We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, affordable accomodation in a conveniant part of Oslo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cochs Pensjonat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cochs Pensjonat
Ranked #1 of 21 Oslo B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable accomodation in a conveniant part of Oslo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Coch's and found the hotel to be very clean and affordable in the notoriously expensive city of Oslo. The staff was helpful, offering us some dishes and pots to use for our stay (our room came with a hot plate and fridge; we ended up making most of our meals in the room!) and they also told us about the special breakfast deal at KaffeCafe (note that KaffeCafe is about a block away from the Coch's.) The hotel location is also very convenient, with a tram stop a couple blocks away and the Palace park just a block away. And the SAS Flybussen stops not too far from here. I loved the look of the building itself.

One thing to note if staying here: ask for the rooms facing away from the street. There is a construction project right outside the front door of Coch's and the workers seemed to be working until 10 pm every night we were there, which was kind of a drag. Not sure how long this construction project will last but for now, ask for the rooms away from the street. Also, there is a restaurant close by that is open late and that can get pretty loud late as well.

Overall, we would recommend Coch's. And do check out the book "The Half Brother." I am reading it now and enjoying it very much!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyDeeelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is correct that Oslo is upgrading the street outside and that the work can be of some annoyance. We are sorry for this but the good thing is that our surroundings will be even better when they have finished, hopefully in December 2012. We look forward to seeing you at Cochs pensjonat on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    156
    67
    12
    4
See reviews for
67
66
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Cochs Pension may be in a great location, but we didn't feel comfortable there at all. Being greeted at reception by staff behind a screen, it felt like we were arriving at a hospital. The staff weren't friendly & this being our 1st night in Norway it was all rather disappointing.
The rooms were small, cramped and stuffy.
The noise emanating through the walls suggested other people were enjoying their stay more than us! Thank goodness for ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaThorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our staff weren't friendly. It is important for us to treat our customer well and we are sorry we did not succeed in your case. Our reception is open 24 hours and we hope you told reception about noice from other rooms so that we could calm it down. We hope you will give us a second chance to improve your impressions. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed here in June 2012.Upon arrival we got a room with street view. Good size, with something resembling a kitchenette, except that you were not allowed to actually cook in the room. At the time of our stay major road works were carried out in the street which made a hell of a noise. We complained and immediately got a much bigger room at the back of the hotel, which not affected by the noise at all. Staff handled this very nicely. No extra charge. Coch's does not serve breakfast, but there are cafe's nearby and the room is big enough to prepare your own. Rooms have a fridge, hot plate and kitchenette. Beds were ok, bathroom was large. You pay room up front. The pension is based in a 19th century appartment building. Reception is at the 4th floor, rooms on the 2nd through 5th floors. Security is regulated with key-cards.
Central location near royal palace. Unbeatable value in a otherwise very expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddy-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back soon. A small correction: our reception is on the 2nd floor:). Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This old, charmy hotel, with a friendly and service-minded staff, let you have the possibility of staying in the heart of Oslo for a cheap amount. Some rooms have fridge and cooking opportunities, so by staying here you can also save some money on the food budget. Otherwise you can have your morning coffee at the coffee house downstairs (Kaffebrenneriet), or what about having picnic in the Royal Palace park across the street? The hostel also has an agreement with a cafe nearby (Cafe Kaffe); the hotel guests get a breakfast deal and discounts on food all day.
The only drawback with this hostel is that it's some noisy. Having room facing the back yard is better, although also here it happens to be noise from a restaurant nearby. With earplugs it's not a problem anyway.
Situated on the top of Karl Johan street, Cochs is a bit far from Oslo S, which is situated on the opposite end of the street. However, the National Theatre Station is right across the Royal Park (5 min walking). Most (all?) trains, also the train to/from the airport, are passing here.
I really liked it at Cochs :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back yard side are quieter (although there's a restaurant nearby). You can also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linde82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Oslo is expensive so I do appreciate this budget option. I think had I requested a room on the quiet side of the hotel I would have had a very different experience. As it was, I got almost no sleep. The windows are old and do not fit properly; the outdoor traffic noise was terrible. It was clean and the staff was nice and helpful; also the bathrooms were clean. The rooms are basic, I had no trouble with that but my experience at a similar level hotel in Stockholm was very different. The included closet was tippy and I was afraid it would fall on me. The bed was acceptably comfortable but small and thin. I think Cochs needs to update the rooms and provide a few more amenities to be a better value.
They did have a nice arrangment with a nearby cafe: 69 NOK breakfast bar (about 11$, not the most complete, but good) and 15% off dinner (good pizzas) at Kaffe Kaffe.

Room Tip: Insist on a room away from the street noise unless you are a very sound sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that the street traffic disturbed your sleep and that you did not like the standard of the room. We have rooms of different cathegories, so maybe next time you can try one of our upgraded rooms to the back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Oslo is a ridiculously, stratospherically expensive city, and we felt extremely fortunate to have found Cochs Pensjonat and its post-3:45 Bruce Springsteen show numb feet-warming friendly staff for a song (I'd pick "Hungry Heart"). We paid the rack rate of NOK 780 (USD 132) for a standard room for two with private bathroom, fridge and TV in a very clean, neat and presentable pension, and got upgraded with one of the most helpful and welcoming front desk staff I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. See, we were missing one ticket for the sold out show that evening, and not only did he help us hop onto the Norwegian Craig's List in search of it, he mapped out everything we needed to get to Valle Hovin and back downtown. Not once did he appear to get impatient or that he wanted to get us over and done with quickly - it was his pleasure.

Don't be put off by the borderline hostel feel to Cochs' main entrance (you have to be buzzed in from the street and go up to reception on the second floor) and hallways (there is, in fact, a cheaper room category with shared bath and kitchen options) - its location next to Slottsparken means a lovely 10-minute walk to the center of town and subway. The tram and bus stop is also just five minutes away. The casual linen in the room can make it feel like you're staying over at a friend's house, albeit in a narrow but long space, but both room and bathroom (more updated in feel than the bedroom) are roomy for Europe, to a relatively luxurious fault. There is a communal TV room that can feel like the waiting room at a hospital with its sickly-looking vending machine and tired, worn furniture - I wouldn't have hung out there, but I'm sure many travelers would relish the opportunity for socializing.

We didn't get to check into our room when we arrived in the late morning as it wasn't ready, but after the afore-mentioned exhausting Bruce-out and trudging back via crowded (but efficient and un-messy) subway, it was very welcome. We literally spent just seven hours in the room for one sleep and one shower, so there's no way to tell if the un-fussy facilities and spartan embellishments would have remained as pleasant beyond that time - I have feeling we would have been OK.

The excellent KafeCaffé downstairs serves a buffet breakfast for pension guests at a good price of NOK 69; however, we only grabbed a sandwich, yogurt and drink to go before catching our train the next day. All were excellent, so make use of that, as well as the hotel guest 15 percent discount throughout the day. If brunost - Norwegian brown goat cheese - is available, GET IT. Do not pass go and leave Oslo without eating that cheese.

Room Tip: The room configurations seem a little odd, based on the web site pictures - ours was narrow but long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desireekoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your nice words. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked a 3 night stay in july 2012. Currently on our last night.

The hotel is in a great location. A block from the Slotsparken and within walking distance of many shops and tourist atractions. From the airport take airport bus to the last stop and from there its a 5 minute walk. See the hotel website for exact details. Tram stops are 1 block away.

We booked a room a few days before arrival and asked for a quiet room due to the street construction. We arrived early am from Copenhagen and the receptionist was able to have a room ready for us even though we were hours early from check-in.

The room was spotless clean, along with the other parts of the hotel we saw. It was quiet and the wifi worked well. The price was reasonable considering Oslo being so expensive. Pots and dishes are available at the reception upon request..

The couple of times we had to speak with the staff in the hotel they were all great! Friendly, willing to go out of there way to help or answer any question you may have..

Its not a 5 star hotel but a good value in an expensive city. We would definitely stay here again.

Happy traveling

Chuck

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room especially since the street construction is underway. if wifi is im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on another occasion. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochs Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochs Pensjonat

Property: Cochs Pensjonat
Address: Parkveien 25, Oslo 0350, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cochs Pensjonat 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cochs Pensjonat is centrally located on the corner of the Royal Palace Park in Oslo. The hotel has 205 beds and 89 rooms: single rooms, twin, 3- and 4-bedded rooms. We offer clean and tidy rooms at a reasonable rate. The reception is open 24 hour in this family run hotel. Heartily welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cochs Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cochs Pensjonat Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing