We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

I am a regular customer, staying there 4-5 times a year, so am biased. Granted, the other Radisson by the Royal Palace is better (if nothing else, the location next to the bus and train station of this one means lots of shady characters hanging out outside), but I have stayed at the Plaza one so many times it feels like home. A home where they recognize you, where they give you the same room if you request, where the internet is free and fast, the cleaning lady loyal, the mostly empty pool (except for the usual hours of athletes, i.e. 6 am) welcoming, where you learn to avoid the breakfast room from 7:30 to 8:30 am and the check out area at 9 am or 12pm. It is a very busy hotel, but if you can avoid the mass rush hours, it can feel quite exclusive. The restaurant on the top floor has a gourmet menu to knock you off your senses. I have done a lot of writing in that hotel, with nothing to interrupt but the two birds eye views of the city: Oslo in white mostly, and Oslo in green during the short blessed summer months.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bukhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    1,385
    711
    201
    74
See reviews for
446
917
212
1,142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

34rh floor pool, sauna and gym nice features. Hallways dark and worn but rooms modern, brightly furnished. Free fast wifi!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I came recently to Norway and stayed at the Plaza on the front and back end of our trip. My occasion was business, but we used the opportunity to celebrate an anniversary together. I contacted the manager in advance as was directed how to ask for my room -- on the 23rd level with an Ekeberg view, which is what I did. This is the top level for non-business class. When I arrived I was surprised to find that we had been upgraded to the next floor, and on the backend, to the 25th, without question. The room was clean and altogether superior -- the best bed and overall room I experienced in Norway (though as others have written, Scandanavian hotels should not be judged for their opulence/size, etc. against 4 or 5 star hotels in the States and elsewhere...hence rating of 4 for value). The views of the city and of the fjord were an added bonus. Since we were coming in late both nights, the ability to roll out of the train station and into the hotel was especially desirable; also because on the last morning my wife had an early plane out of town. As vegans, the free breakfast was more than ample and we were very happy to find soy and rice milks provided without even having to ask. In terms of service, the front desk was very helpful. We forgot our power converters and needed for our laptops. We were lent converters for our stay; and, in fact, on the final night when the gentleman who was assisting us could not find a US adapter, he simply took out his own Ipad with one attached and gave it to us instead. Now that's going the extra step. I rate a 4 for cleanliness only because when we checked in the second time, on a monday night, we arrived at our room (nonsmoking) to find it filled with putrid smoke odor. When we returned to the lobby, we were informed that unfortunately weekend guests regularly disobey the smoking rules and it is not uncommon for the rooms post-weekend to be found in the condition we found ours. But after apologies, we were given another room and this one was just fine. One final critique is that despite having written ahead of time, the top-level restaurant could not serve vegans. This was too bad b/c the views there were phenomenal and it was very romantic. There is an adjoining bar, though, and my wife and I had a drink. It's expensive, as others have said, but for the traveler to Norway, this is true of most things. The room service menu does have a veggieburger that is more than adequate, but one must make sure to ask for no aioli in a case such as our's. We also found that the kitchen closes sharply at 11pm, which was too bad for us our final night as our train ran late and we didn't get to the hotel until 11:01. Despite the front lobby doing everything they could to enjoin the kitchen to serve us, they were refused and so we went hungry. I don't hold it against the hotel, but in an absolutely perfect world, someone might have found a way to get us something like dinner. Again, we're "difficult" customers because of our non-mainstream dietary restrictions, though. Otherwise, we could have had a great meal in the upstairs restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for 23rd floor, ekeberg view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank profsustainability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stay several times per year in this hotel, always very late check in and only one night. For this, the house is quite OK. One can fall from the train into the hotel bed, and this is the only reason I choose it. Service is sub-average, breakfast OK. They have a sauna (small but nice) and a pool (miniscule and cold) upstairs.
Sum: in case you want to sleep, have a hearty breakfast and nothing else, this place is sufficient. In case you come for a longer stay and want to enjoy the hotel you stay in more, chose differently (e.g. Grandhotel on Carl-Johans-Gata).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjoernBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Staff is very kind and always eager to help, this makes a nice feeling that the guests are welcomed.
The furniture is the good standard - table, chair and sofa. The internet connection is very stable with good bandwith.
You might miss some electric sockets near very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

The hotel is very average, with rooms that feel like they have some 10 - 20 years since the last refurbishment.
The service I received was definately sub-par. It took 4 requests to even get an iron to the room. In the morning they couldn't even supply an iron at all - not a good start for a working day.

Don't worry too much about the customer satisfaction guarantee though - both my requests to take advantage of this was denied (Very strange for a customer satisfaction guarantee).

Not going back!

Room Tip: Choose anothe hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed one night at this hotel. Arrived just after 1pm on a Saturday. All the 4 check in desks had queues half way back to the entrance! They were efficient though, but didn't have a room ready for us. Was offered to upgrade to business class which is immediately available for an extra NK500, we turned it down and came back to check in at night, upon which I think they over sold the standard rooms so we were upgraded free of charge to a junior suite. Well, the room is obviously quite big with a living room. Modern decors, mostly clean, very nicely set room temperature. Only downside is the bathroom which look a bit outdated, but still clean and functions fine.

Buffet breakfast was included. Again it was rather busy, but the service coped well, with ample amount/varieties of food on offer. But they got so busy that other guests had to share a table with us. Not a huge problem, but sharing a table at a 5 star property didn't sound right.

On the second day, Oslo was pouring. We ask for an umbrella, none was available... Again, not quite 5 stars here.

Location is great, very close to metro, bus and train terminals, walking distance to Karl Johans Gate, buses and trams stops are near by too.

Overall, a very decent hotel at a good location , but it was way too busy for leisure travellers, more suited for business.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#21 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#23 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing