We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to regular hotel”
Review of Chateau Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Apartments
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located in the fashionable Grünerlökka district, these serviced appartments are a useful alternative to a regular hotel. The building is situated a few minutes from a tram stop, but also even reachable by foot from the railway station (ca 15 mins). The reception is not always open and it is advisable to call ahead and tell them when you come. The hallways are drab and the rooms do not contain any amenities (don't forget your shampoo). They are not serviced daily. On the positive side, the rooms are fresh and large. I had a very large sitting room with dining table and open kitchen, plus a bath room, bed room and even walk-in wardrobe. The price is slightly below that of a regular hotel. If you do not need all hotel services, but would like some space, this is a useful alternative. One odd thing: I needed to extend my stay, but the receptionists could handle that; instead, I was referred to a sales manager, to be contacted via email. I thought that was too cumbersome, so I went somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inner court are quieter, but you need to close your curtains at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just back from Oslo. Got this on bookings.com - 350 euro for three nights for a 2 bedroomed apartment. Not bad, not at all. I thought it was OK. My 17 year old son was not too impressed. He thought it was dirty.... maybe it was the room he was in. We had a living room/kitchen, 2 bedrooms. It was central, just up the street was an area with shops, restaurants, so we could pick up snacks and drinks. Oslo is expensive, especially for eating out. A nice city, great things to do an see. The bloody Munch museum happened to be closed when we were there and I really wanted to see THE SCREAM. Did a hop on/hop off ferry trip and visited the Museum area. I am not a spoilt 17 year old so this place was fine for me. The sheets could do with a bit of a makeover as some of them were torn and extra pillows and duvets would come in handy. For an expensive city this was a total bargain.

Room Tip: Great deal/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maura-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We rented this apartment for four nights. It is a bit away from the train station area, about a 25 minute walk. The apartment was 525 sq ft with two bedrooms, a kitchen area, big refrigerator and dining room/living room. Wifi worked well. There were also two bathrooms (big). The showers were a bit different. There was only a shower curtain so had to be careful about water flowing to the rest of the bathroom floors. The people at the desk leave at 11pm. You use codes to get into the building as well as for your apartment. Price was about $160 USD per night. The building is only about three years old. The building lies on a dead-end street two blocks from a main street which has grocery stores, restaurants, and one of the few state-owned liquor stores in town. The ground floor has four washers and one dryer which are free to the guests, but bring your own detergent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a one bedroom apartment. Payed NOK 900, so that's not bad. But you get what you pay for...
The area was chabby and it was a construction site so much noise outside my window. Bedroom was narrow so I had to climb over the bed to close the curtaines. Bed was good.

Couch was cheap and not good to sit in. Chairs was not good. Kitchen was nice with lots of equipment. Bathroom was not clean and it was cold with cheap furniture. The living area was cold too. So the heat didn't work. Lucky for me it was not winter time. But still it was too cold in the apartment.

I was out of the apartment two times. Both times I got back I didn't manage to open the door to the building. After pressing the 4 digit code 4 times the door opened (but I think that the reception opened for me both times).

Next time i find something else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trondheim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very luxurius apartment. It is very spaceful and very clean and modern. We were 4 people in the apartment and we had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living room, dining room and a well equiped kitchen. Everything inside is new and the appartment is very modern with all the conditions you need. At first we were afraid of the area because we read that is dangerous but we found out that there is a well located hotel with bus stops very close. It is an excellent choise and we wish we could stay again at chateau apartments.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirinibozini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 4 bed apartment for 5 nights with work colleagues. This apartment complex offers excellent value in Oslo (which is very expensive!). It is a little like living in an ikea showroom, but that is ok. The main problems are: in the 4 bed apartment the layout is very odd, where the upstairs three bedrooms are all connected (ie you have to walk through other bedrooms to get to the last room), there are not real sheets on the bed (they are more like a toweling under sheet and very uncomfortable) and there are only towels (no hand towels or bath mats). If the management fixed these linen issues it would be a much more pleasant experience to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tallowood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Finding affordable accommodations in Norway is a challenge that the Chateau Apartments helps solve. The apartments are newly renovated neat and clean and quite spacious, although our beds mostly filled the small bedroom, but there was a separate lounge, kitchen, and a large and non furnished dining room! The bathroom was like much of Sweden a roomy tiled combination toilette and shower stall. (Just watch the slippery when wet surfaces.) Bedding and towels were provided but not changed daily as this is an apartment and not a hotel. The kitchen had two of everything and a large refrigerator and freezer. So you could easily buy groceries(there are markets close by) and keep your restaurant bill down. But it is close to many good restaurants as Gruneloka is the young and hip restaurant district. Only downside were noisy night clubs in the area especially on weekends. But if you are young and want to be in on the fun that would be an upside? No air-conditioning in most of Oslo so you’ll need to leave your windows open. The Mathallen is an upscale marketplace full of goodies close by (except on Mondays closed). Main tram street and bus lines are 2 easy blocks away. Hop on and you’ll be everyplace you want to go in a few minutes. There is limited parking if you have a car, but we found a spot to park on the street around the corner that was no fee, and left the car there using public transportation (tram, bus, and T-bahn underground, and some ferries) with our Oslo Card for getting around during our four night stay. If you need someone to hold your hand, book into a hotel, but if you are adventuresome and self-reliant and want a good place to stay for a reasonable price, you will be happy with the Chateau Apartments. There is an elevator. WiFi is free, TV including some English channels in your living room. 5 star for price, 4 star for luxury and convenience. Limited desk hours, so pay attention to your arrival time the first day, afterwards you can get in using a punch code number on the outside and inside doors. ( Take a photo of the numbers on your I-phone in case you lose the card!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxnrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Vulkan
#25 of 102 in Oslo
669 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anker Hotel
#46 of 102 in Oslo
1,419 reviews
PS:hotell
#7 of 20 in Oslo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apartments

Address: Nedre gate 8, Oslo 0551, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing