We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with clean and comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #51 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good hotel with clean and comfy rooms”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice hotel, clean comfy rooms and helpful staff. Hotel was within walking distance from Oslo central railway station. Stayed here for one night and enjoyed my stay. The room had a really interesting shower, it worked well though. :) I can recommend this hotel for business or ever for holiday purposes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    221
    166
    97
    54
See reviews for
70
328
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Checked in around midnight due to a delayed flight - Check in was very was and friendly. Lobby is decorated in a lounge setting with soft music and low light.
Was in room 310 - Very large room, with huge bathroom, bathtub, shower, separate toilet, all you can imagine in toilet articles and personal supplies. Plenty of hangers, ironing board.
Large bed - many pillows of different hight.
Light could be lowered as you like.
Lounge area in the room - and full diningtable.
All very clean.
Breakfast good - healthy - nice fruits and smoothies.

I stay in oslo almost every week and this is by far the best hotel yet. Compared to prices on Radisson this is really good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mezzapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The design of the room took a bit of getting used to but that was my issue rather than the hotel's. Beautifully located near the Opera House, harbour and central railway station. The guy on reception was passionate about Oslo. He took time to show us the best places to go and we followed his recommendations to have a wonderful day walking around the city. He said to make ourselves at home and we felt so comfortable because I think he genuinely wanted us to enjoy the best of Oslo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Noisy, dark, not practical. They provided us with loud techno music till late at night and were given no option to avoid it.
We booked a Garden Suite, it was big , altough almost half of it was a corridor. It was very dark because of the lack of lamps, particularly the bathroom, the shower had not a single light, perhaps to don´t let you notice that there are not any hangers either where to leave a used towell. There is no way to close the toilette door because of a huge design fail.
Air conditioning and heating just didn´t work. And the air conditioning exhaust is positioned just over the bed and pointing directly at your nose.
Take care of room service, you´ll pay the fee but won´t get the service. Our menu options were narrowed to two dishes because people at the restaurant were too busy!.
I must say though that situation, breakfast and bed quality were excelent.
I would recommend it just for young trendy alcoholics who don´t care much about sleeping at night.

Room Tip: Aim for a high room to avoid the noise in the internal patio and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, General Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear YGC2013,

Greetings and many thanks for your comprehensive review of Grims Grenka.
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and comfortable Jensen beds.
We are really sorry though, that your stay with us in total was not up to standard. What you have experienced does not reflect the profile First Hotel Grims Grenka is known for.

The situation with loud music from the Christmas party in the restaurant was very unfortunate, and the whole Management group has taken action to prevent this from happening again.
We are also looking into the light system in order to impove it in the somewhat darker rooms.
As to the ventilation system in your room, our Technical Manager will enhance this.
I am sorry that you did not accept our offers to switch rooms or other allowances provided.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments that will allow us to provide a better quality of service to future guests. I would also like to thank you for the thouroughness in this review, as it provides us with an invaluable insight into your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Grims Grenka and providing you with the factors that you felt were missing.


Yours sincerely,
Linda Søvik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molde, Norway
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. The staff was very helpful and always with a smile on their faces.
Loved it! The second i came in I realized this was going to be great. And my instincts was right, the Autumn Suite blew my mind. Couldnt stop smiling! The hotel was fantastic, the staff was really helpfull and the food at Madu was incredible! Top score from me. 10/10. Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week in Grims Grenka hotel, due to a work trip. The location is great, just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street Karl Johans gate and main railway station (also the station to airport express train, Flytoget). Also not far from the nice restaurant area Aker Brygge, about 10-15 minutes by foot.
Clean and modern rooms with extremely comfortable beds. However, the airconditioning could not be changed or switched off/on, which made the room too cold to my taste. Good breakfast buffet with lots of choice and a practical Nespresso coffee machine (also in the reception lounge).
Reception service was mostly very friendly. Lounge is nice with a dj playing music during the weekends. A bar is also available in the reception lounge (that is not open every night for some reason).
Overall, a good experience! And definitely worth the price considering the Oslo hotel price level.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Anu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at First Hotel Grims Grenska October 16, I had a friendly booking by Linda the GM, a warm welcome at arrival, this design hotel looks and is great at a great location. The staff at check out was also smiling, polite and efficient. Keep on going

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koh Lanta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#52 of 102 in Oslo
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
296 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,675 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Property: First Hotel Grims Grenka
Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#23 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds, Samsung LED Smart TVs and personalized light controls. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of the very few rooftop terraces Oslo has to offer. Grims Grenka's own roof top lounge: Q Lounge. When the weather gets hot the drinks get even hotter. First Hotel Grims Grenka is a well-known design hotel to the citizens of Oslo. Press-conferences, photo shoots, product launches, parties and other events are frequently held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing