We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic interesting place”

Akershus Castle and Fortress (Akershus Slott og Festning)
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.72*
and up
Shore Excursion: Oslo 3-Hour Walking Tour
More Info
$76.64*
and up
Segway Tour of Oslo
More Info
$39.60*
and up
City Sightseeing Bicycle Tour in Oslo
Ranked #17 of 394 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Farsund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic interesting place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the heart of Oslo and across from Aker Brygge it is easy to find. Beautiful decorated rooms in the castle worth seeing. From the fortess you can enjoy a scenic view of the harbour.
Also the part of the fortress from the second world war is worth a visit even if you are not a Norwegian. You can also pay a visit tro the royal tomb in the castle.
A nice place to visit alone or with friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maja058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    1,047
    334
    34
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint but worth visiting”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Situated right in the town at a short distance from the main centre along the sea, it is a beautiful site to see and just feel the atmosphere around. To top, it remains open till nine or so at night. So even an after dinner walk is good enough if you are staying in the city centre area.
There's not much to enter except see old castle buildings , but it is remarkably well kept and the view of the sea is breathtaking. Try to go around sunset ,so you may see the water both in light and after sun down.
Walk around slowly to take in the history and even chat up the guards on duty. They are really sweet and help out if needed ( we actually stayed in quite late and could not find an open gate, one young charming guard helped us out and did not break his smile nor stride in doing so!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank alzoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to kill some spare time...”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is located next to the harbour. walking distance from the railway station, about 15 - 20 min. From over the fort you get a nice view of the harbour. Not much to see in the fort, but the fort is neat and clean. If you have got some spare time to kill, this is not a bad choice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kanagalekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to watch the sun set”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Breath taking place with great views over the water. Visitors center is also worth a visit. I visited in October and the autumn colours were amazing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Literally adjacent to cruise ship dock”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Akershus Castle was the last stop we made from the Hop On Hop Off bus tour for our one day in Oslo during our cruise. Since it is located literally adjacent to the cruise ship we knew we could tour the castle and get onboard the ship without difficulty. From our cruise ship I was able to take pictures of the grounds so I was anxious to visit the castle in person. The entrance through the massive stone wall is extremely close to the cruise ship.

The grounds are very steep with lots of cobblestone steps and stairs to get high up upon the walls overlooking the harbor. However, it was worth every step. Unfortunately, the castle was closed except for weekends during the fall (we arrived in September during a weekday). We were able to go (free of charge) through the exhibits, see the changing of the guard, and get a historic perspective of the size and scope of Akershus Castle and its role in Norway's past. Do not miss the opportunity to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akershus Castle and Fortress (Akershus Slott og Festning) also viewed

 

Been to Akershus Castle and Fortress (Akershus Slott og Festning)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing