We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superior in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“superior in every way”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

not sure what i expected, tallest structure in northern Europe. Expected something more than a desk clerk who referred to the hotel as "twenty years old." Also, at $250 and up a night, business class definitely overpriced but i enjoyed a $100 dinner at 34 more than i have in a long time and Tore in the bar was definitely top of the line. Not sure i'd stay there again but good for 2 nights. i think it might help such a business oriented hotel to ask guests what they need or would like, didn't seem to me the sauna and pool were getting many takers, as they're almost impossible to find except when looking directly up from the rooftop restaurant. Ditto city sites, as no concierge.

Room Tip: not sure what you can do, you can spend $50 for upgrade but i didn't see anything upgraded about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufkdlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    1,445
    746
    210
    79
See reviews for
465
955
228
1,193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, il
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a huge hotel in a great location. Travelers looking for more charm or character should look elsewhere because this is a large chain catering to business travelers and groups.

We were given a business class room on the 29th floor. It was very comfortable and had beautiful views. I would have recommended trying to get a room on a top floor but there was an event (a wedding maybe?) and the event space is on the 33rd floor. The music from the event was so loud in our room even though we were four floors away. It kept us awake until after 1:30am. We called the front desk to complain around 11pm and ask for a new room or earplugs. They said they could not help us but would send security to the 33rd floor to ask them to turn the music down. We stayed on a Saturday night so we expected the hotel and nearby area to be buzzing with nightlife, but I was shocked that a hotel in a building of this size would have such huge problems sound-proofing.

In pricey Oslo, it was nice to have breakfast included. But the breakfast is a zoo, we waited in very long lines for average food and had to fight for a table for 2. It wasn't worth the stress but NOTHING is open in Oslo on Sundays.

We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Large chain big hotel - it was probably on par with what you'd expect.

But some odd things even for a radisson: no porter on arrival, room cleaning / towels just didn't happen even through they had been in the room, and they booked us a boat cruise to find out it had t been and it had sold out.

Location for trains is good, but a walk in the other direction and it's pretty shady (unsafe) part of town.

And lastly; we'd upgraded and were expecting the views of the city and fjord, but they had us looking at some office blocks. But the suite was spacious and clean (when they did clean it).

One more thing; if you want to see "Norway", my tip is head straight for the west coast, skipping Olso.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reklaw_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I were in Oslo last weekends for the Michael Mcintyre show in Oslo Spektrum and decided to check ourselves in in Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. That was a decision that I was very satisfied with: the hotel was so conveniently located (right next to the Spektrum, minutes walk from the city center) and the service from the staff was superb.
As parking in Oslo center was always a headache for us, we were relieved to find out that Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel offers valet parking services for the price of NOK 375 (24 hours). All we have to do is to leave our keys at the reception and promptly inform when we need the car to be ready.
The room that we gotten is standard, non smoking guest room with queen sized bed, located on the 8th floor. If you are one that likes to have the curtains undrawn, it may be advisable to ask for a room no lower than on the 8th floor.
The breakfast was standard, but was of a good variety. The only issue we experienced when we headed to the restaurant in the morning for our breakfast was that there are so many people! There are long queue to enter the restaurant, long queue to get the food and almost all of the tables are filled, we had to sit at tables located outside of the entrance. However, I had to recommend on the service of the staff: they are fast to clean up the used dishes, replenish the food and drinks and while the restaurant was packed full of hungry guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After staying previous night at Park Inn I stayed one night at this very conveniently located business hotel. Breakfast was sumptuous, other than that not much difference between Park Inn and this hotel. Considering the tariff difference, one could opt for Park Inn if on a economy budget and willing to travel 1 km more. The bar at the top floor has a nice view over Oslo city, recommend it!

Room Tip: Check-in at peak hours could take time; there is an express check-out facility. Use it if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay while visiting Oslo. Easy to walk to favorite locations and also close to public transportation. Our room had a great view of the harbor area, and although the room was not huge by any means, it served our needs well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The Radisson Blu is outstanding, centrally located, clean, friendly, and all the amenities that one could want. It is connected to the central train and bus stations. The hotel is only about 30 meters from the train station and approximately 40 to 45 meters from the bus station. (Beware that the walkway gets rather grungy late at night and even worse on weekends. Oslo is very clean, but the walkway and bridge are the exception. Dog waste, food, food wrappers and other item of different degrees of filth are on the walkway toward the hotel- simply look at where you are walking- it is still the best way to the hotel.)

The Radisson itself, is spotlessly clean, modern, and in an excellent location to get to almost any place in the center of Oslo. It was my first time in Oslo, and when I checked in the lady at the desk was extremely helpful and took time to review the local transportation, sights, and mentioned some of the events for that the weekend.

I stayed on the 32nd floor and had a good view. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and everything was in good working order. It was extremely quiet on the floor and elevator was very fast getting to and from the floor. Although I never watched any, I was told all movies were free. I am not sure if that was just that weekend or at all times.

The breakfast is one of the best I have experienced at any hotel. Each morning the same lady, Ana Paula, greeted me and had my tea waiting for me before I had my first dish. The food, particularly the salmon and the breads were very good and setting was very quiet.

I had one miner issue. When I arrived at the hotel I wanted to get some dinner. The lady at the desk suggested that it would be fastest to go to the 34th floor and get a light meal there. I left my bags in the room and went directly to the 34th floor, by that time it was 10:30. The hostess told me the kitchen had just closed for the night and suggested that I go to one of the surrounding restaurants. I was surprised that they could not have made a salad 30 minutes prior to their stated closing time.

I highly recommend the Radisson Blue Plaza, as I would not hesitation staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bathurst-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 101 in Oslo
2,109 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Grand Hotel
#10 of 101 in Oslo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#23 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing