We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, above average with awesome breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good hotel, above average with awesome breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel above average, but the room need some improvement like carpets looks old enough, the toilet is 70's, the bathtub need to upgrade to new one.

The best thing of this hotel was the breakfast! Very very best breakfast. Position of the hotel good, near downtown, Karl Johan gate just 15minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    777
    519
    220
    113
See reviews for
296
579
142
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just spent a weekend at this hotel. Enjoyed lovely king crab at the Enzo restaurant. And the Skybar has probably the best view in Oslo

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreasfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I recently stayed at the Radisson (Blu) Scandinavia for business, the location was pretty good and the breakfast was decent too, the roof bar also had quite a view, and that was it for good points. Suffice it to say, if I visit Oslo again for work, this hotel will not be seeing me again. Indeed, the fact my company paid for my visit and I still wouldn't give this hotel money (that isn't even mine) I think speaks volumes. And there were quite a few reasons that mean I would never return.

When we arrived we were told the check-in system was down, no problem though, checked in quickly and room card was given. Except when I opened my door I was met with someone else’s shoes and jackets hanging up. Luckily they weren't in the room, my colleague who checked in late the next day and was met by a rather concerned occupant of his room wasn't so lucky.

One of my colleagues who visited previously was upgraded to a 'business room'. I on the other hand was given a room (512) akin to one I would expect to see in a hotel decorated a decade ago. It was a dated room with a set of curtains which I had to use a side table to pin closed as there was a 1ft gap between the two ends, bathroom with a retractable clothes line and shower curtain, and two twin beds you could keep together if you tried. Not to mention the TV had about 6 total channels that weren't 'pay'. Oh, and when I looked for a bottle opener for the drinks in the mini bar it was to be found in the BATHroom screwed into wall next to the toilet roll holder (no, I'm not joking!).
I've attached a few pics, the discrepancy between the standard room and my colleagues’ upgraded 'business' room of 'oakish' furniture, walk-in shower and lcd wall mounted TV is stark to say the least. I have no idea what the price difference is under normal circumstances but I would hope the standard room is VERY cheap, because certainly it looked it. And if the upgrade was is the idea this hotel has to keep their customers it unfortunately didn't pay off as my colleague might but I certainly won't be back.

Returning back from work quite late on one evening after a long day and I was met with the information that the restaurant was closed and room service stopped at 10:30pm. I've stayed in Travelodge hotels that have room service open later than that, even if it's just for a sandwich. I found that quite laughable to be honest for a 'Radisson'.

Suffering that bit of information I arrived at my room to find my card was disabled. Heading back down in the lift I was met by my colleague who had a dead card too.

All-in-all, quite simply, unless you get an amazing rate, I wouldn't advise staying in this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Evidently floor 10 has the refurbished 'upgrade' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v1per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
South West London/Surrey
Level Contributor
287 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I previously stayed here in November 2010, and although back then I was very happy with the public areas in the hotel, it was let down by the very dated bedrooms, but now there has been a long overdue refurb, and everything is now excellent.

The hotel is in an excellent position, with everything in Central Oslo in walking distance, we walked from the main train station in around 15 minutes. National Theatre train station is only 5 minutes walk away too, and the restaurants at the harbour front only 10 minutes walk.

Reception area is large and inviting, with a well stocked shop, there is a downstairs open plan bar next to reception, plus the restaurant for evening meals. The breakfast room is very large (no problems at all getting a table at 08:30, unlike many other hotels). The 21st floor bar overlooking Oslo is a must see, the views are fantastic, although I havent been lucky enough to see the view in daylight yet ;-)

The newly refurbed guest room was large, and of course now modern, the bathroom was maybe a little on the small side in comparison to the bedroom, but definitely sufficient, and the shower was huge.

The room refurb has totally changed my view on this hotel, and I will stay here on every return visit to Oslo without question, no need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a 'superior' room via Expedia. We were given room 1907. Great view but that was all. Room looked like a 70's time warp complete with orange wallpaper. No storage space, tatty bathroom with mould and broken/missing tiles. We were kept awake all night with an intermittent sound like somebody drilling concrete. Found out that we were situated across from the elevator plant. Had a truly awful breakfast. Good quality cold meats/fish/cereals chees etc. but all hot dishes were absolutely cold. So cold to be almost dangerous - the only heating apparent was a couple of candles under each tray.. Asked to change room and this was grudgingly done - to a 'business' room. This had been refurbished and was the same as the pictures on Expedia and the Hotel's website. This was an ok room but breakfast the next day was just as dreadful. Waited until fresh 'hot' food came from the kitchen - still cold. What are they thinking about. At best a 3-star hotel and at worst a 2-star. Holiday Inn Express is a far higher standard. So suprised that this is a Radisson Hotel. If they complete the refurbishment (like now) and sort out the chef I might stay again but my next trip to Oslo will be to somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a 'business' room on a high floor facing the fjord. Tram noise is very apparent even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorHouston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Good, free Internet service was the high point of the stay. Otherwise it was dirty and expensive. The shower was moldy and not very clean, and there was hair and other indications the floors had not been properly cleaned. The thermostat was apparently completely ornamental since the room never got above frigid. Room service was exceptionally pricey: 40 USD for a BLT after the service charge.

The included breakfast was nice and a good selection. The wifi was pretty decent with enough bandwidth for video Skype. The location was nice, too, being only a ~5 minute walk to the T-bane. Thankfully there were a few cheap options for eating outside of the hotel, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Without doubt the best thing about this place is the cocktail bar on the 21st floor and the views that go along with it, amazing, the hotel is a little out of the main hub of the city but close to the park where the royal family reside, the concierge service is great and will recommened and help book you into anything (mainly summer events happen in Oslo, and I found alot of the standard tours that would normally run had stopped). The staff as it seems all Norwegians are extremely helpful and friendly. Spotlessly clean (I was in the brand new wing so ask for a renovated room, my friends room was not up to the same standard at all). There is no spa or pool, the lobby shop sells papers from all over the world and the hotel has a great couple of resturants if you want something onsite. I would say this is more of a business / city break hotel instead of a couple romantic or friend get away.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Grand Hotel
#17 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Address: Holbergs gate 30, Oslo 0166, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel is located in downtown Oslo, and is just a short walk from the Royal Palace and the main street Karl Johans Gate. Here you will find restaurants, bars, shops, galleries and famous sights. Easy access to Oslo Airport with the airport bus just outside the hotel entrance, or via Nasjonaltheateret station. 499 guest rooms and suites which combine timeless elegance with high comfort. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs and safes. Wireless high speed internet is included. We offer our hotel guests free access to a gym and swimming pool for a refreshing morning! The hotel restaurant, Enzo Restaurant & Bar serves an international menu based on Norwegian ingredients. From Summit Bar on the 21th floor hotel, you can experience the city's most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing