a great sky bar on the 21st floor with views over the city and fjord and a fab breakfast which could easily set you up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattheda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Easy check-in. Friendly staff and modern rooms. Clean place. Very good breakfast.
Serving business newspapers at breakfast too. Also easy to use WIFI all over the hotel.
The hotel are located close to Karl Johan, the main street in Oslo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaareBottolfsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have stayed here several times (some 15 nights in total) and have mixed feelings about this joint. On the plus side:
- It is located near the National Theater train station, so you can easily reach this hotel from the aiport by taking the Flytoget high speed train. Many other cities can be reached from this station too.
- Plenty of restaurants near the hotel.
- Internet access is above average in terms of reliability and speed, and it's free for guests.
- The television set is BIG and has plenty of channels including CNN and BBC World.
- The gym, pool and sauna are spot-on. Generous opening hours (6 AM - 10 PM) and again absolutely free.

That's all the good news. This rest is underwhelming, to say the least.
- The rooms may have been decorated in the early 80s or so. Outdated, damaged - definitely not worthy of a Radisson hotel.
- The rooms lack a safety deposit box. Yes, Oslo is quite safe, but I'd rather leave my laptop and photo gear in a safe place when going out.
- O no, not again: a room with a Silly Bath Tub. Hey, business travelers like me look for efficiency, so most of us take a quick shower.
- The bathroom lacks a power outlet, so where to go with your shaver or electric tooth brush?
- In this price range I count on in-room coffee making facilities.
- Is hoovering the room not included in the price??? My did-they-hoover-today test produced some nasty results. O, and most of the usual stuff in the bath room was missing and wasn't replenished (body lotion, shower cap, etc.).
- Does the wake-up alarm have to be so loud that your day starts with a mild heart attack?
- Walk into the restaurant for your breakfast and you'll see a thermos with "cofee" on each table. God knows how long they have been there. Judging from the taste: quite a long time. Stop it and give as a few espresso machines!
- Norwegian newspapers only. So what about us, poor foreigners?

Bottom line is that I get the strong impression that most staff members just don't care, and it shows. No smiles, no "did you enjoy your stay with us?", no "good morning, what's your room number please?". The owner of this hotel should be forced to spend a week in this hotel as an under-cover guest. Maybe things will improve then.

Room Tip: Nice view from the higher floors, so ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#10 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Address: Holbergs gate 30, Oslo 0166, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel is located in downtown Oslo, and is just a short walk from the Royal Palace and the main street Karl Johans Gate. Here you will find restaurants, bars, shops, galleries and famous sights. Easy access to Oslo Airport with the airport bus just outside the hotel entrance, or via Nasjonaltheateret station. 499 guest rooms and suites which combine timeless elegance with high comfort. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs and safes. Wireless high speed internet is included. We offer our hotel guests free access to a gym and swimming pool for a refreshing morning! The hotel restaurant, Enzo Restaurant & Bar serves an international menu based on Norwegian ingredients. From Summit Bar on the 21th floor hotel, you can experience the city's most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing