We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Armed Forces Museum”

Armed Forces Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.32*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Best of Oslo 4-Hour Tour with Vigeland Park and Viking...
Ranked #42 of 390 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
673 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Armed Forces Museum”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I found this interesting but the lack of English on the exhibits was annoying. I still enjoyed it and would recommend it. I love the Buick convertible that I gather belonged to the King. Teenagers would enjoy this museum

Helpful?
Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    79
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“good as part of the fortress visit”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was interesting if you love militaria as I do. It is free and takes up a diverting hour.It is great combined with the fortress and resistance museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Museum and Free”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a good walk around this free museum following visiting the nearby fort. It was good and had some great displays for those who like military history. It is a shame that the audits are not in English and/or other languages to Norwegian but they did offer laminated stories to read in some areas in English.

Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best museum in Oslo”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Plenty of things to see and it is free of charge! Plus a cozy cafeteria where you could buy sandwiches, cookies, waffles, etc. Do recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - really worth seeing”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Free entrance and excellent displays! This is the first and only museum I was genuinely upset that we couldn't make a donation towards its upkeep.

The displays were excellent, and we were surprised that you could touch things like 18th century canon wagons.

I know NOTHING about weapons and very little about the armed forces, but it was fascinating and easy to understand. The fact that the displays are in chronological order really helps, and it certainly helped us British tourists get a better sense of Norway's role in Europe and the wider world.

I thoroughly recommend a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armed Forces Museum also viewed

 

Been to Armed Forces Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing