We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need, and nothing else!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cochs Pensjonat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cochs Pensjonat
Ranked #1 of 21 Oslo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you need, and nothing else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Cochs pension is very clean and safe and everything a pension should be. And its location very near the palace is very good. You have to ask for a glass at reception, and the only soap is in a dispenser, but that's a small inconvenience for the price. There is no food there, but it is surrounded by cafes. Don't forget to take your key card when you leave, you'll need it for the elevator to take your luggage down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please note for another time that you do not need your keycard to go down with the elevator and that all guests must leave their keycard at the reception before they check out. Welcome back to Cochs Pensjonat! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    154
    65
    12
    4
See reviews for
66
65
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

So glad we stayed at Coch's Pensjonat.....really had reservations/doubts, but everthing was perfect.....very good price for Scandanavia, and so much better/more charming than a chain hotel.
Mange takk!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back! Best regards, Cochs Pensjonat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've been in this hotel for a four-days-holiday. Good and classic hotel, but to have a breakfast you had to go in a cafe' which was located in the cross road and it was nothing special really. The location was good, about ten minutes walking by the city center.
But do not stay more than 2 or 3 days in Oslo, you will get bored!
Nice city, do not get me wrong, but there's not a lot to see or to do for youngsters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciakval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Cochs Pension is located in a fun neighborhood with plenty of shopping and eating available. From this location my husband and I were able to walk to all of the places in Oslo that we wanted to visit but we spent a lot of time walking. Oslo is an amazing city with so much to see and it is spread out so plan on a lot of walking. This hotel is reasonably priced and basic but we were very comfortable. There is nothing fancy about it. If we ever visit Oslo again we would be happy to stay at Cochs Pension again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Lynn. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed Oslo and your stay at Cochs. We hope to see you again on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Cochs Pensjonat (Cochs Pension) is located in a safe neighborhood across from The Royal Palace and Slottsparken. The Nationaltheatret T-bane station is a few minutes' walk across Slottsparken, but be aware that the walk from the metro station to Cochs Pensjonat is slightly uphill. Most convenient is to use the Trikk (trams) as Cochs Pensjonat is located very close to the Dalsbergstien and Welhavensgate Trikk stops. There are many eateries as well as grocery stores within a block or two of the hotel.

We reserved a double room with kitchenette. The room was a good size. For those interested in doing their own cooking, the hotel provides all the necessary pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, etc. Ask for these items from the front desk. The front desk is also open 24 hours if you are in need of anything, and they have a plethora of free Oslo maps and brochures.

The staff was very friendly. While we were there, the fire alarm went off at around 8:30 a.m. on a Tuesday morning. We all had to make our way down the stairs to exit the hotel. The staff was very comforting and reassuring during this entire process. They let us know what was going on, addressed all of our concerns, and let us return once they had the situation under control.

This really is a great place to stay in Oslo. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNJSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return on another occasion. Welcome back! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I could not find a hostel in Oslo, and hotels are an expensive alternative. I ended up reserving at CP for 2 nights in a single room with shared bath.

The location was great, a walk through the palace gardens plops you right into the downtown, and there are several bars and cafes in the area. The room was clean and spacious but spartan with 2 single beds, a closet, washbasin and table and chairs. There are rooms available with kitchenettes, but no shared cooking facilities. Every time I used the toilet or shower it felt like it had just been clean - I have no idea how they managed to keep shared facilities so clean, this is very rare.

I was able to connect to wi-fi in my room.

There is major road work going on outside, and the noise does carry from outside and rooms above.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
The road works will be finnished end of November 2012, and we look forward to an upgraded street. We hope to see you here again on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Coch's and found the hotel to be very clean and affordable in the notoriously expensive city of Oslo. The staff was helpful, offering us some dishes and pots to use for our stay (our room came with a hot plate and fridge; we ended up making most of our meals in the room!) and they also told us about the special breakfast deal at KaffeCafe (note that KaffeCafe is about a block away from the Coch's.) The hotel location is also very convenient, with a tram stop a couple blocks away and the Palace park just a block away. And the SAS Flybussen stops not too far from here. I loved the look of the building itself.

One thing to note if staying here: ask for the rooms facing away from the street. There is a construction project right outside the front door of Coch's and the workers seemed to be working until 10 pm every night we were there, which was kind of a drag. Not sure how long this construction project will last but for now, ask for the rooms away from the street. Also, there is a restaurant close by that is open late and that can get pretty loud late as well.

Overall, we would recommend Coch's. And do check out the book "The Half Brother." I am reading it now and enjoying it very much!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyDeeelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is correct that Oslo is upgrading the street outside and that the work can be of some annoyance. We are sorry for this but the good thing is that our surroundings will be even better when they have finished, hopefully in December 2012. We look forward to seeing you at Cochs pensjonat on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochs Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochs Pensjonat

Property: Cochs Pensjonat
Address: Parkveien 25, Oslo 0350, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cochs Pensjonat 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cochs Pensjonat is centrally located on the corner of the Royal Palace Park in Oslo. The hotel has 205 beds and 89 rooms: single rooms, twin, 3- and 4-bedded rooms. We offer clean and tidy rooms at a reasonable rate. The reception is open 24 hour in this family run hotel. Heartily welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cochs Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cochs Pensjonat Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing